HSLIC News

Are you a nursing or allied health student looking to enhance your research skills and knowledge base? Our upcoming “Beginning CINAHL” class is for you. In this workshop, students will learn the basics of using CINAHL to navigate, search, and utilize the nursing and allied health literature.  HSLIC’s “Beginning CINAHL” workshops are taught online from noon until 1:00 pm.

We are offering “Beginning CINAHL” workshops on two separate days, so you can register for the class that best fits your schedule. 

Workshop Dates and Times:          Beginning CINAHL, September 20, noon to 1:00 pm (Friday)   

                                                            Beginning CINAHL, October 11, noon to 1:00 pm (Friday) 

                                                           Register for either class at:  https://goto.unm.edu/hslicevents

As we celebrate National Nurses Week, it's important to recognize the valuable contributions of nurses and nursing students. Their commitment and dedication are fundamental to our community's well-being. This week not only honors them but also provides an opportunity to spotlight the supportive role that the library plays in their education and professional lives. From offering specialized resources to providing personalized assistance, the library is committed to enhancing the nursing profession by ensuring that our nurses have access to the best tools for success.  

Consultations and Class Visits

For immediate assistance, our chat services are available during library hours, providing quick answers to questions and guidance on using library tools. For more in-depth help, we offer one on one consultations with a librarian. Additionally, we actively collaborate with faculty to integrate library sessions into nursing courses, ensuring students are proficient in utilizing library resources from the start of their educational journey.  To schedule a class or a one on one consultation, visit our Ask A Librarian page.

Online Resources

Our library offers extensive online resources accessible 24/7, that enable nurses and nursing students’ access - whether at home, in the hospital, or on the move. Just a few key resources are:

Access APN contains advanced practice nursing content, including drug information, treatment plans, and clinical tools, tailored to the needs of practicing nurse practitioners and clinical nurse specialists.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is a database for nursing and allied health professionals, providing access to top nursing journals, evidence-based care sheets, and quick guides.

PubMed offers a vast database of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.  

Clinical Key contains e-books, journal articles, practice guidelines, drug information, and multimedia resources.  

MedlinePlus is designed for consumers and professionals alike, providing reliable, up-to-date health information. It’s a great tool for patient education.

Zotero is a bibliographic tool that helps manage and cite research in papers and is particularly useful for managing large volumes of information and citations.

National Nurses Week is a time to acknowledge and celebrate the hard work and dedication of nurses and nursing students at our health sciences center. It's also a moment to highlight the role our library plays in supporting their educational and professional journeys.  

We encourage all nurses and nursing students to make use of our resources and services to enhance their learning and professional practice. The library is here to support and partner with you, ensuring you have the knowledge and tools necessary to succeed. Let’s continue to celebrate the significant impact of our nursing community, not just during National Nurses Week, but all year round.

Patient Safety Awareness Week is March 10-16; it's an opportunity to encourage learning about health care safety. Patient safety is the concern of everyone on the health care team, and that includes librarians.

Some ways in which librarians and libraries contribute to patient safety:

• Provide authoritative point-of-care resources for quick retrieval of information at the time of need
• Participate in clinical rounds to understand the context of questions as they arise and respond with relevant information from quality resources
• Serve on safety committees and institutional review boards
• Conduct literature searches for current guidelines, best practices
• Provide 24/7 access to databases that contain current information about drugs, interactions, therapeutics, and peer-reviewed full-text articles
• Educate health care personnel in the efficient use of resources

Physicians, residents, and nurses at 118 hospitals (16,122 respondents to a survey) considered a recent patient care situation and reported changes in "advice given to the patient (48%), diagnosis (25%), and choice of drugs (33%), other treatment (31%), and tests (23%)" based on information provided by the librarian or library." They indicated that the "information allowed them to avoid the following adverse events: patient misunderstanding of the disease (23%), additional tests (19%), misdiagnosis (13%), adverse drug reactions (13%), medication errors (12%), and patient mortality (6%)." [1]

When you have a question, or are making a health care decision, our goal at HSLIC is to deliver current, accurate, and evidence-based information.

