LibGuides: Indigenous Health Information in New Mexico: Resources for Researching

Effective Search Strategies

Starting a search for a specific population, especially one that has been marginalized, can be difficult. Use our custom search string to find information discussing Indigenous communities.

Indigenous Community Terminology Search Starter
Indigenous Peoples - Health Sciences Search Filters
A series of filters for focused searching in Medline, EMBASE, and CINAHL.

Some search strategies that might be pertinent would include:

Not sure how to string a search together with commands, advance your search with subject headings, or when it might be appropriate to use Google instead of academic databases? See Creating an Effective Search for more information.

Indigenous Health, Equity, and Social Justice Resources

Native Voices: Native People's Concepts of Health and Illness Watch interviews with Native people telling how the wellness of individuals and communities has been affected by epidemics, government policies, and the inhibition of Native culture. Hear contemporary stories of renaissance, recovery, and self-determination.
Coalition to Stop Violence Against Native Women "o stop violence against Native women and children by advocating for social change in our communities. The CSVANW takes ownership and responsibility for the future of Native women and children by providing support, education, and advocacy using our strengths, power and unity to create violence-free communities." Has multiple types of resources and perspectives.
Urban Indian Health Institute Decolonizing data, for Indigenous people, by Indigenous people.
Tribal Treaties Database This database includes agreements between tribal nations and the United States (1778-1886) published in the 1904 work “Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties” (Volume II), compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler. As you view the treaties in this database, editorial margin notes are included. Links to Kappler’s original text and digitized treaties held at the National Archives can also be found throughout the site. Finally, a recently updated, comprehensive index complements this work. This database is in high demand by Indigenous people, researchers, journalists, attorneys, legislators, educators and others of both Native and non-Native origins. Updates to this evolving database will continue into early 2022 as we build contemporary connections to present-day tribes.

Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian

Now in its 27th Edition (2021), this 1435-page volume provides the public with the most recent information pertaining to Indigenous communities in both the United States and Canada. Divided into four sections, this volume:

1. Contains source listings (including addresses, phone numbers, etc.) of Indigenous communities as well as related organizations and agencies connected to Indigenous peoples.
2. Provides a similar index solely related to Canadian listings.
3. Details a bibliography for approximately 10,000 in-print books, broken down by subject category.
4. Provides approximately 3,000 listings/biographical sketches of prominent Indigenous people and non-Indigenous allies through their work.

Reference encyclopedia of the American Indian by Barry Klein
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2021

Resources

Native Health Database This link opens in a new window Contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OMHRC This link opens in a new window Library catalog provides access to over 60,000 documents, books, journal articles, reports, and media related to the health status of racial and ethnic minority populations within the United States and its territories. In addition, users can access consumer health materials in more than 40 languages.

IPortal (Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool) "The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond. Anyone can use the freely available materials in the iPortal but some resources are licensed and may only be available from your own library." To access resources from our library click on the Google Scholar link and then make sure your settings show "Find full Text at UNM." There is a section specific to health, though many of the sections could be seen as useful for health sciences research.

PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also, access Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to build your searches.
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing, allied health, and consumer health journal literature. Brought to you by funds from Library Bond 2
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window More focused than a general Google search and includes links to UNM full text subscriptions. Retrieves journal articles, books, and gray literature from a variety of online sources.

All Indigenous Health Databases

American Indian and Alaska Native Health This link opens in a new window Information about the health and well-being of American Indians. Includes health topics, tribal information, statistics & reports, and programs & services.

Indian Health Service (IHS) The IHS works to "to raise the physical, mental, social, and spiritual health of American Indians and Alaska Natives to the highest level." They provide patient resources, provider resources, and services for patients and the community.
UNMH Interpreter Language Services The University of New Mexico Hospital offers Interpreter Language Services with an expanded service for Navajo (Diné) language needs. While not strictly for researching, this can be an important part of your understanding your health care options.

Pimatisiwin A web-based peer-reviewed journal of Aboriginal and Indigenous health. Previously entitled Pimatisiwin: A Journal of Aboriginal and Indigenous Community Health.
American Indian and Alaskan Native Mental Health Research This link will take you to our catalog record for the journal "American Indian and Alaskan Native Mental Health".
The IHS Primary Care Provider The purpose of The IHS Primary Care Provider is to share timely information relevant to the clinical practice of Indian Health
Indigenous News & Media Dalhousie University Libraries in Canada put together this list of Indigenous news and media outlets. The focus is primarily international.

Indian Health Service (IHS) The IHS works to "to raise the physical, mental, social, and spiritual health of American Indians and Alaska Natives to the highest level." They provide patient resources, provider resources, and services for patients and the community.
Native American Patient Care Resources Created by the UNM Office for Continuous Professional Learning

Indigenous Health Information in New Mexico

Effective Search Strategies

Some search strategies that might be pertinent would include:

Indigenous Health, Equity, and Social Justice Resources

Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian

Resources

Need Help? Contact Us!