HSLIC News

March is Women’s History Month and this blog post explores the career of Dr. Marion Hotopp (1900-1976). 

Born in New Jersey, Hotopp graduated from Cornell in 1934 with her MD and later received a master’s degree in public health from Harvard. After graduation, she completed an internship at the Medical Center of Jersey City and residencies at three hospitals. Following these experiences, Hotopp moved to New Mexico during the 1940s after accepting the position of director of the Maternal and Child Health Division of the New Mexico Department of Health. She was one of eight founding members of the New Mexico Pediatric Society, which was created in 1945. 

Based in Santa Fe, Dr. Hotopp significantly improved infant mortality rates and maternal health by stressing the importance of breastfeeding and nutrition for mothers. In particular, she recommended pregnant women supplement their diets with pinto beans for extra protein and rosehips for additional vitamin C. 

She received several grants during her long career in New Mexico, including a 1958 grant from the National Institute of Health that resulted in the project “Changing Public Health Approaches in Work with Spanish-Americans.” This project explored communication between primarily English-speaking health workers and Spanish-speaking residents in rural New Mexico. The work also involved collecting information about community health beliefs and later focused on nurse-patient communications. This research produced the publication Nurse-Patient Communication: A Manual for Public Health Nurses in Northern New Mexico. 

After her 1967 retirement from the New Mexico Department of Health, Dr. Hotopp did medical work in Central America. She passed away in 1976. 

Sources in Special Collections related to Dr. Hotopp’s career include:

• Oral history collection
• New Mexico Rural Health Survey records
• Nurse-Patient Communication: A Manual for Public Health Nurses in Northern New Mexico

Are you a healthcare professional looking to enhance your clinical research skills? Join us for our upcoming workshop, " Integrating Zotero with Your Writing: From Research to Publication."

This course is designed to empower healthcare professionals with essential skills in reference management. Participants will learn to efficiently use Zotero throughout their research process, from initial literature searches to final manuscript preparation. The course covers Zotero's core functionalities and advanced features, emphasizing practical application in academic writing and research collaboration.

In this hands-on workshop, you'll learn how to:

• Install and configure Zotero, including the Zotero Connector for web browsers

• Efficiently collect and save references from web pages and databases using Zotero

• Organize references by creating and managing collections, subcollections, and tags

• Insert citations and generate bibliographies in Microsoft Word and other word processors

• Manage PDFs within Zotero, including annotation and full-text search capabilities

• Utilize advanced Zotero features, including sync, collaboration tools, custom citation styles, and ZoteroBib for quick online bibliographies

Workshop Details:
Date: March 24, 2025
Time: 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Location: Online via Zoom

Don't miss this opportunity to supercharge your research skills! Space is limited to 25 participants, so register early to secure your spot.
To register, visit: https://goto.unm.edu/hslicevents

For more information about using Zotero, check out our LibGuide:
https://libguides.health.unm.edu/zotero

We look forward to seeing you at the workshop!

Almost sixty digitized pamphlets and trade cards advertising patent medicines and food items from the George and Ruth Eisenberg collection of pediatric antiques are now available to view online via New Mexico Digital Collections. Dr. George Eisenberg was a pediatrician who later moved to New Mexico and joined the UNM School of Medicine in 1968. He and his wife Ruth stared collecting artifacts and images related to pediatrics during the 1940s.

The patent medicine and food product trade cards in the Eisenberg collection date from the late nineteenth to the early twentieth centuries. The collection includes advertisements for products such as Burdock Blood Bitters, Dr. Jayne's Tonic, and the notorious Mrs. Winslow's Soothing Syrup, which was marketed for infants and children and sometimes included deadly amounts of morphine and alcohol. 

The term patent medicine described pre-packaged medicines sold without a doctor’s prescription. They became very popular by the mid-nineteenth century. Patent medicines were often heavily marketed, faced little to no regulation, and could be lucrative businesses. Unfortunately, sometimes these “medicines” contained dangerous ingredients. 

Some regulation of patent medicines (now known as over-the counter medications) began in the U.S. in 1906 with the Pure Food and Drugs Act.  Additional laws were passed in 1912 and in 1938 with the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act to help protect consumers. 

To view pediatric artifacts from the Eisenberg collection, please visit the exhibit on the main floor of the Domenici Center. 

We’re excited to share great news for researchers in microbiology! Our institution is now part of a Subscribe to Open (S2O) agreement with the Microbiology Society. This model guarantees UNM-Albuquerque affiliated authors free Open Access (OA) publishing to the Journal of General Virology and the Journal of Medical Microbiology. This means there will be no article processing fees (APCs) if the article is accepted for publication.

What is Subscribe to Open (S2O)?

S2O is an OA publishing model that keeps journals subscription-based but makes content open access when enough institutions continue their subscriptions. This means no APCs for authors at institutions with an agreement if the journal reaches its subscription goal.

