HSLIC News

We will be closed starting Thursday, December 22nd at 5 p.m until Tuesday, January 3rd at 8 a.m for winter break. Desk services and badge access to the building will also be unavailable.

We hope everyone has a safe and wonderful break, and we can't wait to see you next year!

The Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center (HSLIC) has created a READ poster featuring Dr. Douglas Ziedonis, MD, MPH, and Rhonda Magee, JD. Rhonda was the Keynote Speaker at this year’s UNM Health Equity Summit and is the author of The Inner Work of Racial Justice: Healing Ourselves and Transforming Our Communities Through Mindfulness, which highlights overcoming systemic racism and unconscious biases. The new poster will be posted throughout the HSC campus.

The American Library Association launched the READ campaign in 1985 to increase literacy nationwide. HSLIC now has a copy of Rhonda’s book available for checkout!

HSLIC has added Access Pediatrics and Access Surgery to the collection.  Both of these resources are provided from McGraw Hill and have a similar format as Access Medicine.

Access Pediatrics This link opens in a new window

New

A collection of medical e-books, such as Rudolph's Pediatrics, and Clinical Guidelines in Neonatology, board review questions, and drug information.

Access Surgery This link opens in a new window

New

A collection of e-books, such as Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations and Schwartz's Principles of Surgery. Also includes exam/board prep tools such as ABSITE Slayer.

 

These resources are available at the above links or by going to HSLIC's Database Page and searching for the titles of the databases.  Individual ebooks are discoverable in HSLIC's catalog and have unlimited access.  

 

Access Pediatrics covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. It is updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device. It provides instant access to information essential for completing evaluation, diagnosis, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research or self-assessment and board review -- all in one place.  Some of the titles include:

 

Rudolph's Pediatrics

Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9781259588600

Publication Date: 2019

Clinical Guidelines in Neonatology by Lucky Jain

Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9780071820257

Publication Date: 2019-06-27

 

It also offers concise outlines of conditions and disorders most often encountered in medical practice from the Texas Children’s Hospital Handbook – whether used as a high-yield review for studying or for quick reference in a clinical setting. Images and algorithms are also highlighted in the search to help confirm diagnosis and clinical decision making.  There are also pediatric board review resources that are designed to prepare residents for their boards by offering questions and answers that mirror the case vignette style on current board exams.

 

Access Surgery provides a variety of resources to help medical students excel in their surgery clerkship; assist residents in gaining instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading surgical textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning; and allows practicing surgeons to brush up on their medical knowledge when studying for their Maintenance of Certification Exam. Some titles included in Access Surgery are:

Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations, Eleventh Edition by Patrick Vaccaro; Robert M. Zollinger; E. Christopher Ellison; Timothy M. Pawlik

Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9781260440850

Publication Date: 2021-11-25

Schwartz's Principles of Surgery

Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9781259835377

Publication Date: 2019

If you have any questions about these resources, please feel free to reach out to Robyn Gleasner, Resource Management Librarian at HSLIC.