HSLIC News

HSLIC’s entry-level (2nd floor) is undergoing renovation starting in January. Crews will begin clearing the floor on December 18th. This project is scheduled to run through October 2024.

The goal is to provide an updated and more usable space. You may find details about it in our online information guide.  

In a separate project over the winter, UNM Facilities Management will be renovating the library's north-side elevator. This concurrent renovation will complete a 2-year project to modernize the library's elevators, including making them accessible.

The two upper floors, including study rooms, will remain open for student use during construction. The library service desk, course reserves, anatomical models, and technology will be located on the middle floor of the library. Badge access for 24/7 library use will also remain. 

We are pleased to announce that the Resources, Archives, and Discovery Unit has successfully completed the revision of HSLIC's Collection Development Manual for 2023 and has been approved by the Operations Management Team (OMT). This manual outlines the parameters for building collections and provides guidance for decision-making at HSLIC.

To access the approved Collection Development Manual and its accompanying appendices, please visit the HSLIC Collection Development Manual.

Thank you to everyone who provided comments and feedback throughout all of the various drafts. Your contributions and insights were highly valued and enhanced the final version of the manual. In addition to HSLIC’s own review, the manual was also open to external review, including the HSLIC Advisory Council, HSC Faculty Council, education and research deans of the School of Medicine, College of Nursing, College of Pharmacy, and College of Population Health, and was open for public comment.

For any clarifications regarding the manual, please do not hesitate to reach out to either Laura Hall or Robyn Gleasner.

The Joseph V. Scaletti papers are now processed, and the guide is available to view online. The papers help document the career of Dr. Scaletti and the history of the UNM School of Medicine.

Joseph V. Scaletti (1926 July 22 – 2010 March 8) was a microbiologist, professor, and one of the founding faculty members of the University of New Mexico School of Medicine. At UNM, Dr. Scaletti served as professor and chair of the Department of Microbiology in the School of Medicine. He created the Allied Health Sciences program in 1972 and became UNM’s first Vice President for Research in 1978. As Vice President for Research (1978-1986), Dr. Scaletti greatly increased funding, oversaw the construction of multiple campus buildings, and planned and established University Research Park and the Rio Grande Research Corridor.

During his long career, he advocated for and worked toward expanding healthcare to New Mexico’s rural communities. Along with Dr. Clark Hansbarger, Dr. Scaletti established the Rural Health Interdisciplinary Program. This program, which lasted from 1990 – 2003, trained UNM students in different healthcare-related fields to study and work in rural clinics in New Mexico. He also co-wrote a grant with Dr. Sanjeev Arora in 2004 to fund Project ECHO, which provided “a model for treating complex chronic diseases in rural areas.”

The annual Joseph V. Scaletti Memorial Catalyst Lecture, hosted by the UNM HSC Clinical and Translational Science Center, is named in his honor. Established in 2011, the lecture series “features an individual, institution, or idea responsible for accelerating the rate of positive change and forward progress in the areas of biomedical research, healthcare education, innovative healthcare delivery, and state-of-the-art patient care.”

  Dr. Scaletti with a DNA model, circa 1960s, Joseph V. Scaletti papers, HHC 323

New material is available at HSLIC! Check out the New Material Guide to see what has been recently added to our collection! Subjects include:

• Health & Medicine
• Justice, Equity, & Inclusivity

Check out the new location of the New Books display on the 3rd floor of HSLIC to see new titles available in print. Here are a few:

Molecular Neuropharmacology: a Foundation for Clinical Neuroscience, Fourth Edition by Robert C. Malenka; Eric J. Nestler; Steven E. Hyman

Call Number: QV 76.5 N468 2020

ISBN: 9781260456905

Publication Date: 2020-06-23

Mosby's® Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests by Kathleen Deska Pagana; Timothy J. Pagana; Theresa Noel Pagana

Call Number: QY 39 P128 2022

ISBN: 9780323697033

Publication Date: 2021-08-10

Osborn's brain : imaging, pathology, and anatomy by Anne G Osborn

Call Number: WL 301 OS81 2024

ISBN: 9780443109379

Publication Date: 2023

Health Equity by Daniel E. Dawes; Kisha B. Holden; David R. Williams; American Public Health Association Staff (Contribution by)

Call Number: W 68 AA1 D269 2023

ISBN: 9780875533285

Publication Date: 2023-07-01

 

We're Not OK by Antija M. Allen (Editor); Justin Stewart (Editor)

Call Number: LC 2781.5 W47 2022

ISBN: 9781009073561

Publication Date: 2022-05-05

Health Informatics by William Hersh (Editor)

Call Number: W 26.5 H434 2022

ISBN: 9781387854752

Publication Date: 2022-07-29

Take a look at the guide to see the entire list of New Material.

