In honor of Women’s History Month and International Women’s Day, here are some historical sources by and about women in HSLIC Special Collections.
- Eleanor Adler, M.D.
- Evelyn Julia Basile, M.D.
- Alice Cushing, M.D.
- Anne Fox, R.N.
- JoAnn Levitt, M.D.
- Edith Millican, M.D.
- Virginia Milner, M.D.
- Beatrice Martin, R.N.
Archival collections and books
- Myrtle Greenfield papers
- Greenfield, Myrtle. A History of Public Health in New Mexico. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 1962.
- New Mexico Nurses Association records
- Maxine O. Dellinger Wootton papers
- Planned Parenthood collection
- Marion Fleck papers
- Blackwell, Elizabeth. A Curious Herbal, Containing Five Hundred Cuts, of the Most Useful Plants, Which Are Now Used in the Practice of Physick: Engraved on Folio Copper Plates, After Drawings Taken from the Life: To Which Is Added a Short Description of Ye Plants and Their Common Uses in Physick. London: Printed for Samuel Harding in St. Martin’s Lane, 1737.
Photograph collections
- Anne Fox photograph collection
- New Mexico Medical Society Presidents photograph collection
- Regina School of Nursing photograph collection
- Sarah Bowen photograph collection
- Health Mobile photograph collection
- UNM HSC Institutional photograph collection
- Midwives – New Mexico photograph collection
- Edith Millican photograph collection
Anne Fox, R.N., Anne Fox photograph collection, PH 039. Born in England, Ms. Fox was a nurse-midwife who worked in Santa Fe for the Catholic Maternity Service (1945-1946) and then the New Mexico State Department of Health (1946-1965).
Dr. Evelyn Fisher Frisbie, New Mexico Medical Society Presidents photograph collection, PH 054. Dr. Frisbie was the first woman to serve as president of the New Mexico Medical Society. She served from 1915-1916. The second woman president of the Society, Dr. JoAnn Levitt, was elected in 1989.
Nursing students, circa 1900s, Regina School of Nursing, St. Joseph's Hospital photograph collection, PH 003. St. Joseph’s Hospital was founded by the Sisters of Charity in 1902. It was Albuquerque’s first hospital. The Sisters also established a nurses training school that was affiliated with the hospital. The St. Joseph Nursing School and St. Vincent School of Nursing in Santa Fe merged to become the Regina School of Nursing, located at St. Joseph’s, in 1944.