When is the last time you visited the Special Collections area in the Library Annex? Has it been awhile? Or ever? As you may (or may not) know, Special Collections materials comprise an area within the Annex called the Cage. Within this Cage there are myriad collections from both HSC and private donors. While many are processed and cataloged, several collections (or items within) remain unprocessed and await discovery. A definite highlight: the crossbow and sword, but the medicine bags (replete with half-filled old-timey vials) are also cool... or dangerous? As we began sorting through these gems and learn from what our archivists of the past have left for us discover, we realized that we needed some space to spread out. Thankfully, Costco and their affordable steel shelving (as well as the Special Collections purchasing budget) came to the rescue!
What was previously set up as a functioning work space for past archivists has now been transformed exclusively into mock "mock-pact" compact shelving. Collections items were moved from crowded flat surfaces and picked up off the floor and moved to these new compact ranges. Four tables were collapsed and a number of pieces of old equipment/furniture set aside for surplus. Now the lengthy process of sorting through these materials and helping them achieve their final destiny can be better undertaken. In addition to the crossbow and sword, these ranges contain a diverse swath of documents, photos, films, objects, and specimens that altogether help us better understand the history of health and health care in the state of New Mexico. Over the coming months (years?), materials will be reviewed, appraised (always ask: must we keep everything?), preserved, organized, and disseminated. "Is that ALL that's unprocessed," you ask? Great question! Nope. Special Collections has outgrown the Cage and presently occupies several adjacent ranges. The bulk of these are unprocessed institutional HSC archives, for which there is ALSO a discovery project afoot. Stay tuned!
My eternal thanks to all involved with helping us get these units, including Linda (purchasing); Tim and Lucas (moving these weighty boxes); and our RAD student worker, Sarah (construction crew). If anybody is interested in a behind the scenes tour of our Cage, do not hesitate to reach out to me directly for arrangements.
0 Comments.