Skip to Main Content

HSLIC News

Your Library - At a Glance

by Tamara Wheeler on 2021-05-14T08:00:00-06:00 | 1 Comment

Providing the Information You Need
Stay connected @UNMHSLIC and https://hsc.unm.edu/hslic/Image of infographic for UNM Health Sciences Library & Informatics Center with recent stats – Image Text: @UNMHSLIC; hsc.unm.edu/hslic. Providing Information (FY20) - $1,616,191 – Collection spending; 3,347 interlibrary loans and document deliveries for UNM patrons; 2,836 print materials used; 46,796 electronic course reserves materials used; 163 classes using electronic course reserves; 4,442,605 electronic resources uses; 511,595 HSLIC web site views. Teaching & Research (07/2020 – 03/2021) – 1105 questions answered via chat, email, phone, or in person; 193 consultations with 254 patrons; 154 literature searches; 121 classes; 61 course-integrated instruction sessions (all schools and UNMH); 5 classes as instructor of record; 32 online workshops/trainings; 2,264 learners in classes; 34,866 guide views. Special Collections – 49,056 items in Digital Collections used; New Mexico Medical Society Papers (prior to statehood); Arrow pointing at photo from the Valmora Industrial Sanatorium; Tuberculosis—Treatment; Patient Draining Lungs. Photo of HSLIC’s 3rd floor remodel. Native Health Database – NNLM Funding Secured for Metadata Migration; $24,348 has been secured to migrate 10,046 records presently found in the Native Health Database into a new database platform. Future Goals – Additional oral histories for special collections; Rebuild outreach services to rural, urban, and tribal communities to improve health through health information access and literacy; Build institutional support for open access publishing; Growth areas for Research, Education and Clinical Information Services Division: open science, rigor & reproducibility, postdocs, and systematic reviews. 24/7 – March 31, we implemented 24/7 badge access for the library’s entry level floor. 2020 Key Publications – Bruce V, Eldredge JD, Levya LL, Page KA, Mera JR, English K,. Hepatitis C virus infection in Indigenous populations: A systematic review of the United States and Canada. Epidemiologic Reviews 2019 nov 19; doi/10.1093/epirev/mxz015/5634012; McElfresh KR, Gleasner RM. Evaluating a historical medical book collection.J Med Libr Assoc. 2019;107(4):560-565. doi:10.5195/jmla.2019.666; Hendrix, I. Evidence. In: Giddens, J., ed. Concepts for Nursing Practice. 3rd ed. St. Louis, MO: Elsevier; 2020; Garrison L, Morley S, Chambers CD, Bakhireva LN. Forty years of assessing neurodevelopmental and behavioral effects of prenatal alcohol exposure in infants: What have we learned? Alcohol Clin Exp Res. 2019 Aug; 43(8):1632-1642. HSLIC Google Scholar: https://scholar.google.com/citations?hl=en&view_op=list_works&authuser=3&user=h8hTSfAAAAAJ

 Add a Comment


  Search this Blog


  Recent Posts


Fuel for Finals April 29th-May 2nd
HSLIC 2024 Annual Recognition Award Winners!
April is National Minority Health Month
Ready Set Library - Find Resources Where You Are
Celebrate HSLIC Librarians in the Curriculum for National Library Week

  Subscribe


Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive


  Subjects


Anatomy & Physiology
Dental
Dermatology
Emergency Medicine
Epidemiology
Family & Community Care
Genetics
Health Justice & Equity
Health Policy
History of Health
Indigenous Health
Medical Laboratory Sciences
Microbiology
Neurosciences
New Mexico
Nursing
Obstetrics & Gynecology
Occupational Therapy
Orthopaedics & Rehabilitation
Pathology
Pediatrics
Pharmacy
Population Health
Psychiatry, Behavioral Sciences, & Mental Health
Radiologic Sciences
Teaching & Learning

  Follow Us


  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...