HSLIC's entry-level (2nd floor) will be closed for most of 2024 to get a much-needed refresh!

The goal of the project is to provide a more useable space, including:

• A kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, and sink for student use
• Updated study spaces and student computer lab
• New library service desk with additional storage for large items students like to check out, such as sporting goods
• Additional technology space for virtual reality, 3D printing, virtual anatomy table, and more
• Flexible space for easy reconfiguration 

The renovation is scheduled to start in January 2024, with an estimated completion date of October 2024. It is funded as part of the 2024 capital outlay from the State of New Mexico.

In a separate project over the winter, UNM Facilities Management will be renovating the library's north-side elevator. This concurrent renovation will complete a 2-year project to modernize the library's elevators, including making them accessible.

The two upper floors, including study rooms, will remain open for student use. The library service desk, course reserves, anatomical models, and technology will be located on the middle floor of the library. Badge access for 24/7 library use will also remain. 

"Being able to support our students with modernized spaces and technologies for both optimal learning and well-being is tremendously exciting. It was through student participation and feedback that this project developed and evolved, whether from testing out furniture to participating in focus groups. We are deeply grateful to the HSC students and to the New Mexico legislature and governor for supporting this much-needed renovation project," said Melissa Rethlefsen, HSLIC Executive Director.

For more information about the renovation and to view more drawings, visit our online information guide!

Need a boost while studying for finals? Take a snack break to refresh! The library will have Fuel for Finals on the third floor by the group study rooms from Monday, December 4th through Friday, December 8th. Stop by for snacks, coffee, tea, and more.

Also, don't forget about the library's Wellness Room, Wellness Corner, and Nap Pods if you need a longer break. The Wellness Room has soft lighting, sound machines, fidget toys, and a comfy couch. If the Wellness Room is in use, visit the Wellness Corner for fidget toys, coloring materials, origami, blankets, and puzzles. The Nap Pods are a great option to refresh, nap, and listen to calming music.

Best of luck with your finals! 

Last month, I had the opportunity to visit several libraries in Northern New Mexico dedicated to serving rural populations. This whirlwind trip left me in awe of the myriad of ways libraries connect with people throughout the state.

My first stop was the P’oe Tsawa Community Library on the Ohkay Owingeh Pueblo. This library, right next to a bus stop and a block away from a community school, truly feels embedded in local life. Library Director Rexine Calvert greeted me warmly and provided a full tour of the cozy library decorated with community artwork and featuring a family room for its youngest patrons. The library offers programs for all ages. Its craft programming is especially strong, and I had the opportunity to spend some time with local retirees using library leatherworking tools to make moccasins for family members. 

I then met up with Juliana Anastasoff, HEROS agent, UNM Taos faculty, and my hostess for the rest of the trip. We had the opportunity to spend a little time at the Embudo Valley Library and Community Center in the rural village of Dixon. This 501(c)(3) library property features a thrift store, co-op market, orchard, and community center in addition to the library itself, a beautiful eco-friendly building nestled in local grasses and trees. I had the opportunity to learn more about local needs from staff members Annette Maes and Rosalia Ciddio.

We finished up the day at the UNM Taos Library with Library Director Kathleen Knoth on the new Klauer Campus on the south side of Taos. This light-filled library faces west and features multiple fascinating special collections that can only be viewed on-site such as the Southwest Research Center of Northern New Mexico. UNM Taos offers multiple programs specific to its local population, including its Taos Education and Career Center (TECC), which provides a high school equivalency education for all ages and multiple two-year associate degrees and one-year certificate programs, some of which are health sciences-oriented. The library serves a broad array of programs and students, many of whom commute from distant locations. 

The next day, we visited the newly designated public library, the Ojo Sarco Community Center and Library in Rio Arriba County. This new library is an extension of an existing community center and offers a small lending library and reliable internet access in an area with many broadband service gaps.  Staff person Kara Archuleta gave us a tour and we spent time talking about library services in the playground adjacent to the library. It was exciting to learn about their brand-new library.

Rural libraries provide many communities with much-needed information in addition to support and a strong sense of place. The state is rich in libraries, and they are valuable potential partners as HSLIC seeks to continue to engage with and empower New Mexicans by finding ways to expand and support knowledge around health information resources.