HSLIC News

Lecturer Mary Thelander from the Occupational Therapy department reached out the Health Sciences Library for a consultation in 3D printing. Thelander’s goals were to have physical examples of a 3D object to present and give to the farmers at the AgrAbility conference in Las Cruces, New Mexico. http://www.agrability.org/about/program/

The library was able to assist Thelander in printing 49 of the Toothbrush Holders for members of the conference. The design of the toothbrush holders is that it is able to be opened with one hand and the holders can hold the toothbrushes in place for toothpaste to be applied.

Health Sciences Staff/Students/Faculty are encouraged to reach out to the Emerging Technology Specialist if you’re looking for assistance on a project that is incorporating 3D printing.

https://libguides.health.unm.edu/tech-at-hslic

June 23rd is National Hydration Day! Hydration is so important for your overall health. Hydration can help:

• Keep joints lubricated
• Prevent issues such as kidney stones
• Keep your body's waste systems functioning well

We know that hydration is vital, but sometimes it can be hard to remember to stay hydrated. It can be even more frustrating to stay hydrated if you don't enjoy drinking water. Here are some ideas for making staying hydrated more fun!

• Find a water bottle that works for you. Maybe you like one that fits in a cupholder. Maybe you like one with a straw. If a water bottle has functions you like, you're more likely to drink more water!
• Add some flavor to your water! Fresh fruit and herbs can be great for adding flavor! 
• Set an alarm on your phone. Sometimes reminders to drink water can be very helpful.
• Remind your friends to stay hydrated. You'll help a friend stay hydrated and remind yourself to hydrate in the process.

Happy Hydrating!

Photo caption: Train stop at Valmora, New Mexico. Valmora Industrial Sanatorium records. 

Tomorrow is National New Mexico Day! 

This holiday celebrates the Land of Enchantment, its people, and history. On this holiday, New Mexicans and visitors are encouraged to explore the state (especially its parks and cultural heritage sites) and shop local businesses. 

One way to discover more about our state’s history is by exploring some of our online Special Collections resources or making a research appointment to view our collections in person. 

Special Collections documents the history of health and healthcare in New Mexico and the Southwest by collecting and preserving materials that include oral histories, organizational records, rare books, photographs, artifacts and a monograph collection. Areas of focus include the history of tuberculosis treatment, the UNM Health Sciences Center, public health, New Mexico's medical providers, and the oral history collection. 

Some collections important to New Mexico history are:

New Mexico Medical Society records

Valmora Industrial Sanatorium records

UNM Health Sciences Center Institutional records

Oral history collection

To view more online resources or learn more about Special Collections, please visit our website. 

Are you interested in learning more about open access publishing and wondering what options exist for publishing your work? Are you conducting NIH-funded research (or considering applying for funding) and wondering how the new NIH Public Access Policy going into effect July 1, 2025 and the current NIH Data Management & Sharing Policy apply to your research? Join HSLIC for a series of online workshops this summer that will cover these important topics. 

Click on a date below to register for a session or contact Robyn Gleasner or Danielle Maurici-Pollock for more information.

Open Access Publishing 101

These session will provide researchers and scholars with basic information about open access publishing including models and paths to Open Access; funding options such as article processing charges, publisher/transformative agreements, and including as a line item in grant proposals; and how these options may influence selection of scholarly output. Register to attend a session from 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. MDT on the following dates:

• Monday, June 23
• Monday, July 7

Understanding the NIH Data Management and Sharing and Public Access Policies
This one-hour online workshop will review recent changes to NIH policies that could impact your research and publications, including the 2024 NIH Public Access Policy and the 2023 NIH Data Management and Sharing Policy. Register to attend a session from 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. MDT on the following dates:

• Monday, June 16
• Wednesday, July 16
• Wednesday, August 13

Understanding the New NIH Public Access Policy
Interested in just learning more about the NIH 2024 Public Access Policy? This 30-minute online workshop will cover the basics. Register to attend a session from 12:00 - 12:30 p.m. MDT on the following dates:

• Monday, June 30
• Wednesday, July 30

Join us at HSLIC as we celebrate Pride Month! 

Explore Our Displays
Visit the second and third floors to browse our curated book displays featuring LGBTQIA+ health, history, and lived experiences. Check out the slideshow in the lobby and scan QR codes to explore a wide variety of eBooks on LGBTQIA+ topics. 

Get Crafty
Stop by our second floor craft station to make your own button or bracelet. Show your pride or share your pronouns! 

Dive into History
This year’s Pride Month Research Guide highlights the history of Pride parades, Pride as protest, and the Stonewall Rebellion. Explore archival materials like photographs, oral histories, newspaper articles, and more.

Treat Yourself 
On Monday, June 3rd, enjoy delightful pastries from Snapdragon Tea, a local LGBTQIA+-owned bakery—available while supplies last!

Keep an eye on our social media for details about a larger celebration at the end of the month!