HSLIC News

This week is National Eating Disorders Awareness Week. The National Institute of Mental Health defines eating disorders as “serious illnesses marked by severe disturbances in a person’s eating behaviors”. According to a 2024 report by the Strategic Training Initiative for the Prevention of Eating Disorders, nine percent of New Mexicans will have an eating disorder in their lifetime and people of all ages and sexual orientations are affected.  

If you feel that you or someone you care about may have an eating disorder, please seek support. The National Eating Disorders Association offers a wide range of information and support, including a screening tool. The New Mexico Crisis and Access Line provides help 24 hours a day. Here on campus, Student Health and Counseling (SHAC) offers counseling for students and Counseling, Assistance and Referral Services (CARS) offers counseling for faculty, staff, and their domestic partners.   
 

Information literacy, as defined by the American Library Association, is an individual's ability to “recognize when information is needed and have the ability to locate, evaluate, and use effectively the needed information" (ALA, Presidential Committee on Information Literacy).  In the face of disinformation and misinformation, information overload, and changes to once reliable federal websites, information literacy-and specifically evaluating resources- is more important than ever. 

Explore the links below to find a variety of resources to help navigate information, data, social media, and more. 

HSLIC: Evaluating Resources Guide 

A guide collecting information on evaluating sources, evaluating scientific research, confirmation bias, and definitions of common terms. 

UNM University Libraries: Federal Data & Website Resources

Contains information about data rescue and alternative data sources, scholarly communications updates, and links to library databases that contain federal data. 

National Library of Medicine: Health Misinformation Resources 

A guide that collects resources, videos, and links to webinars.  

University of Minnesota: Health Misinformation 

A thorough guide that discusses misinformation, provides resources for evaluation information, collects a number of infographics on misinformation, and shares videos, games, and toolkits for practical skills. 

Evidence for Democracy: Your Toolkit for Addressing Misinformation 

Addresses the difference between misinformation and disinformation, discusses what misinformation looks like, and offers tips to combat misinformation. Also has a robust references list. 

News Literacy Project Webinar: Is That Real? A Crash Course in Verifying Online Content 

A free, one hour webinar that teaches attendees practical tools and skills to evaluate online content and detect misleading images. 

Taylor & Francis: Misinformation vs Disinformation 

An introduction to the differences of misinformation and disinformation, a discussion about fake news and its six categories, and an open access list of further readings. 

Self Magazine: Stressful News Cycle Tips

13 tips to help prioritize mental health, regulate news consumption, and set boundaries for social media.  

HSLIC is thrilled to be hosting the National Library of Medicine's traveling exhibit, Promising Future, Complex Past: Artificial Intelligence and the Legacy of Physiognomy, from March 3 - April 12, 2025. 

This exhibit “presents the history of physiognomy— the practice of assessing one’s mental character based on physical attributes—and explores its influence on contemporary artificial intelligence and computer science technologies that gather and interpret body data.” 

Please join us for our opening reception on March 6, 2025, 9am-11am on the third floor of HSLIC. This drop-in event - no registration or RSVP is required - will feature complimentary coffee and bagels, a pop-up display of historical and rare books on physiognomy, and chances to win exciting prizes.

HSLIC is also offering a special AI Crossroads session on March 25, 1pm-2pm via Zoom that will tie into the exhibit's themes.

The exhibits and programs are free and open to the public as well as the UNM and HSC communities. 

For more information about the exhibit, programs, and library resources, please visit our corresponding LibGuide. 

Keeping up with current events and the news can be stressful. Add coursework, research projects, and clinicals, and getting through the day can feel overwhelming. The library is here to support you with resources to help you take a break, reset, step away from doom-scrolling, and engage in activities that prioritize your mental health.

The Wellness Room 

The Wellness Room is a multi-use space on the third floor of the library with relaxation, stretching, and prayer supplies. Take a coloring/drawing break, curl up with a comfy blanket, use a variety of fidget tools, or turn on the constellation light and unwind. No reservation required! 

Nap Pods 

The library has two nap pods on the third floor that are first-come-first-serve. Studies suggest short naps can help relieve stress- so close the privacy screen, plug in the headphones, and listen to soothing music as you nap. 

Wellness Corner

If the Wellness Room is in use, check out the wellness corner right next to it! Grab a cozy blanket to take to a study room, try your hand at some origami, or work on a coloring sheet in between studying. Feel free to take the items anywhere in the library and bring them back when finished.  

Treadmills 

Need to walk it off? Try our treadmills on the third floor by the rainbow shelving. Place your textbook on the study table, turn on the treadmill, and enjoy the view as you incorporate a bit of movement in your day. 

Last summer, the UNM College of Nursing transferred almost one hundred class composites (print and digital) to HSLIC Special Collections. 

The digital images - going back to the first graduating class (1959) - are now available to view online via New Mexico Digital Collections. 

These images help document the history of the UNM College of Nursing and are an important part of the UNM Health Sciences Center institutional archives. 

For more information about resources in Special Collections on the history of nursing in New Mexico, please check out our research guide. 

HSLIC's Justice, Equity, and Inclusion Committee is pleased to offer An Introduction to NAGPRA (Native American Grave Protection and Repatriation Act). This online session will be led by Ash Boydston-Schmidt from the UNM Maxwell Museum of Anthropology and will be held on Thursday, March 6th from 10am-11am. Registration can be found at this link: https://libcal.health.unm.edu/event/14166707    

Since 1990, the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA) has provided for the protection and return of Native American human remains, funerary objects, sacred objects, and objects of cultural patrimony. At the onset of 2024, new federal regulations for NAGPRA went into effect that have had recent, widespread impact on museums, researchers, and Native communities. At the moment, questions abound regarding these recent updates. This "crash course" on the history and context of NAGPRA will include a brief overview of the new federal regulations for that and participants will have an opportunity to ask questions.

Learn more about NAGPRA by visiting the Maxwell Museum's page or the federal website.