HSLIC News

Initiated in 2004, BioMISS is a facilitated discussion series that provides the UNM and Health Sciences community with a forum for discussion on salient topics in biomedical informatics and fosters collaboration among those interested in the field. Each session consists of a short presentation and engaging discussion. BioMISS features an array of distinguished speakers to spark your interest in biomedical informatics. Since the pandemic, sessions have been virtual. As a result, we have had speakers from San Francisco, Austin, even Sweden!

This past season (September 2022-April 2023) invited speakers shared information about Scoping Reviews, An Inclusive Dermatology Database, the New Mexico Community Data Collaborative, Web Scraping, the Native Health Database, and HSC Citation Analysis. On tap for the fall are presentations about FAIR Data Sharing, Reproducibility Research, the UNM Data Repository, and updates from the UNM Hospital Chief Data Officer and from a researcher in the Translational Informatics Division.

Everyone is welcome to attend. Going virtual means that there are no space limitations and you can attend via Zoom. If you want to be on the invite mailing list, contact Brandon Carroll at BLCarroll@salud.unm.edu.

First observed in 1995, National HIV Testing Day highlights the importance of HIV testing and the steps everyone can take once they know their HIV status.

HIV testing is an act of self-care. According to the CDC, encouraging people to get tested and know their HIV status can help them stay healthy. Today, there are more free, easy, fast, and confidential HIV testing options available than ever before. Testing, including self-testing, is the first step to engaging in HIV prevention or treatment services. HIV testing is critical to helping us end the HIV epidemic in the United States.

For more information on HIV testing and treatment resources, please visit:

• CDC 2023 National HIV Testing Day
• NIH National Library of Medicine MedlinePlus – Provides free consumer health information from trusted sources in English and Spanish.
• UNM Truman Health Services - Our goal is to help you live a healthy life with HIV. Medications and a healthy lifestyle can help you reach an undetectable HIV viral load and improve your immune system. We ensure your care is coordinated so it’s comfortable, convenient, and affordable. We also offer free testing at Truman Health Services.
• UNM Student Health and Counseling – Hosting HIV Testing Wednesday and STI Testing Tuesdays
• UNM LGBTQ Resource Center – Additional testing options around New Mexico

#HIVTestingDay

A step towards promoting inclusivity and supporting nursing mothers on HSC campus is underway at HSLIC. In response to the needs of students, faculty, and staff, the library is embarking on a comprehensive renovation of its lactation room. The remodel aims to create a serene and comfortable space where mothers can nurse their infants in privacy and comfort. The updates are meant to make the space more inviting and include:

• New paint
• New LED lighting and dimmer switch
• Newly upholstered rocking chair with new foam and Ottoman
• New wall art

The renovation began in October 2022 and is now available for usage

In honor of Juneteenth, HSLIC will be unstaffed next Monday, June 19th. However, the library will still be open to those with badge access to come in and study.

We wish everyone a very happy and safe holiday. Be sure to check out all of the events happening in Albuquerque and surrounding areas in New Mexico throughout the weekend. Also, if you want to learn more about this important holiday, be sure to take a gander at HSLIC's previous posts from 2020 and 2022.

As first announced in a blog post from March 2023, UNM is now an institutional member of ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor Identifiers). ORCID iDs are unique and persistent identifiers that ensure effective management and consolidation of your research and scholarly efforts - both at UNM and elsewhere. Not only is acquiring an ORCID iD a helpful tool for maintaining your professional identity and sharing it with others, it will soon be mandatory (by 2027) for inclusion when submitting any federal funding proposals. UNM's acquisition of an institutional membership provides the university's research community with the ability to connect individual ORCID iDs to a larger UNM profile, and through APIs enables related data from similar tools (VIVO, Faculty Success) to be shared across these and other platforms. 

Interested in learning more? Consider attending a presentation this Thursday, June 22nd from 11 a.m.-12 p.m. As part of HSLIC's Knowledge Café series, Jonathan Pringle (Scholarly Communications and Digital Librarian) and Lori Sloane (Data Manager) will provide an overview and current status of ORCID at UNM. 

