HSLIC News

Are you a visual learner? Do you enjoy watching documentary films? The Docuseek Health and Health Care Collection may be of interest to you!  HSLIC currently has access to over 400 films in this streaming video collection.  These films address a range of health and health care topics including addiction, aging, death and dying, disabilities, ethics, maternal and child health, mental health, public health, nursing, and more.  The collection includes films that examine health and health care in a social and historical context.  Take a look today and discovery something new!

HSLIC's Biomedical Informatics Seminar Series Presents: Joseph A. Cook, PhD - UNM Distinguished Professor of Biology and Curator of Mammals, Museum of Southwestern Biology.

Topic: Connecting the World to Vital Biodiversity Data

You are invited to join us on Thursday, November 4th from 10 to 11 AM, for an intriguing talk by Dr. Cook.

This seminar will describe the role of natural history collections (biorepositories) as fundamental infrastructure for zoonotic pathogen research. Because a large majority (>70%) of all newly emerging pathogens (including the current SARS-CoV-2 pandemic) come from wildlife sources, there is a huge need to develop a better understanding of pathogen/wildlife associations. OneHealth approaches would be greatly improved if they bolstered an emphasis on understanding the fundamental roles that biodiversity plays in human health. The role of natural history biorepositories in emerging pathogen discovery, mitigation and even prediction will be discussed.

By completion of this seminar, participants should be able to:

1. Describe the general characteristics of biorepositories and associated informatics platforms.

2. Understand the role of biorepositories in pathogen research and mitigation.

3. Recognize new approaches to facilitating and stimulating integration across multiple research disciplines.

Please email TaWheeler@salud.unm.edu to request Zoom info.

The Health Sciences Library Justice, Equity, and Inclusion Committee knows that student voices are vital to helping create a campus that is just for all. That is why we are looking for more student members to join us in our work. If you are interested, have questions, or even comments we would love to hear from you! You can find more information about the committee here and feel free to email Kelleen Maluski with all your questions and comments!

Click the image to be taken to our events page where our different workshops can be found.

The Justice, Equity, and Inclusion (JEI) Committee at HSLIC is now requiring that all HSLIC employees take at least 3 of 6 trainings on JEI topics of importance. The Committee has been working hard to schedule training opportunities that would help our employees in understanding the various needs of our campus and workplace dynamics. While these trainings are intended for the purpose of employee training, all are welcome! We currently have three upcoming offerings. Registration is required for each event and they will all be online. 

• Transgender Cultural Fluency Training, Monday October 25th from 10am-12pm. Registration is required and a Zoom link will be sent day of. 

  • About the Transgender Cultural Fluency Training: Transgender people today are more visible and represented throughout our communities than ever. As such, organizations and individuals are finding the need to increase their knowledge and understanding of issues that affect their transgender colleagues, employees, friends, and family members.

    Despite gains in visibility and acceptance, transgender people continue to face enormous challenges in everyday life—from poverty, unemployment, lack of access to health care and secure housing, to horrific violence and discrimination. 

    Our Transgender Cultural Fluency Training lays the foundation for participants to gain a better understanding of what it means to be transgender, clarify common misconceptions about transgender people, become familiar with the challenges transgender communities face, and learn ways to be a strong and engaged advocate for transgender people.

    About the Transgender Resource Center of New Mexico

    The Transgender Resource Center of New Mexico is the only agency in the state that exists solely to serve transgender people and our families and loved ones. We are one of very few organizations in the United States that provides a wide array of direct services, in addition to leading statewide education and advocacy efforts. Founded in 2008, TGRCNM has provided more than 2,000 Transgender Cultural Fluency Trainings throughout New Mexico, including multiple UNM campuses, Albuquerque Healthcare for the Homeless, Rape Crisis Center of Central New Mexico, Planned Parenthood, Barrett House, Crossroads for Women, New Mexico Physicians Assistant Association, the Farmington Police Department and many more varied audiences. We have assisted in crafting local and state policy and have provided individual advocacy for many transgender people in our state. Our direct services support some of the most impacted folks in our communities through food, bus passes, healthcare, free HIV testing, clothing, support groups, legal navigation, job search help, a safe restroom, a computer lab, emergency financial assistance, and much more.

• More Than Words: Without Action, It’s Just Musical Acronyms, Wednesday November 10th from 10am-12pm. Registration is required and a Zoom link will be sent day of.   

