HSLIC News

Three teams were awarded Seed Funding Grants for the 2022-2023 HSLIC Seed Funding Grant Program this year. Two teams have completed their projects, and the third was given an extended time frame to complete a longer project.

The purpose of this internal mini-grant program is to help foster a variety of research and innovative projects by HSLIC employees. This program supports the library’s value of innovation, fostering an environment that values creativity, flexibility, open-mindedness, and informed risk-taking. It also provides a supportive environment for those who wish to gain experience conceptualizing, writing, and administering grant projects. 

This year’s winning projects were:

• Graphic Medicine and Alternative Publishing Exhibit and Events by Project Lead Alexis Ellsworth-Kopkowski, Robyn Gleasner, Varina Kosovich, Kelleen Maluski, and Jonathan Seyfried.
• Processing the Carrie Tingley Hospital and Minear Collections Using the MPLP Framework by Project Lead Laura Hall, Maxx Harrison, and Jonathan Pringle.
• Welcome to HSLIC: Front Area Improvements by Project Lead Gale Hannigan, Rio Austin, Wendell Billingsley, Laura Hall, and Kaylee Nauer. This project is still a work in progress and more information will be published on HSLIC’s blog in the future.

HSLIC plans to offer its employees this opportunity for the current fiscal year, 2023-2024.

You are invited to join us on Thursday, October 5th, from 10 A.M - 11 A.M. for a virtual seminar by Jeremy J. Yang, Ph.D.

Topic: Evidence Evaluation in Biomedical Knowledge Graphs for Pharmaceutical Discovery

Synopsis:

In this seminar, Dr. Yang will describe several biomedical data science research projects from diverse domains, involving teams comprised of contributors from UNM and elsewhere, which share a common theme of evidence evaluation for pharmaceutical discovery. What is the strongest biomedical evidence about a disease for discovery of novel pharmaceutical therapies? This is a fundamental challenge for biomedical scientists, but also translates to a parallel question for data science: Can we systematically assemble and query biomedical knowledge graphs in a computational discovery platform guided by rational, algorithmic measures of relevance and confidence, facilitating scientific discovery? And, how have continuing waves of scientific and technological progress, in an era of bigger and bigger data, informed and empowered these inquiries?

Learning objectives:

• Participants will be able to explain the meaning of "knowledge graph"
• Participants will be able to describe how data can be aggregated to rationally measure evidence

Please email BLCarroll@salud.unm.edu to request Zoom info.

New material is available at HSLIC! Check out the New Material Guide to see what has been recently added to our collection! Subjects include:

• Health & Medicine
• Nursing
• Justice, Equity, & Inclusivity

Check out the New Books display on the 2nd floor of HSLIC to see new titles available in print. Here are a few:

Concept-Based Clinical Nursing Skills by Loren Nell Melton Stein; Connie J. Hollen

Call Number: WY 100.1 S819 2024

ISBN: 9780323827409

Publication Date: 2023-03-10

 

 

Lewis's Medical-Surgical Nursing by Mariann M. Harding; Jeffrey Kwong; Debra Hagler

Call Number: WY 100.1 L676 2023

ISBN: 9780323789615

Publication Date: 2022-09-01

 

 

LGBTQ Health Research by Ron Stall (Editor); Brian Dodge (Editor); José A. Bauermeister (Editor); Tonia Poteat (Editor); Chris Beyrer (Editor)

Call Number: WA 300.1 S782 2020

ISBN: 9781421438788

Publication Date: 2020-09-01

 

 

 

To see new titles available as ebooks, please see the New Material Guide and click on the links provided for access.  Here are a few:

Adult Malnutrition by Jennifer Doley (Editor); Mary J. Marian (Editor)

Call Number: Ebook

ISBN: 9781000713374

Publication Date: 2022-10-21

 

 

 

Theorising Occupational Therapy Practice in Diverse Settings by Jennifer Creek (Editor); Nick Pollard (Editor); Michael Allen (Editor)

Call Number: Ebook

ISBN: 9781003016755

Publication Date: 2022-11-29

 

 

 

Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and into Practice by Janie B. Butts; Karen L. Rich

Call Number: Ebook

ISBN: 9781284259247

Publication Date: 2022-09-15

 

 

Take a look at the guide to see the entire list of New Material.

HSLIC is pleased to announce that we now have access to the Libby App from OverDrive. Affiliated users can access a growing collection of ebooks and audiobooks curated by HSLIC on popular subjects like business and justice, equity, and inclusivity topics. Titles can be read on the desktop platform or the app can be downloaded to a mobile device.

To download the app on your mobile device, search for the Libby App in the App Store for Apple devices like iPhone or iPad, or use the Google Play Store for Android devices. Once installed, open the Libby App on your device and follow the prompts to search for “University of New Mexico Health Sciences Library & Informatics Center.” Sign in with your “library card”-- this is your UNM/HSC NetID and Password. If you prefer to read on the Kindle App, you can easily send your title in Libby to that Kindle App.

To start enjoying these ebooks and audiobooks, browse our OverDrive collection!

OverDrive This link opens in a new window

New

HSLIC's OverDrive includes a growing collection of ebooks and audiobooks. Download directly to your computer or use the Libby app with a variety of devices, including iPhones, iPads, Android devices, Nooks, Kindles, and more.

 

Book banning has been getting a lot of media coverage lately.  I’ve chaired the New Mexico Library Associations’ Intellectual Freedom Committee for several years now and in the past 18 months have received multiple fresh queries from parties throughout the state.  People want to know what contemporary book banning in New Mexico actually looks like, if they should be concerned, and what they can do to help libraries and librarians. 

First off, book banning is not a contemporary issue (and when referring to book bans I am including challenges, which are attempts to have books removed from libraries thereby restricting access).  As Dr. Mary Bartlett, self-described geek and literature scholar, points out in her blog, This Book is Banned, the works of the Roman poet Ovid were first banned in 8 AD, burned in Florence in the 15^th century, and banned by US Customs in 1928.  A New Mexico favorite, Bless Me, Ultima by Rudolfo Anaya, has been challenged and banned in multiple states (including our own) over its many decades of existence.  And of course, the Bible has been famously banned and re-banned multiple times throughout its history. 

Book bans are frequently different today though.  Recent Banned Book Lists from the American Library Association reveal that the bulk of challenged titles are about LGBTQIA+ folks and/or people of color and written by LGBTQIA+ folks and/or people of color.  Most are challenged for sexual content, gender issues, and race issues.  The two library systems in New Mexico that recently had books challenged, Los Alamos Public Library and Rio Rancho Public Libraries, only had titles about LGBTQIA+ topics written by LGBTQIA+ identified authors challenged (This Book is So Gay, The Art of Drag, Once a Girl, Always a Boy, and If You’re a Drag Queen and You Know It). There seems to be much less interest locally and nationally in banning books with heterosexual sexual and cultural content.  The almost laser focus on specific types of books by specific types of people is why we should be concerned about book bans now.    

Libraries in New Mexico are frequently underfunded, understaffed, and more likely to be semi-rural or rural.  As such, they are heavily dependent on local goodwill and any potential challenges to their collections are especially difficult.  Libraries frequently hear from dissatisfied patrons and so it is essential that they also hear from satisfied patrons who love the diverse selection of titles so often discovered in even the smallest of libraries.  Not only are library staff proud of the work they put into their collections but they need to be prepared when questions are raised.  I encourage everyone who loves their library to email or write an old-fashioned note to its Library Director whenever they have a kind word.  These recorded gestures of support make it much easier for libraries to face challenges to some of their carefully selected titles.

HSLIC can feel a little removed from book bans as it is not a public or school library.  However, it is a part of the broader library ecosystem and we are all library users too.  Like the guest list of a good dinner party, a library should be eclectic, fun, informative, unpretentious, exhilarating, and yes, there should be room for all at that table.