1. Marshall JG, et al. The value of library and information services in patient care: results of a multisite study. J Med Libr Assoc. 2013 Jan;101(1):38-46. doi: 10.3163/1536-5050.101.1.007. PMID: 23418404; PMCID: PMC3543128.

                                                                         Download and review Patient Safety terms with this printable word search

                                                                                              Download Word Search  Download Answer Key

AccessAPN is specifically designed for advanced practice nursing education. It includes textbooks, case studies, videos, and quizzes. Some titles included are:

INSPIREd Healthcare by Billie Lynn Allard

ISBN: 9781948057318

Publication Date: 2020-03-01

 

 

 

Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses by Cynthia Save

ISBN: 9781948057936

Publication Date: 2021

It also includes information that is relevant to anyone studying or practicing in the health sciences:

Crucial Conversations

ISBN: 9781260474190

Publication Date: 2022

New Features

One of the standout features of AccessAPN is its focus on the specialized fields within advanced practice nursing. One new feature is the APN Case of the Month. Check out the Psych/Mental Health Case of the Month on Mania.

There is also information specifically for instructors including PowerPoints from selected textbooks that can be integrated into lectures. Faculty will need to create a free account in AccessAPN or any of HSLIC’s other Access databases to access these resources.

For Access

AccessAPN provides comprehensive, up-to-date resources tailored to the needs of advanced practice nursing. Click on any of the above links and login to access the resources and/or click below to access the full database:

If you have any questions, please contact Ask a Librarian.

Have you ever wanted to see how other studies use a particular research instrument? 

HSLIC provides access to a database -- CINAHL Ultimate -- that includes indexing for research instruments. CINAHL Ultimate offers a large collection of nursing and allied health literature, as well as notable research instruments. One way to discover research instruments in the database is to use a keyword search. First, enter the name of the instrument/scale or keywords related to the instrument. Second, change the dropdown menu to IN Instrumentation (see Image 1). Finally, browse the search results. When you open a record, scroll down to the Instrument field, and you should see your search terms.

To learn how other studies use the research instrument, access the full text of relevant articles, and read the methods sections. 

If you'd like to try looking for an instrument, here are some options:

• Morse Fall Scale
• Caregiver Burden Scale
• Mishel Uncertainty in Illness 

Image 1

Where do you go for quick nursing evidence summaries?

Evidence-based practice is a problem-solving approach to clinical decision-making based on the best available research evidence (Melnyk and Fineout-Overholt 2023). While it is preferable to read the original research reports to evaluate the validity and applicability firsthand, nurses, educators, and students often lack the time to do so.  

I recently discovered the journal, Evidence-Based Nursing, which is available from HSLIC. According to the publisher, the journal publishes critical commentaries and summaries of the most valid research in nursing. Key findings and implications for nursing practice are discussed. The original research articles are clearly referenced, allowing readers to find and appraise the complete reports if desired. In addition to commentaries, the journal publishes two other article types: Research Discussions and Evidence for Nursing Education.

Since my subject expertise is in health education and information sciences, rather than nursing, this journal is invaluable to me. As the librarian for the graduate nursing programs, I can quickly scan information that is relevant to nursing practice.

Evidence-Based Nursing is also available through BrowZine, an application that allows users to browse, read, and monitor journals available through the library. Learn more about BrowZine here.

So, where do you go for quick nursing evidence summaries? I encourage you to add Evidence-Based Nursing to your list of favorites! 

References:

BMJ Publishing Group (2023). Evidence-Based Nursing. https://ebn.bmj.com/
Gleasner, Robyn (2022, December 7). What is BrowZine? https://libguides.health.unm.edu/c.php?g=1206413&p=8823251
Melnyk, B. M., & Fineout-Overholt, E. (2023). Evidence-based practice in nursing & healthcare : a guide to best practice (Fifth). Wolters Kluwer.