  • Dr. Skyller Walkes is a deeply impassioned diversity, equity, accessibility and inclusion leader who champions social justice through critical dialogue with the hopes of impacting positive change within shared communities. As a graduate of the Adult, Professional, and Community Education doctoral program at Texas State University, her scholarship focuses on Critical Race Theory, Afro-Latinx identity, art activism, race and intersectionality. Dr. Walkes also holds three Bachelor’s degrees in the areas of Communications, English, and Mass Media Journalism from Rutgers University and a Master’s degree in Early Childhood Education and Administration from Kean University.  In her current role as the inaugural Assistant Dean of Diversity & Inclusion and Assistant Professor of Instruction in the College of Pharmacy at the University of Texas at Austin, Dr. Walkes serves as chief College of Pharmacy spokesperson for diversity and inclusion, while bringing leadership, vision, integrity, and an intentionally inclusive team-oriented philosophy to diversity, equity, accessibility, and inclusion efforts. This encompasses areas of recruitment, selection, appointment, and retention of diverse students, faculty and staff, while promoting a culturally responsive approach to pedagogical and andragogical development in the Healthcare Sciences. Dr. Walkes’ work encompasses several international projects for schools, regional libraries and diversity community education for numerous entities, including the United States Embassy in Madrid, Spain, Diversity Abroad, and the Southwest Region of the Anti- Defamation League. Dr. Walkes has successfully developed and implemented a restorative justice and positive identity development curriculum at the Hays County Juvenile Detention Center, serves on the Steering Committee for the Hays Caldwell Women’s Center and on the Board of Directors for the Calaboose African-American History Museum, where she also serves as President and Director of Program Development, and as an Educational Consultant for CARE- College Athletes for Respect and Equality. She also volunteers regularly with Centro Cultural Hispano de San Marcos as an Amiga del Centro. Dr. Walkes’ professional associations include, Executive Board Member for the Texas Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education and Director of University Partnerships for the Black Doctoral Network. In addition to working with international, national, state, and local community organizations/ institutions around intercultural education, cultural humility, juvenile justice and sociopolitical reform, her redoubtable work surrounding social justice in schools, universities, and neighboring communities is demonstrated in her steadfast civic engagement and community.

• Trauma Informed Care Training, Monday January 24th from 10:15am-12:15pm. Registration is required and a Zoom link will be sent day of.  
  • Trauma-Informed Library Work Starts with Being Trauma-Informed - Trauma-informed care is an evidence-based approach that can be applied to libraries from how we do instruction, how administrators and managers communicate with their staff, and how we care for each other. But while this approach can be applied to libraries, it has to start with us as individuals. In this workshop, Nisha will discuss how trauma can look systemically and individually, what it means to be trauma-informed, and how we can become more trauma-informed human beings within and outside of libraries. Presented by Nisha Mody. Nisha Mody, MLIS, MA CCC-SLP (she/her) is a Feminist Healing Coach, Writer, and Librarian. She worked as a Health & Life Sciences Librarian, serving as liaison to the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA and as the Associate Director of the Network of the National Library of Medicine, Pacific Southwest Region. Prior to entering librarianship, Nisha worked as a speech-language pathologist with children and adults. Throughout her work, Nisha has consistently valued connection, compassion, curiosity, storytelling, and justice, all of which led her to becoming a healing coach with a trauma-informed approach. She teaches and talks about imagining and incorporating trauma-informed practices in libraries and in our everyday lives, centering the ways systems of oppression and intergenerational trauma affect us deeply. Nisha coaches people individually and in groups, and you can find out more about her at www.nishaland.com and on Instagram @healinghypegirl.

If you have any questions or comments please feel free to reach out to the chair of the Justice, Equity, and Inclusion Committee, Kelleen Maluski (Student Success and Engagement Librarian).

Are you uncertain of where your polling place is located? Is it unclear which candidates are on the ballot? You can find the answers to these questions and many more in the League of Women Voters guide .This guide will provide voters with all the vital information they need to know about voting in the upcoming election which includes: how to register to vote, where your polling place in located, verification of voter registration, dates and times of when and where you can vote, as well as which candidates are on the ballot.

In addition, once you enter your address, a personalized ballot is generated which produces details on all the races you are eligible to vote in and it even includes personal responses from the candidates.  

If you are interested, you may stop by the library Monday-Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm to pick up your copy of the League of Women Voters Guide and please remember to get out and vote November 2. 

Click the image to be taken to the registration link. 

Wednesday, October 20th from 12-1 is our last PubMed Like a Pro workshop of the semester. Register to come to this online workshop and learn how to navigate PubMed and pick up some advanced tricks in the process. This workshop is appropriate for any level of PubMed user (even if you've never used it before) and will review how to utilize keyword and MeSH searching, narrowing your results, creating alerts, saving searches, and more.

