HSLIC News

I attended Medline search training at the National Library of Medicine in 1977. It was a heady experience to return to the Texas Medical Center Library and start conducting literature searches for researchers, clinicians, and students who, at the time, did not have direct access to databases.

How things have changed! Medline is freely available, and through HSLIC, you have access to many other databases on a wide variety of topics. Still, you need to construct a search strategy in order to retrieve articles. Most systems now have forms where you can type keywords and often get relevant information.

But, it is very helpful to know that the underlying effective searching of most databases is a basic understanding of Boolean ANDs and ORs – named for George Boole, an English mathematician, philosopher, and logician. ANDing terms indicate that you want to retrieve items that are in both your concepts: CPR AND survival retrieve articles that include both topics. ORing terms are more inclusive – you want retrieval from either concept.  CPR OR survival gives you articles that are about CPR as well as articles that are about survival, not necessarily related to CPR – a huge set!

Another important tip in searching databases is to use the “controlled” vocabulary/thesaurus if the system has one. A good example is Medline’s MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), which provides a standard for naming concepts. For example, in MeSH, cancer terms are included under the term Neoplasms and if you search the MeSH term Neoplasms you will get every way cancer is referred to in an article, whether it’s called a tumor, malignancy, cancer, neoplasm, etc.

Also, efficiently searching databases requires knowing the particular system’s syntax for phrases, truncation, etc. Check out HSLIC's Research Guides for Searching for more subject and database-specific information.

Searching databases has certainly become more user-friendly; underlying algorithms and AI make them more so, but maybe less transparent. HSLIC librarians are search experts and willing to help individuals with searches and teach classes on the basics. It’s what we do, so don’t hesitate to Ask a Librarian.

"Venn Diagram for Boolean Operator AND" by Ramaxeymiles is licensed under CC BY 2.0; "Venn Diagram for Boolean Operator OR" by Ramaxeymiles is licensed under CC BY 2.0.

It was so great to see so many students and staff participate in our Welcome Back Days events, which occurred on both our UNM and Rio Rancho Health Sciences campuses. Students were able to visit tables to learn about what various organizations on campus have to offer and pick up some free swag. We enjoyed meeting our students and being able to share what resources the library has to offer. Also, students were able to: create a button using our button maker, choose a sticker from a wide variety of different choices, and enter a drawing to win a free gift card. 

Remember HSLIC is: your library, anywhere, anytime. Please check out our website for all your library needs. We are here to help.

UNM Health Sciences Campus

         Rio Rancho Health Sciences Campus

In addition to our existing tech resources like the 3D printer, Anatomage table, and virtual reality, for the Fall semester, HSLIC has added a materials removal station and additional virtual reality headsets.

The UltiMaker PVA Removal Station is designed for the quick and easy removal of PVA supports from any 3D model printed with these water-soluble support structures. The removal station functions like a waterbath with motors to continually circulate the water, cutting down the processing time for PVA removal by up to 4 times compared to soaking the model in stationary water. This addition to HSLIC's 3D printing offerings allows for quicker, more accurate prototyping, in addition to more delicate prints that would not be possible using PLA or similar supports. See the photo (below, right) for an example of a model printed with PVA support structures. Find more details on this progesterone receptor DNA macromolecule print on our 3D Printing Guide.

We have also added three more Meta Quest 2 VR headsets, doubling our total to six! Our Quest 2 headsets come preloaded with programs to enhance your learning, like Organon VR Anatomy, Medical Assisting Clinical Suite, and Sharecare YOU VR, and programs to give you a break, like Vermillion, Nature Treks VR, and Guided Meditation VR. Quest 2 headsets are available for checkout at the library's front desk and have a 3-day loan period. You can use them on campus or take them home with you!

To learn more about all the tech initiatives, please contact us for an orientation or check out our Tech@HSLIC guide.

As part of our Strategic Plan to champion inclusivity, equity, and accessibility, HSLIC has constructed a Universal Restroom on our second floor! This project spanned 8 months from planning to completion. The gender neutral restroom will accommodate the various needs of all patrons that walk through HSLIC’s front doors, including push-button entry, an ADA lift, diaper changing station, hands-free dispensers, and ample space to ensure accessibility for all individuals.

"Providing a gender neutral, fully accessible restroom was one of my initial goals when coming to HSLIC in 2021," says Melissa Rethlefsen, Executive Director of HSLIC. "Having safe, accessible spaces is essential to our students, staff, and faculty, and I am thrilled that we were able to add this important space to HSLIC with additional support from UNM Health & Health Sciences." 

The New Mexico Health Historical Collection (Special Collections) documents the history of health in the state and the Southwest by collecting and preserving materials that include oral histories, organizational records, rare books, photographs, artifacts and a monograph collection. As the archivist for Special Collections, I am responsible for the selection and appraisal of records, arrangement and description of collections, reference work, and preservation administration.

Although researchers are free to contact me at any time during regular business hours (hsc-archivist@salud.unm.edu), starting today, I will be having regular archivist office hours every Tuesday afternoon from 1pm-3pm.  During these hours, researchers can have in-person or online consultations as well as set up future research appointments (we ask for at least five business days’ notice for research appointments). 

Possible office hours discussion topics include:

• Resources about the history of health in New Mexico
• Creating online class/topical research guides based on our holdings
• Presentations to classes about Special Collections
• Preservation advice
• Tips for doing archival research

For more information about Special Collections, please check out our guide “How to Use Special Collections.”