Benefits of S2O

• Published content can be accessed by anyone, anywhere
• Uncapped OA publishing
• Read access to journal content
• Supports wider transition to OA

How to Publish Under S2O

For more details on publishing OA via an instructional agreement, see the Microbiology Society’s Author Guide. Authors simply need to submit as the corresponding or co-corresponding author, using their institutional email address, in the relevant title.

More Information

For more information about OA publisher agreements at UNM, see https://libguides.health.unm.edu/openaccess/oa_agreements_unm.  

This week is National Eating Disorders Awareness Week. The National Institute of Mental Health defines eating disorders as “serious illnesses marked by severe disturbances in a person’s eating behaviors”. According to a 2024 report by the Strategic Training Initiative for the Prevention of Eating Disorders, nine percent of New Mexicans will have an eating disorder in their lifetime and people of all ages and sexual orientations are affected.  

If you feel that you or someone you care about may have an eating disorder, please seek support. The National Eating Disorders Association offers a wide range of information and support, including a screening tool. The New Mexico Crisis and Access Line provides help 24 hours a day. Here on campus, Student Health and Counseling (SHAC) offers counseling for students and Counseling, Assistance and Referral Services (CARS) offers counseling for faculty, staff, and their domestic partners.   
 

Information literacy, as defined by the American Library Association, is an individual's ability to “recognize when information is needed and have the ability to locate, evaluate, and use effectively the needed information" (ALA, Presidential Committee on Information Literacy).  In the face of disinformation and misinformation, information overload, and changes to once reliable federal websites, information literacy-and specifically evaluating resources- is more important than ever. 

Explore the links below to find a variety of resources to help navigate information, data, social media, and more. 

HSLIC: Evaluating Resources Guide 

A guide collecting information on evaluating sources, evaluating scientific research, confirmation bias, and definitions of common terms. 

UNM University Libraries: Federal Data & Website Resources

Contains information about data rescue and alternative data sources, scholarly communications updates, and links to library databases that contain federal data. 

National Library of Medicine: Health Misinformation Resources 

A guide that collects resources, videos, and links to webinars.  

University of Minnesota: Health Misinformation 

A thorough guide that discusses misinformation, provides resources for evaluation information, collects a number of infographics on misinformation, and shares videos, games, and toolkits for practical skills. 

Evidence for Democracy: Your Toolkit for Addressing Misinformation 

Addresses the difference between misinformation and disinformation, discusses what misinformation looks like, and offers tips to combat misinformation. Also has a robust references list. 

News Literacy Project Webinar: Is That Real? A Crash Course in Verifying Online Content 

A free, one hour webinar that teaches attendees practical tools and skills to evaluate online content and detect misleading images. 

Taylor & Francis: Misinformation vs Disinformation 

An introduction to the differences of misinformation and disinformation, a discussion about fake news and its six categories, and an open access list of further readings. 

Self Magazine: Stressful News Cycle Tips

13 tips to help prioritize mental health, regulate news consumption, and set boundaries for social media.  

HSLIC is thrilled to be hosting the National Library of Medicine's traveling exhibit, Promising Future, Complex Past: Artificial Intelligence and the Legacy of Physiognomy, from March 3 - April 12, 2025. 

This exhibit “presents the history of physiognomy— the practice of assessing one’s mental character based on physical attributes—and explores its influence on contemporary artificial intelligence and computer science technologies that gather and interpret body data.” 

Please join us for our opening reception on March 6, 2025, 9am-11am on the third floor of HSLIC. This drop-in event - no registration or RSVP is required - will feature complimentary coffee and bagels, a pop-up display of historical and rare books on physiognomy, and chances to win exciting prizes.

HSLIC is also offering a special AI Crossroads session on March 25, 1pm-2pm via Zoom that will tie into the exhibit's themes.

The exhibits and programs are free and open to the public as well as the UNM and HSC communities. 

For more information about the exhibit, programs, and library resources, please visit our corresponding LibGuide. 

Keeping up with current events and the news can be stressful. Add coursework, research projects, and clinicals, and getting through the day can feel overwhelming. The library is here to support you with resources to help you take a break, reset, step away from doom-scrolling, and engage in activities that prioritize your mental health.

The Wellness Room 

The Wellness Room is a multi-use space on the third floor of the library with relaxation, stretching, and prayer supplies. Take a coloring/drawing break, curl up with a comfy blanket, use a variety of fidget tools, or turn on the constellation light and unwind. No reservation required! 

Nap Pods 

The library has two nap pods on the third floor that are first-come-first-serve. Studies suggest short naps can help relieve stress- so close the privacy screen, plug in the headphones, and listen to soothing music as you nap. 

Wellness Corner

If the Wellness Room is in use, check out the wellness corner right next to it! Grab a cozy blanket to take to a study room, try your hand at some origami, or work on a coloring sheet in between studying. Feel free to take the items anywhere in the library and bring them back when finished.  

Treadmills 

Need to walk it off? Try our treadmills on the third floor by the rainbow shelving. Place your textbook on the study table, turn on the treadmill, and enjoy the view as you incorporate a bit of movement in your day.