LibGuides: *Libguides Tool Box: Citing & Citation Styles

APA (American Psychological Association)

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: WZ345 P976 2020 Reference

APA Official Website & Style Guide This is the APA website and will have various useful tools, including "Quick Answers" on issues related to formatting in-text citations and bibliographies.
APA Style Blog Experts on APA style answer questions on more challenging formats for APA citations.
Purdue Owl APA Please note that there is a link to a citation generator on this page that is not free or recommended. If you are looking for software to generate citations we suggest utilizing our Citation Management & Organizing Research page on this guide.
Commonly Cited APA Examples through Fairfield University A great resource for all of those perplexing APA questions. Gives generic and specific examples to follow for both in-text and bibliographies, with side by side comparisons.
APA Manual 7th edition: The most notable changes

AMA (American Medical Association)

AMA Manual of Style by Cheryl Iverson (Editor); Stacy Christiansen (Editor); Annette Flanagin (Editor); JAMA and Archives Journals Staff (Editor)
Call Number: WZ 345 AM3 2007 (Reference - 2nd Floor)

AMA Manual of Style - Online AMA Manual of Style requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.
Purdue Owl AMA Please note that there is a link to a citation generator on this page that is not free or recommended. If you are looking for software to generate citations we suggest utilizing our Citation Management & Organizing Research page on this guide.
AMA Style Citation Guide (University of Puget Sound)

Vancouver

Additional Citation Styles

The Chicago Manual of Style
Call Number: E-Book & WZ 345 C43 2010 (Reference - 2nd Floor)

Chicago Manual of Style Official Website
Purdue Owl Chicago
Please note that there is a link to a citation generator on this page that is not free or recommended. If you are looking for software to generate citations we suggest utilizing our Citation Management & Organizing Research page on this guide.
Commonly Cited Chicago Author-Date Examples through Fairfield University
Commonly Cited Chicago Notes-Bibliography Examples through Fairfield University

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Zimmerman: LB2369 .M52 2016

Purdue Owl MLA
Please note that there is a link to a citation generator on this page that is not free or recommended. If you are looking for software to generate citations we suggest utilizing our Citation Management & Organizing Research page on this guide.
Commonly Cited MLA Examples through Fairfield University

Author Help: Useful Resources

DOI Finder An online system for looking up DOI (Digital Object Identifiers) for articles.
JAMA: Instructions for Authors

Quick Tip: Many databases have the capability to generate citations for you. Look for icons with the terms "cite" or "citation" next to them, but always be sure to copy edit the citation as these are not always accurate.

Learn More

Cite Right by Charles Lipson
Call Number: Zimmerman PN171.F56 L55 2011

Healthcare Writing: Purdue Online Writing Lab "These OWL resources will help you write in medical, healthcare, and/or scientific contexts. This section includes original research articles and samples of the healthcare writing produced for a more general, lay-population audience."
Nurse Author & Editor An excellent source for information about publishing. You need to register (but it's free) and you will get email alerts about new issues.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): Academic Writing
more...less...
Please note that there is a link to a citation generator on this page that is not free or recommended. If you are looking for software to generate citations we suggest utilizing our Citation Management & Organizing Research page on this guide.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): Common Writing Assignments These OWL resources review specific types of writing assignments, such as annotated bibliographies, essays, research papers, and more.
more...less...
Please note that there is a link to a citation generator on this page that is not free or recommended. If you are looking for software to generate citations we suggest utilizing our Citation Management & Organizing Research page on this guide.