LibGuides: Virtual Exhibits: Pride Month: June 2025

Happy Pride

Discover titles in HSLIC's digital collection using the arrows on the slideshow above. Click on the title's cover to navigate to the library's website and access materials.

Pride as Protest

The history of Pride parades is rooted in protest. The first large- scale Pride marches took place in June 1970, marking the one-year anniversary of the Stonewall Rebellion, with marches in Chicago, New York City, Los Angeles, and San Francisco.

These events were the result of decades of activism and organizing. Today, Pride parades continue to focus on activism-- raising awareness of LGBTQIA+ rights issues and building community.

Read more about the history of Pride parades using the resources below. Discover archival photos, oral histories, newspaper articles, and more!

All photos from: New York City Gay Liberation Day, Christopher Street, June 27, 1970 (Photograph: Diana Davies / The New York Public Library)

Pride Ignites in New Mexico
Blog from the New Mexico History Museum about the history of Albuquerque's parade.
What is Pride?
Information from ABQ's PrideFest group, including a brief history of our Pride parade.
GLBT Historical Society Digital Collections- Primary Source Set: Pride
Archival materials including newspapers, person papers, photographs, and audio.
The First Pride Marches, in Photos
Smithsonian Magazine: Photo article about the origins of Pride. With historical photos of first Pride marches.
50 Years of Pride- Photo Exhibition
A visual history of Pride curated by Lenore Chinn and Pamela Peniston.

more... less...

Photo: Gilbert Baker and colleagues raising one of the first rainbow flags in San Francisco on June 25, 1978.
Marsha P. Johnson & Sylvia Rivera Collection
From the Digital Transgender Archive. A range of materials detailing Marsha and Sylvia's activism efforts including photographs, correspondences, newspaper clippings, and more.
Diana Davies Collection- New York Public Library
Archival collection of Diana Davies, with photos from various Pride and activist events. Search can be narrowed down by topic.
The History of Pride
Library of Congress: How Activists Fought to Create LGBTQ+ Pride. Photos and videos of early Pride marches.
LGBT Community Center National Archive
A community-based archive that collects, preserves, and makes available to the public the documentation of LGBTQ+ lives and organizations in and around New York.
Harvey Milk Archives- Scott Smith Collection
San Francisco Public Library; photos, speeches, and writings.
ACT UP Oral History Project
The ACT UP Oral History Project is an archive of 187 interviews with members of ACT UP, the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York.

Stonewall

Stonewall at 50 Documentary
28-minute documentary produced by NYU.
Stonewall National Monument Visitor Center
Read a brief history of the Stonewall Inn, learn about how the National Monument was created, and find links to other sources.

"Marsha P. Johnson and Sylvia Rivera at Pride March, 1989." Photograph. 1989. Digital Transgender Archive.

Video: As Pride Month kicks off, black trans activists want their stories centered
June is Pride Month, marking the 1969 Stonewall riots against police brutality. Amid rising violence against Black transgender people, activists are calling for their stories to be centered.
Stonewall At 50: Remembering Importance of Riots, Pride and Visibility
Short article from the Human Rights Campaign.

Virtual Exhibits

Get Involved

Volunteer/Donate:

Speak Up:

Keep Learning:

Happy Pride

Pride as Protest

Stonewall