LibGuides: Images and Videos: Health Sciences

Subject Areas

Access image resources by subject.

Access Pharmacy This link opens in a new window
A collection of pharmacy e-books, such as DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy and Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies. Also includes reference tools such drug calculators, vidoes, case studies, and exam/board prep tools.

Catalog of Clinical Images
This site is a visual educational resource dedicated to providing pictures that are representative of common and uncommon physical exam findings. Discussions of pathophysiology, diagnostics, and treatment are not included. Hosted by USCD.
Genome Image Gallery
Genome Sciences images from the Department of Energy Human Genome Project. Search by topic or browse by categories including Human Chromosome Gallery, Basic Genomics, and more.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL) from the CDC "Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. We welcome public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages."
National Cancer Institute: Visuals Online
Over 2,000 photos, diagrams, and drawings that can be used to help communicate meaning, describe concepts, and tell stories of biomedical, science, and patient-care topics. Most of the images are in the public domain.
NIGMS Image and Video Gallery
Searchable collection of scientific photos, illustrations and videos. Permission is granted to use these products for educational, news media or research purposes, provided the source for each is credited. The material in this collection may not be used to promote or endorse commercial products or services.
Specimens (pathology) on flickr
Gross and microscopic images of pathology specimens taken by Ed Uthman, a practicing pathologist in Houston, TX. Contains over 930 images, all licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license.
University of Utah's Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
HEAL, housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library, contains over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. Specific collections in HEAL include neuroscience, hematology, histology, and dermatology, among other subjects.

VisualDX This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VisualDx is a medical image database of dermatologic, infectious, and drug-induced diseases. Search for specific diseases or build differential diagnoses with the Differential Builder. The mobile app includes DermExpert - an AI tool to build a differential of a skin lesion.

Wellcome Collection
Wellcome Collection is one of the world's richest and most unique collections. The online database includes over 140,000 images from the clinical and biomedical sciences.
The Whole Brain Atlas
Information resource for central nervous system imaging which integrates clinical information with magnetic resonance (MR), x-ray computed tomography (CT), and nuclear medicine images. Harvard Medical School.
Wikimedia Commons Images
A database of over 25 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.

Images and Videos

Image from CDC PHIL

Subject Areas

Need Help? Contact Us!