If you have questions or want to schedule a workshop for another time or for your class please reach out to Kelleen Maluski, Student Success and Engagement Librarian.

You are invited to join us on Thursday, October 14th from 10 to 11 AM, for an exciting seminar by Stuart Nelson, MD - Clinical Professor at George Washington University, Department of Clinical Leadership & Research and Department of Internal Medicine.

Topic: Making Medication Information Computable and Interoperable

Background: Dr. Nelson will review past and current efforts to make medication information readily available, computable, and interoperable. The talk will range from NDC assignments through RxNorm and DailyMed to the present attempts to make indications computable, including his own efforts begun at UNM.

Learning Objectives – At the end of the session, learners will be able to:

1. Describe the purpose and practice of assigning RxNorm names to medications.
2. Describe what is included in a drug label.
3. Create a timeline of medication information availability and computability efforts.

Please email TaWheeler@salud.unm.edu to request Zoom info.

HSLIC is hosting a food drive starting Monday, October 11th through November 5th. Please bring non-perishable food items to the main entrance drop box. Your donation will be distributed to local food banks to help NM families.

The links to Pubmed's Single Citation Matcher and the MeSH Database have been removed from beneath the Pubmed Search Box on HSLIC’s homepage. After much discussion, we decided to remove these links because they were not easily connecting users with our resources.  The “Find at UNM” button was not consistently appearing on articles or allowing access to the full text of articles.  We have replaced the links to the Single Citation Matcher and MeSH Database with a link to Pubmed.  This link will connect users to our resources and should provide the “Find at UNM” button.

For those of you who enjoy using the Single Citation Matcher or the MeSH Database to do your research, these features can still be accessed from Pubmed's homepage.

For more information on how to connect these features with HSLIC's resources, please see our FAQ - How Do I Access Full Text Articles from Pubmed's Single Citation Matcher or the MeSH Database?

If you have any questions, please contact us at Ask A Librarian.

The UNM Health Sciences Library & Informatics Center (HSLIC) and its Justice, Equity, and Inclusion (JEI) Committee is sponsoring a screening of Black Men in White Coats. This documentary creates an awareness of the shortage of Black men in the field of medicine and how the long-term impacts of historic and systemic racism in our nation have shaped this reality. 

You may view the film at any time between Friday, October 22nd (9 a.m. ET) and Monday, October 25th (9 a.m. ET). We encourage all viewers to contribute feedback anonymously and asynchronously via Padlet. A live, facilitated discussion with Dr. Lindsay Smart and Deion Ellis will take place Wednesday, October 27th at 12 p.m. MT. The facilitated discussion will (1) provide space for people to convey emotional reactions to the film; and (2) encourage discussion around next steps. Responses recorded in Padlet will be used to guide future programming and efforts focused on UNM's support of Black learners at the Health Sciences Center. 

How to participate: 

1. Visit the Black men in White Coats (IndieScreening) page to secure your ticket code. An email confirmation will be sent that includes the viewing link and your unique code. Forgot your code? Email Jonathan Pringle at jpringle@salud.unm.edu. Please note there are only 300 viewing tickets available; they are first-come-first-served! 

2. View the film at any time between Friday, October 22nd (9 a.m. ET) and Monday, October 25th (9 a.m. ET). Mark your calendars as a reminder! 

3. Provide anonymous and asynchronous feedback during and after viewing the film at our Padlet space.

4. Attend a live facilitated discussion with Dr. Lindsay Smart and Deion Ellis on Wednesday, October 27th at 12 p.m. MT. Click here to register and have it added to your calendar. A Zoom link will be provided one week prior to the discussion to all those who have RSVPd.  

This is an opportunity not to be missed. We look forward to everyone's participation. 

About our Facilitators: 

Dr. Lindsay Smart, Ph.D. is an Associate Professor and Clinical Psychologist in the UNM Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Associate Vice Chancellor for Leadership and Faculty Equity and Inclusion.  She is also the Training Director for the American Psychological Association (APA) Accredited Clinical Psychology Internship Training Program and provides clinical services for UNM student-athletes.   

Deion Ellis is a fourth-year medical student and President of the UNM School of Medicine chapter of the Student National Medical Association.  He is currently applying for residency in the UNM Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation program. 

Special Thanks to our Partners 

• HSC Diversity Office  

• UNM Division for Equity and Inclusion  

• African American Student Services  

• Center for Native American Health  

• Dr. Valerie Romero-Leggott  

• College of University Libraries & Learning Services (CULLS) Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion