During October the United States celebrates American Archives Month. This annual celebration highlights the critical role archives and archivists play in collecting, preserving, and making available records of enduring value. Archives support collective memory, are vital for organizational administration, help document history, promote governmental transparency, and protect people’s rights, identities, and property.
New Mexican archivists are celebrating Archives Month with these special events that are free and open to the public:
- Phantoms of the Past: A Halloween Archive Extravaganza! October 17, 1-3pm MST, via Zoom. Archivists from the University of North Texas, the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center, Cornell University, and the University of Pittsburgh will present about their spooky special collections. For more information and to register, click here.
- Border Regional Archives Group’s Border Archives Bazaar, New Mexico Farm & Ranch Heritage Museum, Las Cruces, October 19, 10am-4pm. This event will feature displays of archival materials from cultural heritage institutions in southern New Mexico and West Texas as well as live speakers that will discuss regional history and archival research.
- Archives “Bizarre”, Rainbow Rainbow Room, Meow Wolf, Santa Fe, October 28, 4pm-7pm. The Archives Bizarre will include displays from archival institutions (including HSLIC Special Collections!) in northern and central New Mexico. Register here.
