It has been great getting to share so much archives-related content during Archives Month! For my last October blog post, I wanted to recap some highlights from the past few months in HSLIC Special Collections.
On June 7, HSLIC hosted a free Emergency Preparedness, Response, and Salvage of Collections workshop for archivists, librarians, administrators, curators, and other cultural heritage workers that was sponsored by the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives (SRCA) in partnership with the New Mexico Historical Records Advisory Board. Over twenty-five attendees from northern, central, and southern New Mexico participated in the workshop.
Several collections have been processed, and the finding aids are now available via New Mexico Archives Online. These include the Prevention Research Center records, the Carrie Tingley Hospital records, the Pediatric History Project collection, the UNM Health Sciences Center collection, and the Latin American Social Medicine Publications collection. I am currently working on processing the papers of former UNM School of Medicine professor Dr. Joseph Scaletti.
On September 8, we welcomed participants in the New Mexico State Library’s Tribal Libraries Program to the New Mexico Health Historical Reading Room to view Special Collections holdings as part of their tour of HSLIC.
Lastly, the New Mexico Digital Collections online access platform was revamped and now features a more modern and easier-to-use interface. This platform features our oral history collection, materials from the Valmora Industrial Sanatorium records, and digital items from other New Mexico archival repositories.
Tribal librarians visit HSLIC Special Collections, September 8