Data Management Planning

Special thanks to NMSU for sharing their resources.

Also, please take a look at the UNM main guide for NIH Data Management and Sharing support.

Data should be deposited into a data repository or archive for long-term preservation. 
Use these directories to find a repository for your data or check out either the general data repositories or the discipline-specific ones below. 

Repository Finder - Helps you find an appropriate repository to deposit your research data

reData.org - Search this registry of repositories to find a good fit for your data

OpenDOAR - "OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held." 

Open Access Directory's list of disciplinary repositories

NIH-supported data repositories. List maintained by the Trans-NIH BioMedical Informatics Coordinating Committee (BMIC).

PLOS recommended repositories - PLOS journal recommendations for general and discipline-specific data repositories.

Scientific Data recommended repositories - Recommendations for general and discipline-specific data repositories. Nature Publishing Group.

The following data repositories accept submissions from any discipline. To find discipline-specific repository options, see the Disciplinary Repositories list below. 

• Dryad Digital Repository

  • Dryad is a general data repository for which UNM has an institutional membership. Our membership supports:

    • Deposits of data collections of up to 300GB in size
    • Provision of a Digital Object Identifier that can be used for citing a data collection and reporting to sponsors and publishers
    • Multiple methods of submission of data and documentation - web interface, linking to external storage systems (e.g. Dropbox), and secure FTP
    • Long-term preservation of data through the California Digital Library's CoreTrustSeal-certified repository.
    • Deposit fees are covered by our institutional membership. There are no costs to researchers.
    • UNM's Institutional Membership in Dryad is supported by the New Mexico EPSCoR Program through funding by the National Science Foundation (NSF) award #OIA-1757207.
• FigShare
  • "A repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner. figshare features aim to help you organize your research and get as much impact for it as possible, without adding time or effort to your day."

• Harvard Dataverse
  • “Harvard Dataverse is a free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data. You can open your data to the general public, or restrict access and define customizable terms of use.”
• Mendeley Data
  • "Mendeley Data is an open research data repository, where researchers can upload and share their research data. Datasets can be shared privately amongst individuals, as well as published to share with the world. Search 26+ million datasets from domain-specific and cross-domain repositories."
• Open Science Framework (OSF)
  • "OSF is a free and open source project management tool that supports researchers throughout their entire project lifecycle. As a collaboration tool, OSF helps research teams work on projects privately or make the entire project publicly accessible for broad dissemination. As a workflow system, OSF enables connections to the many products researchers already use, streamlining their process and increasing efficiency."
• Zenodo
  • "An open repository for all scholarship, enabling researchers from all disciplines to share and preserve their research outputs, regardless of size or format. Free to upload and free to access, Zenodo makes scientific outputs of all kinds citable, shareable and discoverable for the long term"

Generalist Repository Comparison Chart

• Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) - The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) offers robust data sources that may interest you if you're a researcher, clinician, purchaser, policymaker, or consumer.
• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Data & Statistics [CDC] - CDC data and statistics includes access to FASTSTATS A-Z, an alphabetical listing of statistics on topics of public health importance, Health E-Stats, Vital Records, etc.
• Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR) [DOE]-  The Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR) is the Department of Energy's (DOE) electronic database comprised of health studies of DOE contract workers and environmental studies of areas surrounding DOE facilities.
• Data Bank - The Data Bank, consisting of the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) and the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), is a confidential information clearinghouse created by Congress to improve health care quality, protect the public, and reduce health care fraud and abuse in the United States.
• Health and Medical Care Archive - The HMCA archives the data from the largest health and health care philanthropy in the United States, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and has a primary goal of understanding health and health care in the US.
• Immuno Polymophism Database - Established by the HLA Informatics Group of the Anthony Nolan Research Institute, IPD provides a centralized system for studying the immune system's polymorphism in genes. It provides access to information related to the sequences of human Killer-cell Immunoglobulin-like Receptors (KIR), sequences of the major histocompatibility complex in a number of species, human platelet antigens (HPA), and tumour cell lines.
• International Classification of Diseases - ICD serves as the international standard for diagnostic classification for all general epidemiological, many health management purposes and clinical use.
• Open ICPSR - Find and share social, behavioral, and health sciences research data.
• National Cancer Institute (NCI) Data Catalog - For data collections produced by major NCI initiatives.
• National Center for Health Statistics - The NCHS collects data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, direct physical exams, and laboratory texting to document the health status of the population; identify disparities in health status and health care use by various population characteristics; monitor trends in health status; identify health problems; support biomedical and health services research; and evaluate the impact of health policies and programs. 
• Orthopedic Foundation for Animals Records - This repository allows users to search specific dogs and their breeds for certain hereditary canine health concerns.
• Scientific Registry of Transplant Recipients - SRTR focuses on large-scale prospective studies, original data collection, and analysis of existing databases to improve patient lives through research in end-stage organ failure and transplantation.
• Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results - A premier source for United States cancer statistics, SEER gathers information related to incidence, prevalence, and survival from specific geographic areas that represent 28 percent of the population, as well as compiles related reports and reports on the national cancer mortality rates..
• Veterinary Medical Database - The VMDB data base started in 1964 as an initiative of the National Cancer Institute for the purpose of studying cancer in animals. Since then, 26 universities have submitted more than 7 million records to this data base.
• Visible Human Project - The Visible Human Project is the creation of complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies. Acquisition of transverse CT, MR and cryosection images of representative male and female cadavers has been completed.
• WHO Global Health Observatory Data Repository - The GHO data repository provides access to over 50 datasets on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water, and sanitation), non-communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others.

Google Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across thousands of repositories on the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful.