HSLIC News

Incorporating wellness into your daily routine can reduce stress and burnout while building a foundation for beneficial self-care practices. When you need a break between classes or from studying, visit the library's Wellness Room. Located on the third floor, the room is available without a reservation. It offers a variety of resources to help you unwind, recover from sensory overload, or incorporate restorative movement into your day.

• Comfy, sturdy chair
• Fold-out couch for reclining or laying down 
• Handheld fidget/sensory tools 
• Stretching tools- yoga mat, yoga blocks, foam roller, and massage peanut 
• Weighted blanket, weighted plush, and throw blankets 
• Soft lighting with soothing sound options 
• Meditation cushion and pillows  
• Prayer rugs and shawls 
• Height adjustable table on wheels and low, lightweight table 
• Coloring supplies 
• Mirror and tissue 
• Information about campus resources (food pantries, etc.)

Here are some helpful guidelines for the space to prepare you for a visit:

• Please remember that the Wellness Room is not a study space
• Be mindful of other students' need to use the room
• Do your part to help keep the space tidy- pick up pillows/blankets, dispose of trash, and wipe down surfaces 
• All supplies must remain in the room  

For more wellness resources, check out the updated Wellness Resources guide. If you have any questions or suggestions about the Wellness Room feel free to reach out to Varina Kosovich, HSLIC's Student Support Coordinator--the Wellness Room is your space and I'm always happy to hear feedback.   

Directions to the Wellness Room, #316: Enter the library through the front doors (second floor) and use the elevator or stairs to go up one floor (third floor). Take a right and proceed past the long study tables and study pods area. The Wellness Room is to the right, along the back wall and has a frosted glass door. 

We are pleased to inform you that the IT maintenance issue affecting off-campus access to HSLIC e-resources has been resolved by UNM Main Campus IT. Off-campus access has been fully restored, and you no longer need to use a VPN to access HSLIC e-resources.

To ensure a smooth experience, we recommend clearing your browser cache and history.

Questions? Go to Ask a Librarian.

We appreciate your patience and understanding during this time. If you encounter any further issues, please don't hesitate to reach out to us.

Graphic medicine is a genre that sits at the intersection of comics and healthcare. These works often tackle challenging subjects such as illness, caregiving, mental health, and the healthcare system itself, using the visual format of comics to make these topics more accessible and relatable. The combination of text and images allows for a rich exploration of experiences that can be difficult to convey through words alone.

Please take a look at HSLIC’s Graphic Medicine Collection! It can be found on the 4th Floor of HSLIC on the shelving facing Room 428.

Highlights of Our Collection

HSLIC’s Graphic Medicine Collection includes a variety of titles that cater to different interests and educational needs. Here are a few highlights:

Graphic Medicine by Erin La Cour (Editor); Anna Poletti (Editor); Craig Howes (Series edited by)

Call Number: WA 590 G766 2022 (Graphic Novels - 4th Floor)

ISBN: 9780824893330

Publication Date: 2022-08-31

 

Tangles by Sarah Leavitt

Call Number: WT 17 L439 2012 (Graphic Novels - 4th Floor)

ISBN: 9781616086398

Publication Date: 2012-05-01

 

The Bad Doctor by Ian Williams

Call Number: WZ 17 W723 2015 (Graphic Novels - 4th Floor)

ISBN: 9780271067544

Publication Date: 2015-03-15

 

 

 

The Body Factory by Héloïse Chochois; Kendra Boileau (Translator)

Call Number: WE 17 C545 2021 (Graphic Novels - 4th Floor)

ISBN: 9780271087061

Publication Date: 2021-05-03

 

 

 

Why Graphic Medicine?

Whether you're a student looking to deepen your understanding of patient experiences, a healthcare professional seeking new perspectives, or simply someone interested in the human side of medicine, there's something to learn from graphic medicine and from this collection. Visit HSLIC today!

 

If you have questions about this collection, please visit Ask A Librarian.

Join us for the upcoming session of AI Crossroads, where Leah Everitt, MSLS, will delve into the transformative impacts of Generative AI on higher education.

Date: Tuesday, August 27

Time: 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

Location: Via Zoom

Register Here

Why Attend?
In this insightful session, Leah Everitt, MSLS will provide an overview of Generative AI including advantages and limitations of Generative AI. The presentation will touch on emerging professional standards for healthcare professionals and researchers, shedding light on how Generative AI is reshaping these fields.  Leah will also discuss how Generative AI is impacting higher education and some strategies for modifying course assignments. There should be ample time for discussion and questions.

August 9th is National Book Lover's Day! When you work in a library, everyday is Book Lover's Day, but today we are taking some time to recognize some amazing books! These are some recommendations from members of our faculty and staff. 

Varina Kosovich

Bipolar Bear and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Health Insurance- Catalog link

This title is from our graphic medicine collection (check it out- collection located on the fourth floor!). It follows Theodore the bear as he attempts to navigate the health care system while also coping with bipolar disorder and the inequalities of a capitalist society. Supporting Theodore throughout his journey is a wonderful cast of characters, including a very sassy cat that I won’t spoil. This is at core a humorous and heartfelt book that you can either commiserate with or learn more about what folks go through to get health care.

Ingrid Hendrix

Disability Visibility : First-Person Stories from the Twenty-First Century- Catalog link

I really enjoyed this book because it gave me new perspectives on a variety of disabilities. I am familiar with mobility disabilities and have some knowledge of others, but reading first hand experiences of living with a disability, the joys and the struggles, was both eye opening and fascinating.  I am also happy that HSLIC has this in their collection, not only for myself, but so that others might enjoy and learn from this book  as well.  For anyone working in healthcare, this book has the potential to expand their understanding of disability and how people experience it.

Sally Bowler-Hill

Kathy Mondragon, who worked at HSLIC from 1975 until her retirement in 2010 as Library Operations Manager in Resources, Archives and Discovery, turned me on to Earlene Fowler’s Benni Harper mystery series shortly after I arrived at HSLIC. The series follows Benni Harper, a recently widowed quilter and folk art museum Director, though a series of murder mysteries in a trendy small town in California. Kathy knew I had worked in the arts and was a quilter, and she thought the series might be interesting to me. I thought it was super sweet for Kathy, who was an avid reader, to recommend a book series as a way of reaching out to me when I was new at the library. The Benni Harper Mysteries are a fun series to read on a cold day. You can learn more about it at Earlene Fowler’s website: https://www.earlenefowler.com/books.

Special Collections contains dozens of postcards related to the history of health and health care in New Mexico. These postcards are a mix of real-photo and mechanically-reproduced images – primarily from the early twentieth century. Many of the postcards in Special Collections feature hospitals and sanatoriums and were printed as promotional items. Most of these postcards do not have written messages though a few do.

Here are some examples from our holdings: