HSLIC News

You are invited to join us on Thursday, December 7th, from 10 A.M - 11 A.M. for a virtual seminar by Leo S. Lo, EdD, MLIS, MFA, and Laura Hall, MFA, MBA.

Topic: AI in Higher Education and Research

Summary:

Artificial Intelligence holds great promise for higher education from helping students learn more efficiently to entering the job market better prepared for the future. It’s also transforming the way in which faculty conduct research. This session of the BioMISS seminar series will focus on AI trends and explore application in research.

Learning objectives:

1. Learn about how generative AI is being integrated into higher education, with some specific examples from initiatives at the University of New Mexico (UNM).
2. Gain a greater understanding of generative AI capabilities and limitations.
3. Insight into the importance of critically assessing information produced by AI systems.
4. Learn about prompt engineering and the principles of the CLEAR framework.

Please email BLCarroll@salud.unm.edu to request Zoom info.

On Friday, November 17, 2023, the Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center hosted its first Scholarship Day. Some of the works featured included posters, journal articles, and book chapters. Many people were able to talk with the authors of their publications and learn more in-depth information about their featured works. Also, everyone enjoyed some refreshments. Library director Melissa Rethlefsen stated, "Seeing all of HSLIC's scholarship and research from the past two years all together was inspiring and humbling. It was a fabulous way to celebrate HSLIC's faculty and staff who contribute to our field and to the health sciences disciplines every day". Overall, we feel this was a success, and we thank those who came out to support this event. 

Course Reserves have moved to a new location! The collection is now located on the 3rd floor near the group study rooms. Our displays for New Materials and the HSC Office for DEI's Community, Connection and Reflection Book Club have also moved and can be found near the women's restroom on the 3rd floor.

Reserves continue to be available 24/7 and can be checked out for a limited time during staffed hours. 

Looking for electronic reserves? Search our Course Reserves Module in Discovery to find your course! Here you can see a list of materials on reserve for your course, go directly to electronic materials, and check the status of print books.

Take a look at our Course Reserves Guide for more information. Reach out to our Course Reserves Manager if you have any questions or ask the front desk for help finding your course materials!

Two individuals from HSLIC were awarded Seed Funding Grants for the 2023-2024 HSLIC Seed Funding Grant Program this year. 

The purpose of this internal mini-grant program is to help foster a variety of research and innovative projects by HSLIC employees. This program supports the library’s value of innovation, fostering an environment that values creativity, flexibility, open-mindedness, and informed risk-taking.

"HSLIC's seed funding grants provide an opportunity to explore new initiatives and experience a grant funding process in a supportive environment," said Ingrid Hendrix, Division Head for Research, Education, and Clinical Information Services. "They offer a chance to explore new initiatives and uncover novel research directions."  

This year’s winning projects were:

• Cognitive Biases as Interrupters in Evidence Based Practice Decision Making, Jonathan Eldredge, Project Lead. This study seeks to identify and communicate common cognitive biases among health sciences information professionals.
• Improving Access to Special Collections Digital Resources, Abbie Weiser, Project Lead. This project will add previously digitized photographs and textual materials to the UNM Digital Repository, including the creation of accurate and context-rich metadata to make them discoverable and more accessible to researchers.

This is the third year of the HSLIC Seed Funding Grant program. "HSLIC's seed funding program offers more than financial support," said Laura Hall, Division Head for Resources, Access, and Discovery at HSLIC. "It's an opportunity for growth and learning among our HSLIC team members." HSLIC plans to continue to offer this opportunity to its employees next fiscal year.

HSLIC's student computers are getting a software refresh and will be fully updated after the Thanksgiving Break. In addition to the usual Windows maintenance and improvements to productivity and office applications, our HSC CIO support has installed the following statistical software:

• STATA
• R
• R Studio
• OpenRefine
• Jupyter Notebook
• Python

This software update is in support of the NIH All of Us Program, but will remain on the student computers and is free for anyone to use. HSLIC thanks the HSC CIO for their continued support of our student computing resources.

This past year, the UNM Health Science Library and Informatics Center (HSLIC) and University Libraries teamed up so UNM researchers can gain access to The National Institutes of Health’s All of Us Research Program. Researchers can now gain access to all tiers of data after verifying identity and receiving mandatory training. Guidance for IRB application and templated language is available at: https://libguides.health.unm.edu/c.php?g=1359894&p=10042360

The All of Us Research Hub matches a broad research community with a diverse set of research participants. Its goal is to advance precision medicine research and fuel new insights into human health. The Research Hub houses one of the largest, most diverse, and most broadly accessible datasets ever assembled. It also provides an interactive Data Browser where anyone can learn about the type and quantity of data that All of Us collects. Users can explore aggregate data, including genomic variants, survey responses, physical measurements, electronic health record information, and wearables data. Registered users can use the Researcher Workbench to dive deeper into the data; conduct rapid, hypothesis-driven research; and build new methods for the future, using a variety of tools.

HSLIC and the University Libraries will be providing training sessions beginning in January 2024, but you can get started today. Support is available at https://support.researchallofus.org/hc/en-us, and the All of Us Research Program also provides weekly drop-in office hours. Learn more here: https://libguides.health.unm.edu/c.php?g=1359894

You are invited to join us on Thursday, November 16th, from 10 A.M - 11 A.M. for a virtual seminar by Tatsuya Norii, MD.

Topic: Data: A Powerful Tool to Advance Health Equity

Introduction:

You can’t improve what you don’t measure. Consistently collecting fundamental data in electronic health records, including REaL (Race, Ethnicity, and Language) and SDOH (Social Determinants of Health), and making this data available is a crucial first step in advancing health equity, whether you're undertaking quality improvement or research projects. Dr. Tatsuya Norii, UNMH’s Associate Chief Data Officer and an Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine, will discuss health system-wide initiatives related to REaL and SDOH data.

