The 1,148 posters in this collection, held by the Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library History and Special Collections, come from forty-four countries. They illustrate attempts by a variety of 'institutions' to educate and warn their citizens about AIDS and offer advice and information in visual form about the still deadly autoimmune disease. Hosted by the UCLA Digital Library Program.
This collection features approximately 4500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto. There are ninety-five individual titles represented, ranging in date from 1522 to 1867.
IHM provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the National Library of Medicine. The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century. This database contains both copyrighted and public use images. It is the users’ responsibility to determine compliance with the law.
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship. The collections of include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings.
A collection of small, colorfully illustrated advertising cards touting a particular medicine and its many cures. The illustrations often have little to do with any of the ailments purported to be cured. They were pure advertising and very collectible. The era of patent medicine began to unravel in the U.S. with the passage of the first Pure Food and Drug Act in 1906. Hosted by the UCLA Digital Library Collections.
The William Osler Photo Collection chronicles Sir William's life from his childhood in the Canadian wilderness to his medical education at McGill University, his innovative days as a doctor and teacher in Canada and the United States, and the final years of his life in Oxford, England. Hosted by McGill University Library.