HSLIC News

Are you a healthcare professional looking to enhance your clinical research skills? Join us for our upcoming workshop, " Integrating Zotero with Your Writing: From Research to Publication." 

This course is designed to empower healthcare professionals with essential skills in reference management. Participants will learn to efficiently use Zotero throughout their research process, from initial literature searches to final manuscript preparation. The course covers Zotero's core functionalities and advanced features, emphasizing practical application in academic writing and research collaboration.

In this hands-on workshop, you'll learn how to:

• Install and configure Zotero, including the Zotero Connector for web browsers

• Efficiently collect and save references from web pages and databases using Zotero

• Organize references by creating and managing collections, subcollections, and tags

• Insert citations and generate bibliographies in Microsoft Word and other word processors

• Manage PDFs within Zotero, including annotation and full-text search capabilities

• Utilize advanced Zotero features, including sync, collaboration tools, custom citation styles, and ZoteroBib for quick online bibliographies

Workshop Details:

Date: October 16, 2025

Time: 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Location: Online via Zoom

Don't miss this opportunity to supercharge your research skills! Space is limited to 25 participants, so register early to secure your spot.

To register, visit: https://goto.unm.edu/hslicevents

For more information about using Zotero, check out our LibGuide: https://libguides.health.unm.edu/zotero

We look forward to seeing you at the workshop!

Join HSLIC as we celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month!

A physical display on Curanderismo and traditional healing methods will be available on the second floor from September 15-October 15th. You can also explore digital resources through our Virtual Guide. 

Be sure to check out upcoming events hosted by UNM's El Centro de la Raza.  

Rooted in Indigenous practices, curanderismo is a healing tradition that incorporates plants, energy work, ritual cleansings, and more. Practiced in New Mexico for hundreds of years, it continues to be a vibrant part of our culture. Titles for curanderismo healers include curandera (feminine), curandero (masculine), and curanderx (gender neutral). 

Read more about the tradition of curanderismo below. UNM also offers in person and online courses for folks interested in learning curanderismo. Visitors to the Albuquerque Botanic Gardens can learn more about the plants used in traditional practices by exploring the Curandera Garden. 

Further Reading: 

UNM Newsroom: UNM Curanderismo Summer Program Shares Traditional Healing Practices

New Mexico Magazine: A Deeply Practical Magic 

Phoenix Magazine: Nuestra Medicina: Exploring the Practice of Curanderismo

Humanities Collaborative (UTEP): Preserving Curanderismo in the Borderland 

The Agora (NMSU): The Case for Curanderismo

The Research, Education and Clinical Information unit – better known as RECIS (pronounced just like the candy) has 6 faculty, with a new faculty member joining the team soon.  Our faculty librarians partner with our health sciences programs to provide expert searching guidance and instruction to help students faculty and staff find evidence based information to support coursework, research and patient care and help navigate the complex information environment. In addition to working with the various HSC programs, our services extend to the clinical and research enterprises and outreach to rural and tribal libraries throughout the state.

Meet the RECIS Team:

Evelyn Wang is the Clinical and Educational Librarian. She provides subject-specific, customized resource training, literature searching, and evidence resource support during clinical rounds and meetings. Through consultations, guidance, and specialized workshops, she helps clinicians, residents, and researchers by providing resources and services that actively support research studies, clinical decision-making, and advancement along the clinical scholarship pathway.

Jon Eldredge is Professor and Evidence Based Practice Librarian. He is the Co-Chair of the School of Medicine’s Quantitative Medicine Block for second-year medical students and the instructor of record for the Foundations of Research Methodologies course for the Physician Assistant Program. In these instances and elsewhere in both curricula he assures that all students are meeting their informatics and Evidence Based Practice competencies. Similarly, he integrates competency-driven informatics and Evidence Based Practice skills training into the MPH Program’s Determinants and Equity in Public Health course where he is an instructor of record. He serves as the Associate Program Director in the GME Clinical Informatics Program. His research centers on rigor of the evidence base and decision-making among Health Information Professionals.

Deirdre Caparoso is the Outreach and Community Engagement Librarian.  She works to develop the programs and partnerships needed to support the health information needs of New Mexico communities, particularly underserved community members and rural and tribal libraries.  Caparoso also enjoys providing literature search support and helping students develop substantive research projects.  Her own research centers on public library services and community health.

Leah Everitt is a Research & Education Librarian and Assistant Professor in RECIS. Everitt teaches in the College of Pharmacy PharmD program and BioMedical Sciences Graduate Program. In the curriculum, Everitt teaches health science literature searching and information literacy skills and lends expertise in BSGP's Rigor and Reproducibility in Research Journal club.  Everitt provides expert searching support for literature searches and evidence synthesis projects and is on UNM HSC’s Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee. Everitt's research includes bibliometrics and informatics projects analyzing bibilographic metadata.

Emily Roberts is the Nursing and Allied Health Librarian. She provides instruction and research support for a broad range of students, faculty and researchers across these programs. Her own research focuses on accessibility in the library and health misinformation.

Ingrid Hendrix is the Division Head for RECIS. She manages the operations of the division and provides support and guidance for the RECIS team. Her teaching is varied, but she is most passionate about providing instruction on caring for patients with disabilities. Her research focus is on evidence synthesis and service dog efficacy.
 

Looking for quick, focused research help?
Join our Mini Research Consultation Clinic—an open-format, 30-minute session designed for clinicians, researchers, and residents seeking one-on-one research support from HSLIC librarians.

You’ll receive real-time guidance and actionable suggestions for your research questions, including:

• Best practices in literature searching
• Evidence resource recommendations
• Citation management (including Zotero and academic writing support)
• Simple research Q&A
• HSLIC library service and resource navigation

Bring any question—large or small—and leave with practical solutions!
Space is limited (10 participants per session)—secure your spot now.

