Skip to main content

Finding Full Text

PubMed Guide

For help formulating your search, as well as other helpful information on PubMed, please see our PubMed guide.

Find Full Text with PubMed

From the library's homepage, click on the PubMed tab of the search box to start your search.  

world cat search box with arrow pointing to pubmed

If you are off campus you will have the option to login.

pubmed search box with arrow to login

When you click on the title of an article in PubMed search results, a screen opens with the title, author(s), and abstract of the article.

Look for the icons under "Full text links" in the upper right corner of your browser window.

screenshot of PubMed article results with arrow pointing to full text link

Full text icons - There are three types of icons that may be included in the full text links.

  1. Publisher icons (more than one of these could be present)
  2. UNM "Find Article" icon
  3. Open Access icons‚Äč

IMPORTANT:  If HSLIC does not have a subscription to the journal where the article appears, you will not have access to full text. However, the journal website may ask you to pay for access to the article. HSLIC is not responsible for any purchases made via this method. For alternative access see: Interlibrary Loan.

Publisher Icon

Screen shot Elsevier full text iconThe publisher link will take you to the journal's website. Typically, it will direct you to the specific article. However, sometimes you will need to retype the article name in the journal's search bar. If full text access is not available, the publisher may ask you to purchase access. Try the other options below before you decide to purchase an article. HSLIC is not responsible for any purchases made.

UNM Icon

UNM find article iconThe UNM link directs you through the HSLIC site to see if full text access is available. If full text is available then you will click 'View Full Text' and be directed to the item. If there is not full text access then you will get a message that says 'We were unable to find direct full text links for this item.'

Screenshot of article with arrows pointing to full text availability


Open Access Icons

Plos One Open access icon 

Open access links Indicate journals where the contents are freely accessible to anyone without a subscription.

Bio Med Central Full Text Icon

PMC Full Text Icon  The Free in PubMed Central link Indicates that the article is freely available in PMC.

When Full Text is Hard to Find

If the full text is not easily accessible, it may be because:

  • The article is listed as "E-Pub Ahead of Print" or "In Processing". You can try the publisher link.
  • The article may be in a supplement.  Sometimes our subscription does not include them.  You can try checking access through multiple vendors.
  • The article may not be well indexed or the link may be broken.  You can try going to the individual database and searching specifically for the title of the article.  You may also need to search for the journal title, then year, volume, number, and then the article.
  • If you have trouble accessing something, please email HSC-Remote@salud.unm.edu

Videos and Tutorials

Need Help? Contact Us!