Learning objectives:

• Review the process of collecting REaL (Race, Ethnicity, and Language) data at UNM Health
• Describe the new SDOH (Social Determinants of Health) forms in our electronic health records
• Analyze REaL and SDOH data within UNM Health
• Apply REaL and SDOH data to promote health equity

Please email BLCarroll@salud.unm.edu to request Zoom info.

In honor of November being National Diabetes Month, I wanted to share some historical sources about diabetes in HSLIC Special Collections.

• Oral histories with Dr. Bruce Tempest and A. Paul Ortega about diabetes in New Mexico.
• Monographs include Strong in Body and Spirit (University of New Mexico School of Medicine’s Native American Diabetes Project); Navajo Food Practices, Customs, and Holidays; Directory of Diabetes Education Services in New Mexico; Diabetic Coma; and Racial and Ethnic Patterns of Mortality in New Mexico.
• American Diabetes Association, New Mexico Affiliate collection.
• R. Philip Eaton papers. Dr. Eaton, along with Dr. David S. Schade (Chief, Division of Endocrinology Distinguished and Regents Professor, Department of Internal Medicine) of the UNM School of Medicine and Sandia Laboratories, successfully implanted the second (first more programmable) insulin pump in a human in 1981. This pump helped maintain glycemic control in a patient with type I diabetes.
• New Mexico Insulin Pump photograph collection. This collection contains photographs (circa 1981) of Dr. R. Philip Eaton treating patients and in the laboratory, the programmable insulin pump developed by New Mexico scientists, and the first patient, Monte Patterson, to receive the pump.  

New Mexico insulin pump, New Mexico Insulin Pump photograph collection, PH 226

Monte Patterson, the first patient to receive the New Mexico insulin pump, New Mexico Insulin Pump photograph collection, PH 226

Dr. R. Philip Eaton in the laboratory, New Mexico Insulin Pump photograph collection, PH 226

As AI continues to reshape higher education and the health sciences, staying up to date is crucial. To support your understanding of the topic, HSLIC has recently published an AI in Health Sciences research guide.

The AI in Health Sciences guide provides an overview as well as direct links to many essential e-books and articles on the topic.  It includes a newsfeed to keep you informed on the latest AI advancements and provides some search tips for finding relevant literature in PubMed.

Additionally, the guide spotlights popular AI tools, such as Research Rabbit and Semantic Scholar, that can be integrated into projects, research, or productivity workflows. These tools can help with basic information discovery through topic and citation exploration, brainstorming various topics, grammar and editorial assistance, creating code, etc.

Explore our guide today!

November is National Diabetes Month, and November 14th is World Diabetes Day. The purpose of both is to raise awareness about this disease locally and globally. According to the International Diabetes Federation, the theme for World Diabetes Day 2023 is “Empowering Global Health,” and the slogan is “Know your risk, Know your response.” 

This slogan is fitting for a new research project undertaken by three librarian researchers from the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center (HSLIC) and the University of Kansas Libraries (KU Libraries). Lisa Acuff and Sally Bowler-Hill from HSLIC and Gwen Geiger Wolfe from KU Libraries are conducting a study of online patient education materials (PEMs) about type 1 diabetes for the use of disempowering language. 

The goal of this project is to determine the frequency and context of disempowering terms in PEMs for people with type 1 diabetes and caregivers. This study aims to broaden the scope of research into the use of person-first, inclusive language in PEMs that avoids labels, pejorative terms, and words that undermine patients’ experiences.

To do this, the research team developed an Empowering Language Assessment Tool consisting of a checklist to document the frequency of disempowering words and phrases in PEMs authored by academic, clinical, government, and health-related organizations. After 2 pilot tests, the team used this checklist to assess a sample of 29 publicly available PEMs. Statistical analysis of the results of this assessment is underway. Future work will include a more in-depth qualitative analysis of the sample PEMs. For more information about the project, visit the team’s Open Source Framework site.

Whether it’s your family, friends, health, snowy days, a good book, pumpkin spice, or even fuzzy socks, we want to know!

Drop by HSLIC, 3rd floor all November and help us fill our trees with words of encouragement, appreciation, joy, and hope. Write your own or just read what others had to share. Together, let’s acknowledge all the goodness in our lives!

The Health Sciences Library & Informatics Center is proud of the scholarship of our faculty and staff, and we would like to share what we have done with the rest of the Health Sciences Center. To that end, please join us on Friday, November 17, 2023, when the Health Sciences Library & Informatics Center will be hosting our first HSLIC Scholarship Day. 

HSLIC will be celebrating our faculty and staff scholarship with posters, slides, journal articles, and book chapters—along with refreshments, of course!  Drop by any time between 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. on the Main Floor of the library to celebrate with us.  

            Check out the QR code to access the

            UNM Digital Repository to view HSLIC

            research and scholarship!

The Resources, Archives, and Discovery Unit is revising HSLIC's Collection Development Manual. The Manual outlines parameters for collection building and explains how collection decisions are made.  View the Draft Collection Development Manual and appendices on the Collection Development Guide.

The manual has been reviewed by HSLIC employees, the HSLIC Advisory Council, and the HSC Faculty. We now invite members of the public to review the draft of HSLIC's Collection Development Manual and provide feedback to us. Please fill out the Google Form to help us track feedback.

• Use the line numbers on the Collection Development Manual to correspond with comments and feedback in the form.
• Submit each comment/line number separately so that we can better track any suggested changes.

We ask that you provide your first and last name in case we have any questions about addressing your suggested change.

Please submit all feedback by end of day November 15, 2023.  If you have questions about the Manual, please contact Laura Hall or Robyn Gleasner.