HSLIC News

Are you a healthcare professional looking to enhance your clinical research skills? Join us for our upcoming workshop, " Integrating Zotero with Your Writing: From Research to Publication."

This course is designed to empower healthcare professionals with essential skills in reference management. Participants will learn to efficiently use Zotero throughout their research process, from initial literature searches to final manuscript preparation. The course covers Zotero's core functionalities and advanced features, emphasizing practical application in academic writing and research collaboration.

In this hands-on workshop, you'll learn how to:

• Install and configure Zotero, including the Zotero Connector for web browsers

• Efficiently collect and save references from web pages and databases using Zotero

• Organize references by creating and managing collections, subcollections, and tags

• Insert citations and generate bibliographies in Microsoft Word and other word processors

• Manage PDFs within Zotero, including annotation and full-text search capabilities

• Utilize advanced Zotero features, including sync, collaboration tools, custom citation styles, and ZoteroBib for quick online bibliographies

Workshop Details:
Date: March 24, 2025
Time: 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Location: Online via Zoom

Don't miss this opportunity to supercharge your research skills! Space is limited to 25 participants, so register early to secure your spot.
To register, visit: https://goto.unm.edu/hslicevents

For more information about using Zotero, check out our LibGuide:
https://libguides.health.unm.edu/zotero

We look forward to seeing you at the workshop!

Almost sixty digitized pamphlets and trade cards advertising patent medicines and food items from the George and Ruth Eisenberg collection of pediatric antiques are now available to view online via New Mexico Digital Collections. Dr. George Eisenberg was a pediatrician who later moved to New Mexico and joined the UNM School of Medicine in 1968. He and his wife Ruth stared collecting artifacts and images related to pediatrics during the 1940s.

The patent medicine and food product trade cards in the Eisenberg collection date from the late nineteenth to the early twentieth centuries. The collection includes advertisements for products such as Burdock Blood Bitters, Dr. Jayne's Tonic, and the notorious Mrs. Winslow's Soothing Syrup, which was marketed for infants and children and sometimes included deadly amounts of morphine and alcohol. 

The term patent medicine described pre-packaged medicines sold without a doctor’s prescription. They became very popular by the mid-nineteenth century. Patent medicines were often heavily marketed, faced little to no regulation, and could be lucrative businesses. Unfortunately, sometimes these “medicines” contained dangerous ingredients. 

Some regulation of patent medicines (now known as over-the counter medications) began in the U.S. in 1906 with the Pure Food and Drugs Act.  Additional laws were passed in 1912 and in 1938 with the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act to help protect consumers. 

To view pediatric artifacts from the Eisenberg collection, please visit the exhibit on the main floor of the Domenici Center. 

We’re excited to share great news for researchers in microbiology! Our institution is now part of a Subscribe to Open (S2O) agreement with the Microbiology Society. This model guarantees UNM-Albuquerque affiliated authors free Open Access (OA) publishing to the Journal of General Virology and the Journal of Medical Microbiology. This means there will be no article processing fees (APCs) if the article is accepted for publication.

What is Subscribe to Open (S2O)?

S2O is an OA publishing model that keeps journals subscription-based but makes content open access when enough institutions continue their subscriptions. This means no APCs for authors at institutions with an agreement if the journal reaches its subscription goal.

Benefits of S2O

• Published content can be accessed by anyone, anywhere
• Uncapped OA publishing
• Read access to journal content
• Supports wider transition to OA

How to Publish Under S2O

For more details on publishing OA via an instructional agreement, see the Microbiology Society’s Author Guide. Authors simply need to submit as the corresponding or co-corresponding author, using their institutional email address, in the relevant title.

More Information

For more information about OA publisher agreements at UNM, see https://libguides.health.unm.edu/openaccess/oa_agreements_unm.