Skip to main content

Finding Full Text

Introduction

The best place to start your search for full text is from the HSLIC homepage.

 

Off Campus Access

Check mark icon.

 Quick Tip:

When you are off campus, always start your search from the library homepage.

This is to guarantee you will authenticate with your HSC or UNM NetID and avoid hitting a paywall.

Use the library to find and access full text articles

Icon of a magnifying glass over a page.

Find full text articles with the following steps.

Start your search from the library's homepage
Login when prompted.  This will help you avoid a paywall later in your research.

worldcat search box

Search a database (i.e. PubMed)

Option 1

1. Find @ UNM UNM Find Article ButtonButton that says "find at UNM"
You will be redirected to the library catalog.  This is the most reliable way to see if HSLIC has what you're looking for.  

2. Library Catalog Button that says "view full text"
Look for the "View Full Text" button to access an electronic copy or see if we have the journal in print.

Option 2

1. Publisher Links Button for Full Text article from Elsevier
PDFs of the article should be available either directly from your search results or via open access or the publisher's website.

 

Avoiding Paywalls

unlocked padlock on computer screen

Asked to pay for an article?
The library subscribes so you don't have to pay for access. 

If you are asked to pay for the article or sign up for an account, try this first:

  • Sign in on the library's website or connect via VPN to access electronic subscriptions
  • Use the View Full Text or Find @ UNM Link

 

Interlibrary Loan

If HSLIC doesn't have full text access to the article you're looking for, we may be able to request it from another library. 

Expert Help

If you're running into broken links or experience access issues we are here to help.

Call (505)272-2311 or
Email HSC-Remote@salud.unm.edu

The email inbox is monitored throughout the working day.  The phone is answered during the library's open hours.

Need Help? Contact Us!

Creative Commons

Feel free to make a copy or re-use this page as long as you credit UNM HSLIC.

Creative Commons icon image.

This guide was created by a Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center staff member and is licensed by the Health Science Library and Informatics Center of the University of New Mexico under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-Share Alike 4.0 International License.