On February 2nd, during American Heart Month, everyone across the country wears the color red to raise awareness in hopes to help eradicate heart disease and stroke in millions of women all over the nation.
The UNM Health Sciences Wellness program encourages everyone in the UNM Health and Health Sciences community to participate. They will be distributing red pins and red wrist bands at multiple locations, including on the 3rd floor of the library, starting on January 30th.
What is AccessPhysiotherapy?
AccessPhysiotherapy, provided by McGraw Hill, is an online resource for physical therapy students, educators, and practitioners. It includes textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) review materials, and more.
What’s new for students?
What’s new for faculty?
Other Useful Resources
Located under the Quick Reference Tab, the “Outcome Measures Toolbox” provides tables and figures for common measures and scales used in physical therapy practice. Examples include the DASH Questionnaire, Home Safety Checklist, Modified Gait Abnormality Rating Scale, Somatosensory Amplification Rating Scale, The Simple Shoulder Test, and Timed “Up and Go” Test. The measures are organized by category, and most measures reference the original publication associated with a scale.
More Information
If you have any questions about AccessPhysiotherapy, please contact us at via Ask A Librarian.
You are invited to join us on Thursday, February 1st, from 10 A.M - 11 A.M. for a virtual seminar by Melissa Rethlefsen, MSLS, AHIP
Topic: Systematic Review Search Strategies Are Poorly Reported and Not Reproducible.
Description: In this seminar, Prof. Rethlefsen will describe the process and outcomes of a research project examining the reproducibility of 100 randomly selected systematic reviews indexed in MEDLINE in November 2021. Published systematic reviews were analyzed for their compliance with six basic reporting items from PRISMA-S, an extension to the Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic reviews and Meta-Analyses statement focused on literature searches. All database searches in the 100 systematic reviews were reproduced, and the number of results compared between the original searches and the reproduced searches. Only one systematic review was fully reproducible, which indicates that published systematic reviews may have hidden risk of bias. Lessons regarding the complexities of systematic review searches and reporting will be discussed.
Learning Objectives:
Please click here to register for this event.
Noah Chavez is a Student Assistant in the Public Services unit who has worked at the library for almost three months. He is a Pharmacy major. After graduating from UNM, he is still unsure of what his future plans may be.
According to Noah, his greatest academic accomplishment was getting accepted into Pharmacy school. When working at the library, Noah enjoys talking to students and helping them out.
In addition to his academics and working at the library, Noah also enjoys rock climbing, both in New Mexico and in other places, and regularly goes to the Stone Age Climbing Gym. When Noah is not rock climbing, you may see him on the tennis courts.
Noah has one dog and one cat, who are both very friendly and enjoy people. He also enjoys a wide variety of New Mexican food.
Resources for Faculty
As the spring semester begins, we have a number of resources that can help faculty with class content and learner success. Faculty wear many hats; researcher, clinician, educator, advisor, and administrator. This post will focus mainly on the educator role. If there is a specific resource you want to know more about or a question you have for us, please send us your questions at the Ask A Librarian page or through our Chat. We are also happy to be a part of your curricula and provide instruction to students on discovery, evaluation and management of information.
Any of our Access resources (Access Medicine, Access Pharmacy, Access Physiotherapy, Access Advanced Practice Nursing) allow you to select images from either the textbooks or the multimedia menu and create a PowerPoint slide with attribution you can add to a slide deck. There are also complete PowerPoints for book chapters that you can find under the For Instructors tab. You can also find cases and quiz questions.
ClinicalKey also provides a Presentation Maker which allows you to add saved images from the database to create your own presentations. To access this resource you must create a free account. Click here to learn more about ClinicalKey Presentation Maker.
MedEdPortal is a great resource for educators. It is an open access journal of peer-reviewed stand-alone, complete teaching or learning modules on topics related to health sciences. Its primary focus is medicine, but it covers such a wide range of topics, there is information for other disciplines as well. Topics range from patient safety, anti-racism and climate and health. To download materials, you need to set up an account. To explore other Open Educational Resource platforms, see HSLIC’s Guide on OER’s.