You are invited to join us on Thursday, October 6th from 10 to 11:30 AM, for a virtual seminar by Gabe Peters, BA.

Topic: Inclusive Dermatology: Creating a Diverse Visual Atlas of Skin Conditions

Description: Existing literature on Dermatological conditions highlight little to no visual diversity amongst skin conditions of varying individuals of color. Inclusive dermatology focuses on the importance of gathering and sharing images of dermatological conditions in all skin types with an emphasis on individuals who have been excluded in medical education. By expanding the availability of images in varying skin types, we hope to not only advance medical education but also strive to improve patient care, especially with our diverse population here in New Mexico.

Learning Objectives:

1. Describe what Inclusive Dermatology is

2. Explain the importance of inclusivity and how it benefits patient care

Please email BLCarroll@salud.unm.edu to request Zoom info.

You are invited to join us on Thursday, September 15th from 10 to 11 AM, for a virtual seminar by Deborah L. Lauseng, AMLS

Topic: Roles, Collaborations, and Activities in Health Informatics Education - a discussion of scoping review findings and your own involvement

Description: Librarians and libraries have been engaged in informatics training for decades, however, sharing of the types and extent of engagement has been limited in the literature. The scoping review, “Library involvement in health informatics education for health professions students and practitioners,” published in JMLA, seeks to explore the extent library involvement in health informatics education, specifically focused on activities and outcomes described in the published literature.

In this BioMISS session, the lead author will share findings on the roles, collaborations, and activities librarians have had in health informatics beyond instruction. The author will lead a discussion about current and potential collaborations. Additionally, attendees will explore how best to report their involvement with health informatics to inform the profession.

Learning objectives: 

• Participants will gain insights into the extent and nature of librarian/information professional involvement with health informatics as discovered through this scoping review. 

• Participants will explore potentials of collaboration with health informatics activities in their own work. 

• Participants will discuss generating a standardized template for reporting librarian/information professional involvement in informatics educational activities. 

Please email BLCarroll@salud.unm.edu to request Zoom info.

Celebrating Nurses on International Nurses Day May 12^th

After the year we have had, a week to celebrate nurses doesn’t seem to be even close to enough time to recognize their incredible service to the health of all of us. Throughout the pandemic, we have seen videos and stories and testimonials to the impact of nurses during this difficult time.  But we have always known that about nurses, haven’t we?  

In 2020, the World Health Organization declared that year as the International Year of the Nurse and Midwife – in honor of the incredible work nurses do throughout the world and to honor the 200^th anniversary of Florence Nightingale. Due to the pandemic, WHO has extended the International Year of the Nurse and Midwife into 2021 to recognize the valuable contributions that nurses have made during this crisis.

The pandemic has put a huge strain on our healthcare professionals and on our health systems.  Healthcare will undoubtedly be forever changed by what we’ve been through this past year. Nurses, as the largest group of healthcare providers, are leaders in this change.

The theme for this year’s International Nurses Day on May 12^th is Nurses: A Voice to Lead – A Vision for Future Healthcare. This theme  explores ‘the challenges nursing faces and how the profession will transform the next stage of healthcare’ (ICN, 2021).  Our UNM College of Nursing has always worked to transform the field through developing leaders. We know how much they have contributed to  educating future nurses to assist and care for their communities. Throughout this pandemic we have only seen that dedication grow by expanding their already robust online curriculum, finding creative solutions to simulation education, vaccinating New Mexicans, serving on the front lines of patient care of COVID patients and a host of other endeavors.

We hope that all nurses understand how much they’re appreciated and valued.  We take this moment to offer thanks for all you do and celebrate you this month, this year and always.

Come learn tips and tricks to successful searching in CINAHL - the Nursing and Allied Health database. Nursing Services Librarian, Ingrid Hendrix,  will provide strategies for getting the most out of this database and save you time and aggravation. This workshop will take place on October 12th from 12:10 to 12:50 p.m. in HSLIC's 226 classroom. Bring your questions and challenges and we can work on solving them together!