Skip to main content

Zotero: Word Plugin

Use Zotero to collect, manage and cite your research resources, create collections for research projects, share your data with your collaborators, and generate bibliographies.

Word Processor Plugin

In order to take advantage of Zotero's ability to add/edit citations and add bibliographies, users have to install a Microsoft Word plugin.

Please click on these links for more information.

Installing Word Plugin

Word Processor Plugins

Inserting, Editing Citations

 

Insert / Edit Citations, Insert Bibliography and More

Insert Citation

Insert a new citation in your document at the cursor location.

Edit Citation

Edit an existing citation. You have to place the cursor inside the relevant citation before pressing this icon.

Insert Bibliography

Insert a bibliography at the cursor location.

Edit Bibliography

Edit an existing bibliography.

Refresh

Refresh all citations and the bibliography, updating any item metadata that has changed in your Zotero library.

Set Doc Prefs

Open the Document Preferences window, e.g. to change the citation style.

Remove Codes

Remove Zotero field codes from the document. When Zotero inserts a citation or bibliography, it does so by using a field code. This field code allows Zotero to later recognize and automatically update the citation or bibliography (e.g., in numeric styles, citations have often to be renumbered when additional items are cited). Removing the Zotero field codes prevents any further automatic updates of the citations and bibliographies.
Note that removing field codes is irreversible, and should usually only be done in a near-final copy of your document. It's also a good idea to save a back-up copy of your document before removing field codes.

 

Video Tutorial

This tutorial from Loyola Marymount University Library shows how to use the Zotero plugin for Word.