We will address the following:

• What is (an) ORCID (iD)? 
• Why ORCID? 
• ORCID How tos
  • (How to) Get an ORCID
  • (How to) Add your Works
  • Where to use your ORCID iD
• ORCID@UNM: Challenges and Opportunities
• Pondering ORCID re: ChatGPT

A Zoom link to connect: https://hsc-unm.zoom.us/j/97014251150

Can't attend? Take a look at the ORCID LibGuide to learn more about how you can get started. For questions related to getting your ORCID iD set up and/or connected to UNM, check out the LibGuide or please contact: 

• Jonathan Pringle, HSLIC Scholarly Communications & Digital Librarian; jpringle@salud.unm.edu  

• Lori Sloane, HSLIC Data Manager; lsloane@salud.unm.edu

Have you been curious about how to export bibliographies from Zotero or how to find the best database to start your searches in? Well, thanks to our incredible Peer Information Partner, you now have quick tip videos to help you navigate these and other pressing questions! Be sure to check out the Health Sciences Library YouTube channel to find these and more videos.

In February, HSLIC sent a library satisfaction survey to a large sample of HSC students, faculty, and staff. We used a national survey tool called the Measuring Information Service Outcomes or MISO survey, to which 1,783 members of the HSC community responded. We heard that, for the most part, you are pleased with library services at the UNM HSC, with 89% responding they are overall satisfied with library services. 

Three themes emerged from a preliminary analysis of the data.

1. Student study spaces are in high demand

67% of all student respondents (75% of graduate students) reported using group study spaces in the library at least once a semester. While most student respondents are satisfied with library spaces, we received some comments about how we could improve.

We are working on improving the library space, and many of these improvements are included in an upcoming remodeling project of the main entry-level floor. With this project, we plan to provide a student lounge with a microwave and refrigerator, new sound-abated collaborative study areas, and a solution for library poster sessions that decrease noise and disruption in the building. Look for more details about this project towards the end of this year. 

2. HSC Community members are mostly satisfied with collection resources

Most HSC faculty, staff, and students indicated they were satisfied with HSLIC’s collections of journals and ebooks. Satisfaction with course reserves, interlibrary loan, and the library’s catalog was also very high, with over 80% in each of these areas. Still, some respondents commented they had trouble locating all the journal articles they needed. 

Since the last time we gave the MISO survey in 2019, HSLIC has added many new journals to our collection, including JAMA Cardiology, Journal of Clinical Oncology, and the Radiographics Legacy Collection, all of which were requested by our users. We also renewed our subscription to ClinicalKey, which includes the Clinics of North America. If you find a journal or other resource we don’t have, you can request it using our Request a Library Purchase form.  

3. There are information and scholarship topics many of you are interested in learning more about

In the MISO survey, we asked several questions about information and scholarship topics we’ve been thinking of offering workshops on. Your responses are helping us prioritize what we might like to offer in the future. 

Library faculty are analyzing the data to identify programs’ priorities for these topics and developing instruction to address these interests. We will collaborate with HSC faculty to incorporate topics into existing curricula and create open workshops to ensure a wide audience. Stay tuned for our new educational offerings!

We have made a lot of improvements based on data from the 2019 MISO survey, and we hope to continue that work based on your feedback this year. Thank you again to those of you who participated. If you did not take the survey or if you have more to say, we value your feedback at any time. Look for more about the MISO survey and how we’re using your feedback to improve HSLIC later this summer and fall! 

The annual Medical Library Association (MLA) conference is something HSLIC looks forward to participating in every year. The 2023 conference was held in Detroit from May 16^th to May 19^th. This year, several of HSLIC’s faculty members were present at the 2023 MLA conference. Below is a brief overview of the presentation topics given at the conference this year by HSLIC in collaboration with other libraries across the nation.

Lightning Talks

Kelleen Maluski: Collaborative Approaches to Improving MeSH

Melissa Rethlefsen: Establishing Organizational Identity: Collaboratively Creating a Library Mission and Values Statement

Papers

Kelleen Maluski, Alexis Ellsworth-Kopkowski: Subjected: Investigating the Impact of MeSH Terms on Underrepresented Groups

Lisa Acuff, David Lucero, Jonathan Pringle, Melissa Rethlefsen: Customizing Faculty Success to Showcase Librarian Work in an Academic Health Sciences Library

Immersion Sessions

Jonathan Eldredge: Understanding and Applying the Evidence-Base in Library and Information Science

Jonathan Eldredge: How to Work Effectively with Journal Editors and Peer Reviewers

Melissa Rethlefsen: Redefining Professionalism: Reflection on What Professionalism Looks Like in 2023

Congratulations to all of HSLIC’s presenters at the MLA 2023 Conference.