📅 Workshop Details

• Dates: October 7 & October 23, 2025
• Time: 12:00 PM – 12:30 PM
• Location: Online via Zoom

📌 Registration is required (limit 10 participants per session).
Registration closes 2 hours before the session.

👉 Register here: https://goto.unm.edu/hslicevents

Are you a faculty member looking for ways to assist in your students’ success? Look no further than HSLIC’s Course Reserves Service. We work together with faculty to make sure that students at the HSC have access to the course materials they need to succeed.

What are Course Reserves:

The Course Reserves service provides students with a free and convenient way to find and use their eTextbooks. HSLIC provides both electronic and physical access so students can find their important course materials whether they're in the library or off campus.

The Course Reserves module provides access to items on reserve. By typing in the course number, course name, or instructor name, students can find their courses’ unique reserves page with a list of available materials. From this page, they will be able to access many of their course materials electronically. They will also be able to find what items are kept physically on reserve on the Course Reserves shelving on the ground floor of the library.

Adding Items to Course Reserves:

Textbooks are initially added to Course Reserves by comparing library holdings to a list of textbooks from the UNM Bookstore. Faculty can add additional items to reserve by going to the Course Reserves Release Form on the library’s website. If a desired item is not part of HSLIC’s collection, faculty may request that the item be purchased and placed on reserve by Requesting a Library Purchase.

Other Services:

Need specific chapters from a text for your course? We can help with that as well. By submitting a request through our Scanning & Permanent Link Request Form, faculty can request scans of required materials that they can post for their students on platforms like Canvas and Moodle. 

For more information about the other services we provide alongside Course Reserves, please see the Course Reserves guide for faculty. 

Questions?

Have questions about the Course Reserves service? We’re here to help. Feel free to contact us with any questions. For additional information for students, see our previous Course Reserves blog post!

An important part of the Resources, Archives, and Discovery (RAD) unit is Special Collections, which contains rare and unique sources about the history of health and healthcare in the state and the Southwest. Types of materials in our holdings include oral histories, archival collections, rare books, photographs, artifacts and monographs. Collecting strengths include the history of tuberculosis treatment, the UNM Health Sciences Center, public health, New Mexico's medical providers, and the oral history collection.  

Special Collections is open to all researchers and students are especially welcome - you do not need prior archival experience! Physical holdings are available for use in the Library during research appointments, which can be made by contacting the archivist. The archivist can also provide reference support and ideas for and guidance about research/class projects. 

In addition to physical archives, Special Collections has a variety of materials digitized and available to view online, including oral histories, images, and other historical documents. Access guides to our processed collections here. 

To learn more about using Special Collections, please visit our guide. 

Preparing for board exams, professional certifications, or other tests? Check out HSLIC's Board Review & Test Prep Resources Guide. The Health Sciences Library & Informatics Center (HSLIC) offers a curated collection of board review and test prep resources to support health sciences students.

The guide is broken into types of students including medical, nursing, pharmacy, allied health professions, and residents. It is then broken up by subject to make finding information/guidance on a particular topic easy.  Please visit the guide to review the full list of resources. Some popular resources for exam preparation include:

Whether you're brand-new to working with research data or a more experienced researcher looking for some tips and best practices, HSLIC's RAD unit offers a variety of research data services to help you with all your data management needs! We're highlighting some of them here.

Data Management Planning Assistance

A good data management plan (DMP) or data management and sharing plan (DMSP) is an important part of reproducible research projects, and can help save you time and protect your data against loss. DMPs and DMSPs are also increasingly being required by research funders.

HSLIC's Research Data Specialist can help with reviewing and revising your DMP or DMSP and, if applicable, making sure it meets your funder's requirements. We also provide training and assistance in using DMPTool, a free online resource that can make creating your plan easier and faster.

We have two research guides providing more information on DMPs and DMSPs:

• Data Management Planning - Covers DMP basics and best practices
• NIH Data Management and Sharing - Provides specific information for researchers funded by or applying for funding from the National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Data Management Workshops

We offer a variety of data management workshops throughout the year, on topics ranging from getting your data organized to data analysis. Workshops are open to all, regardless of your level of research or data management experience. Check out our online workshops for the month of September:

• Writing a Data Management Plan with DMPTool - Wednesday, 9/10, 1 - 2 p.m.
• Data Organization 101: Directory Structure and File Naming Conventions - Monday, 9/15, 12 - 1 p.m.
• Data Organization 101: Organizing Data in Spreadsheets - Wednesday, 9/24, 12 - 1 p.m.

Visit this blog and the HSLIC Events Calendar throughout the semester for information about more newly scheduled workshops. Can't make a workshop at its scheduled time? Let us know! We schedule repeat workshops based on interest and also offer many of our data management workshops on demand.

Locating Datasets and Data Repositories

HSLIC can provide assistance locating research datasets and data repositories. Contact the Research Data Specialist or check out our guide to Open Data Repositories.

And More

Need other help with research data management or want to learn more about our Research Data Services? Contact Dr. Danielle Maurici-Pollock, Research Data Specialist.

Are you interested in participating in a research study to help HSC help you with your research data? Check out this blog post for more details.

Check out two library tools that are available to help streamline your research and study:

BrowZine

Browse and follow your favorite journals in one place, create a personal bookshelf, and get alerts when new issues are released.

LibKey Nomad

A browser extension that provides one-click access to full-text articles available through the library or open access, directly from publisher websites, PubMed, and other sources.

Both tools are free to use and can save you time while keeping you connected to the literature you rely on. For details on getting started, visit our library guide or Ask A Librarian.