Google, and more appropriately Google Scholar, can be valid places to search for articles and organizations. However, subject specific databases will have more advanced search options and articles. Here are some key differences between databases and Google.
| Library Databases | Google Scholar | ||
| Types of Information You Can Find |
|
|
|
| Credibility & Review |
|
|
|
| Discovery |
|
|
|
You can set up Google Scholar to see if you have full text access to articles provided by UNM libraries. Go to settings, search for University of New Mexico in "Library Links" and select it. Once this has been done you will see the "Check Full Text @ UNM" option in your results. A PDF with instructions is also listed below.
Google, and more appropriately Google Scholar, can be valid places to search for articles and organizations. However, subject specific databases will have more advanced search options and articles. Here are some key differences between databases and Google.
| Library Databases | Google Scholar | ||
| Types of Information You Can Find |
|
|
|
| Credibility & Review |
|
|
|
| Discovery |
|
|
|
You can set up Google Scholar to see if you have full text access to articles provided by UNM libraries. Go to settings, search for University of New Mexico in "Library Links" and select it. Once this has been done you will see the "Check Full Text @ UNM" option in your results. A PDF with instructions is also listed below.
Need help using PubMed? See our PubMed Guide linked below. It walks you through beginning a search, narrowing your results, saving & keeping track of your results, and more.
Search PubMed for citations and abstracts from MEDLINE and other life science journals. Includes full-text links for UNM.
Search PubMed for citations and abstracts from MEDLINE and other life science journals. Includes full-text links for UNM.
Off-campus users log in here to access full text.
Search UpToDate® for evidence based, peer reviewed medical information.
The Turning Research Into Practice (TRIP) Database is a search tool employing evidence based medicine principles.
Q: Why use databases? Why can't I just search with Google?
A: Because the web isn't inherently reliable. Anyone can post anything. That's fine for some things, like purchasing something, or looking for information about an organization, but it's not good for finding accurate, verifiable information on academic topics.
Q: What's the difference between using databases and using the catalog to find journals?
A: The library catalog is a great tool, but Academic Databases aren't designed to just find journals; they allow you to search for particular articles within journals using a tool very similar to a web search engine. That makes finding high quality sources relatively easy.
Q: That's all fine, but my instructor says I can only use so many electronic sources, and I've already reached my limit. Doesn't that mean no databases?
A: Many of the articles are stored electronically in databases, or linked from them, but those articles are just electronic versions of articles that have been published in print. Usually instructors mean web pages, or similar sources when they impose limits on digital sources. There are even some born digital articles in online journals that your instructor may be willing to be flexible about. When in doubt, ask, but most instructors want you to use Academic Databases.
Q: What if I need more help?
A: Contact a research librarian; we can show you what you need to know!