For more on New Mexico and book bans: https://www.kunm.org/show/university-showcase/2023-06-16/how-the-spike-in-book-challenges-hurts-libraries-and-intellectual-freedom

On Friday, September 8, HSLIC was thrilled to welcome participants of New Mexico State Library’s Tribal Libraries Program to the library for an all-day event. The Tribal Libraries Program provides library development services to tribal communities throughout the state, including support for library management, collection development, funding navigation, staff continuing education, and advocacy. The purpose of the field trip to HSLIC was to connect tribal librarians with health information resources and UNM programs as well as develop fresh relationships with libraries serving Indigenous people.

Executive Director Melissa Rethlefsen kicked off the day with a warm greeting and UNM’s Indigenous Peoples’ Land and Territory Acknowledgement. Participants then had a special tour of HSLIC led by Specialist III Amy Weig-Pickering, including a peek at items from the library’s Special Collections with Archivist Abbie Weiser and a walkthrough with Specialist III Rachel Howarth of some of the technology available to students and the public. HSLIC Clinical Services Librarian Deborah Rhue and Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine Library Director Norice Lee introduced PubMed and MedlinePlus, respectively. Participants had the opportunity to view the Native Health Database with Jonathan Pringle, Scholarly Communications and Digital Librarian. Emily Roberts, the Library Services Coordinator at the Center for Development and Disability, provided an in-depth review of CDD’s resources. Carla Sakiestewa introduced the Office of Community Health’s Health Extension Regional Office, which she is a part of as an Affiliate Agent, and Norman Cooeyate, the Tribal Relations Liaison for the Center for Native American Health, rounded out the presentations on UNM programs. Ingrid Hendrix, Division Head, Research, Education, and Clinical Information Services, ended the day by leading a conversation and Q and A session. 

HSLIC is New Mexico’s only publicly accessible health sciences library.  As such, it strives to provide health information access and training to all New Mexicans. Engaging with libraries throughout the state provides HSLIC with the opportunity to reach diverse local communities in the places they call home. We look forward to continuing to expand and improve health information learning opportunities throughout the state. 

Have you ever wanted to see how other studies use a particular research instrument? 

HSLIC provides access to a database -- CINAHL Ultimate -- that includes indexing for research instruments. CINAHL Ultimate offers a large collection of nursing and allied health literature, as well as notable research instruments. One way to discover research instruments in the database is to use a keyword search. First, enter the name of the instrument/scale or keywords related to the instrument. Second, change the dropdown menu to IN Instrumentation (see Image 1). Finally, browse the search results. When you open a record, scroll down to the Instrument field, and you should see your search terms.

To learn how other studies use the research instrument, access the full text of relevant articles, and read the methods sections. 

If you'd like to try looking for an instrument, here are some options:

• Morse Fall Scale
• Caregiver Burden Scale
• Mishel Uncertainty in Illness 

Image 1

You are invited to join us on Thursday, September 9th, from 10 A.M - 11 A.M. for a virtual seminar by Sean Mooney, PhD.

Topic: Fair Data Sharing: A Data Generating Researcher’s Perspective

Description: In this seminar, I will describe the UW ecosystem that generates and utilizes data for research. I will discuss the challenges that researchers face with data in an evolving technology and informatics environment. I present the concept of FAIR data and how it can be enabled at the institutional level with appropriate governance and investments. Finally, I will provide some views of the future and how the research community investments are giving rise to a new generation of data platforms.

Learning objectives: 

We will discuss:

• Learning about how data sharing can be enabled using robust governance, data standards, and appropriate approaches for controlled access data
• Understanding the concept of FAIR data and what that means from a practical perspective to the researcher
• My view of the future and what we need to do to enable sharing of data for more impactful research in the future.

Please email BLCarroll@salud.unm.edu to request Zoom info.