Skip to main content

Help Finding Full Text: EbscoHost Databases (CINAHL or Academic Search Complete)

About Full Text in CINAHLPlus or other Ebsco Databases

Ebsco databases such as CINAHLPlus and Academic Search Complete contain links to full text of articles in journals licensed by HSLIC or University Libraries. Articles without links to full text should supply a link back to HSLIC's catalog, where additional access to the article may be available or the item may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

To access full text in EBSCO Databases:

After you selected your EBSCO database you will be presented with a search box. Above each search box you will see the name of the database you are searching in. 

Example of search pages for both CINAHL and Academic Search Complete. Show that the database name is present above the search box.

When viewing your search results, you will have the option to click on the PDF Full Text , HTML Full Text, or Find Article though UNM HSLIC links under the article description. Not all options will appear under every article. PDF and HTML Full text will open the article within the database window. The UNM Find Article option will take you to the HSLIC catalog where you will can select to view the article. 

Results page for search within either database. Shows links to access appear under description of article.

 

Navigating to Full Text from the catalog:

When directed to the HSLIC catalog you will be presented with a link to 'View Full Text'. Clicking on this link will take you to the article as it appears on the publisher's website. 

UNM HSLIC page showing View Full Text link in middle of page below the article citation information.

 

If you do not see any full-text options from the catalog, you can place an Interlibrary Loan request for the article by clicking on the 'Request Item' button.

When no access is avail this screen appears saying "we were unable to find any links to this item" and at the bottom of the page is the "Request Item" button.

 


Things to Watch Out For When Using the Find Article or Full Text buttons

  • Supplements can be difficult to find. Sometimes our subscription will not cover them for a journal. If we have access to them, you will often have to track these manually, checking multiple providers, from the Additional Resources page.
  • Some items don’t index or link well, such as things we can only get exclusively through a particular database. For these you may have to go into the individual database and use its search tool to find the item.

Need more help?

For additional assistance in accessing full-text resources, contact HSC-Remote@salud.unm.edu.