Keeping up with the literature and finding full text is challenging, but we have some solutions. You can set up alerts to automatically run searches and send you results. (Set up an account in the database of choice first.) Browzine is another way to stay current. It is a resource of full text journals that allows you to select your favorite journal, add it to your ‘bookshelf’ and get updates when there are new issues. You can save individual articles to your bookshelf as well and read them whenever you have a free moment. Set up information can be found here: https://libguides.health.unm.edu/c.php?g=1206413&p=8823251
Nomad is a plug in for your browser that works with select databases, such as PubMed to provide quick access to full text articles. Installation is quick and easy.
Zotero is a free file management program – think virtual filing cabinet – that helps organize your articles. A few useful features are renaming PDFs and automatically adding citation data, automatically searching for PDF’s and generating a bibliography for class reading lists.
Directing students to our Anatomage table for anatomy refreshers or our virtual reality headsets loaded with anatomy, physiology and wellness apps can be a great support for students outside the classroom. More information can be found here: https://libguides.health.unm.edu/tech-at-hslic
Returning to research after a long absence? New to using college libraries? Just feel you could use a refresher on what the library has to offer? This class is for you. In this session, we will give you an overview of the library’s physical and virtual resources, spaces, and services. You’ll learn about databases, research guides, study rooms, the VR lab, and more!
Registration is required to attend, and all registrants will be sent a Zoom link before the class. If you have questions, please reach out to Deirdre Caparoso, Outreach and Community Engagement Librarian.
Title: Library 101
Date: Wednesday, January 24, 2024
Time: 12:00 pm
Location: Zoom (Zoom link will be sent prior to the workshop)
Registration: https://goto.unm.edu/hslicevents
HSLIC’s new ejournal subscriptions encompass a variety of health sciences subjects, including neurology and palliative care, adolescent behavior and pharmacology, metabolism, and
population health and health disparities. The titles can be accessed anytime, anywhere via the below links or by searching in our instance of WorldCat Discovery or PubMed.
New Journal Titles
Journal of Child and Adolescent Psychopharmacology
Journal of Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities
Your Input Matters!
These titles were selected based on a combination of a citation analysis from UNM Health Sciences Center authors over the last five years and your direct requests. We welcome your feedback and suggestions for additional resources that can enhance our collection. Please fill out the Request a Library Purchase Form to request resources not already in HSLIC’s collection.
Thank you to everyone who has already made recommendations and offered suggestions. We appreciate your dedication to the health sciences community and appreciate your support. For other resources added to HSLIC’s collection, see the New Materials Guide.
HSLIC is thrilled to welcome our newest faculty member, Danielle Maurici-Pollock, as our Research Data Specialist. Danielle is a distinguished expert in the field of information science and research data management and joins us from the Simmons University School of Library and Information Science in Boston, MA. Prior to her time at Simmons, Danielle was engaged at Sandia National Laboratories. This return to New Mexico represents both a homecoming and a new opportunity for Danielle.
Danielle is uniquely qualified to lead HSLIC’s initiatives in the realm of research data. She has a keen interest in research data management, innovation adoption, and working with diverse communities. Her appointment comes at a critical time as HSLIC aims to develop and expand our research data services.
She has an impressive record of scholarly publications and presentations on data-related topics, including scientific data-sharing, the role of open scientific data in emerging research communities, libraries' adoption of research data services, and the adoption of RDM curricula in Master of Information Science programs.
Danielle’s scholarly work also extends to information technology adoption in health care and tribal libraries, the development of digital infrastructure, information technology instruction, design justice, and library services to underserved populations. Danielle received her Master's degree in Information Science from the University of Missouri and a Ph.D. in Information and Communication from the University of Tennessee.
In addition to her passion for research and innovation, Danielle enjoys reading, cooking and baking, spending time with her two cats, and is looking forward to once more becoming an active participant in Albuquerque’s local science fiction community.
Please join us in welcoming our newest faculty member. We are excited about the journey ahead and the opportunities for growth and discovery she brings to HSLIC and the UNM HSC.
