As students, I am sure you are looking forward to graduation and all of the excitement that comes with realizing your dream of completing your health profession program. A question that many students have before they graduate is – what do I have access to once I leave UNM?
Once you leave UNM, you have access to freely available resources like PubMed and many open access journals. You can also always return to campus and use any of HSLIC's resources in-house. What most people assume is that they have access to all of our online databases and journals. However, due to our licensing agreements with the vendors who supply our resources, most of those resources are unavailable off-campus after graduation.
So where do you go to get reliable health sciences information post-graduation? Here are a few resources:
PubMed – PubMed contains more that 37 million citations for biomedical literature and online books. Citations may include links to full text from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Google Scholar – A great discovery tool and often has links to full text.
MedlinePlus – A great resource of reliable health information – geared to consumers, so great for patient education material – including in many foreign languages.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) – An extensive database of open access journals from around the world.
Open Educational Resource (OER) Platforms – This includes platforms like DOAB, Merlot, OASIS, and many more for open educational content like textbooks and other learning materials.
Zotero – You used it for writing papers, and can use it for writing your own articles, but it is also a great way to stay organized with articles you find interesting.
UNM’s Center for Development and Disability Information Network – A wonderful resource for clinicians and patients and their families that provides information about resources throughout the state and has a free library that contains the largest collection of disability-related material in New Mexico.
Many professional societies provide access to resources specific to your discipline as part of your membership.
If you are preparing for board exams and would like to continue using Board Vitals, please let us know. We may be able to extend access until you take the exam, depending on the timing.
Remember, just because you graduated, doesn’t mean you can’t ask for help! We can provide literature searches and document delivery for a fee. HSLIC is open to all Monday through Friday 8am-5pm and Saturdays 12:00 - 5:00 p.m. (when parking is a little easier). Check our website for hours.
0 Comments.