This month marks the 40th anniversary of HSLIC Special Collections.
Special Collections, originally known as the New Mexico Medical History Program and Medical Center Archives, originated from Dr. Jake Spidle’s 1982 oral history project about New Mexico physicians and UNM HSLIC director Erika Love's idea to start documenting the history of health and health care in New Mexico.
HSLIC’s first archivist, Janet Johnson, started part time in February 1984 and then became a full-time staff member in April 1984.
As the archives manager, Janet was tasked with processing collections, physically organizing the archives’ holdings, acquiring new materials (particularly items that documented the early history of UNM’s Medical Center), outreach activities, and preservation.
According to the library's 1984/1985 annual report, early archives projects included:
- Adding 31 oral histories conducted by Dr. Spidle to the oral history collection
- Establishing a New Mexico/Southwest collection of 200 monographs and 60 serials that were transferred from the general collection
- Creating 178 subject files on various topics about health in New Mexico
- Acquiring document and photograph collections about the UNM Medical Center and New Mexico health from 25 donors
Outreach activities from 1984-1985 included an exhibit about the history program’s progress and goals at the New Mexico Medical Society’s annual meeting, and a presentation to UNM Medical Center administrative coordinators about the archive and the need to transfer important Medical Center records and publications to it. Janet also created a brochure about the archives.
Happy anniversary Special Collections!
UNM School of Medicine's first class, 1964. Institutional photograph collection, HHC 321