HSLIC was one of the top 5 performers in terms of faculty and staff participation for UNM Big Give. The Big Give, held in February, was UMM's inaugural giving day, which brought together UNM alumni, students, faculty, staff, and friends from across the globe to support a variety of units and programs around the University. Thanks to the team’s generosity, HSLIC has won a $2,500 grant from the UNM President’s Office. This funding will go towards the Executive Director's Fund for Excellence and will allow HSLIC to enhance student programs and help address other timely funding needs.

June is Alzheimer's & Brain Awareness Month!

What is Alzheimer's disease? 

Alzheimer’s disease (AD) is the most common form of dementia. It is a progressive disease involving thought, memory, and language. AD begins with mild memory loss, and it can affect the activities of daily living. Healthy People 2030 provides a brief overview of dementias, including AD. The goal is to improve the care and quality of life for people living with these conditions. 

What is the prevalence and outlook?

• In 2020, as many as 5.8 million Americans were living with AD.
• This is projected to triple to 14 million by 2060.
• Source: https://www.cdc.gov/aging/aginginfo/alzheimers.htm

AD in New Mexico:

• AD is a growing public health concern in New Mexico.
• In 2017, it was the 8th leading cause of death in the state.
• Source: https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/pressroom/states/newmexico/newmexico.htm

HSLIC Resources:

• Alzheimer Disease and Associated Disorders is a journal focused on these conditions. This journal is indexed in PubMed, and HSLIC has electronic access.
• Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine includes a chapter on AD. Harrison's is available through AccessMedicine.
• Search databases like PubMed or Embase for more information. Use the index term Alzheimer Disease, or try these variations as keywords: Alzheimer Dementia, Alzheimer Type Dementia (ATD), Alzheimer Fibrillary Change, Alzheimer Fibrillary Lesion, Alzheimer Sclerosis, Alzheimer Syndrome, or Late Onset Alzheimer Disease. You may use this worksheet to guide your search.

Thank you for joining HSLIC in recognizing Alzheimer's & Brain Awareness Month! 

At long last we are excited to formally announce that HSLIC is the recipient of $41,029 in funds from the Network of the National Library of Medicine's (NNLM) Region 4 (based out of the University of Utah's Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library) to conduct a series of Community Engagement Studios to better understand how the Native Health Database (NHD) can best facilitate collaborations between its key stakeholders.

A summary of the project as submitted in late 2022:

To meet the needs of multiple stakeholders, the NHD has necessarily evolved numerous times since its initial creation in the early 1990s. Just before New Mexico's move from NNLM Region 3 to Region 4 in May 2021, HSLIC was the successful recipient of Region 3 funding that supported migrating its former platform to one now served through Mukurtu CMS. This unique content management system provides numerous pathways for content creators, Indigenous communities, users, and providers to collaboratively—and respectfully—exchange information. To ensure it continues meeting the needs of its myriad stakeholders, this Region 4-supported project will engage the services of UNM’s Clinical and Translational Science Center (CTSC) and their Community Engagement Studios to understand how best to leverage the outreach tools housed in the new NHD that will be most beneficial for each group. We will invite equal representation from content creators, community members, users/learners, and providers (I.e., clinicians) to participate as community experts. The purpose of each studio is to provide critical feedback about strengths and areas of opportunities of/for the resource. This is especially well-timed as HSLIC—in concert with the Native Health Database Advisory Council—prepares to deploy a robust and wide-reaching outreach and engagement program for the NHD in 2023.

Our first Community Engagement Studio is anticipated to be held this Summer (as early as July), with the final Studio wrapping up in early 2024. Stay tuned as we work with our CTSC on the coordination of each Studio, and any subsequent information we learn from each one. 

We wish to thank our NNLM champions, both from Region 3 and Region 4, who have supported the Native Health Database in its goals to help improve health outcomes among our Indigenous populations here in New Mexico and across North America. In particular, we extend gratitude to our new colleagues in Region 4 for this incredible recent support. We look forward to future collaborations with NNLM as it pertains to our NHD and other programs offered through HSLIC. 

Though we know that Pride is truly a year long experience, here at HSLIC we are excited to be celebrating Pride Month 2023!

To help you celebrate, be sure to check out the book display in the lobby of the library and dive deep into the Pride Month Virtual Exhibit. Here, you can explore ebooks, articles, local resources, and more related to the LGBTQIA2+ community. This year's exhibit pays close attention to the experiences of our Trans and Drag communities. There are resources that review the healthcare needs and lived experiences of these communities from their perspectives. You can also utilize the Research Guide for LGBTQIA+ Health Resources to better understand the information and knowledge landscape pertaining to these communities. Lastly, be sure to check out events all across the HSC on the UNM HSC Pride page.