HSLIC News

Happy 135th birthday, UNM! 

To celebrate Lobo Day and UNM HSC history, here are some images from the Institutional photograph collection, HHC 321, in HSLIC Special Collections.

Special Collections helps document the history of the UNM Health Sciences Center via collecting and preserving institutional records and publications. 

Med II Building (former 7Up bottling plant).

School of Medicine Basic Medical Sciences building.

Lifeguard helicopter.

Aerial view of campus, circa 1967.

Students with electron microscope, December 1969.

HSLIC’s Justice Equity and Inclusion Committee recently organized a two-part training from TNET, Transgender/Nonbinary Education and Trainings. Stacy Fatemi (they/them) and Charlie Alexander (they/them) led the Transgender Cultural Fluency training. In the first part, library staff were guided through the big four concepts of sex, gender, gender expression, and orientation. In the second part, Stacy and Charlie explained the basics of gender transition and ended with tips on how to support trans and nonbinary people.  

Deirdre Caparoso, HSLIC’s Outreach and Community Engagement Librarian, attended the two-hour training and said, “Charlie and Stacy fearlessly used their personal stories to provide a multidimensional introduction to trans and nonbinary experiences. Hopefully, more seek out similar training opportunities as education could potentially open the door to greater respect and acceptance.”   

In addition to in-person trainings, TNET offers a variety of workshops through Zoom. They are based here in Albuquerque. To book a session with TNET and to purchase training materials visit their website.  

This month marks the 40th anniversary of HSLIC Special Collections. 

Special Collections, originally known as the New Mexico Medical History Program and Medical Center Archives, originated from Dr. Jake Spidle’s 1982 oral history project about New Mexico physicians and UNM HSLIC director Erika Love's idea to start documenting the history of health and health care in New Mexico.

HSLIC’s first archivist, Janet Johnson, started part time in February 1984 and then became a full-time staff member in April 1984.

As the archives manager, Janet was tasked with processing collections, physically organizing the archives’ holdings, acquiring new materials (particularly items that documented the early history of UNM’s Medical Center), outreach activities, and preservation.

According to the library's 1984/1985 annual report, early archives projects included:

• Adding 31 oral histories conducted by Dr. Spidle to the oral history collection
• Establishing a New Mexico/Southwest collection of 200 monographs and 60 serials that were transferred from the general collection
• Creating 178 subject files on various topics about health in New Mexico
• Acquiring document and photograph collections about the UNM Medical Center and New Mexico health from 25 donors

Outreach activities from 1984-1985 included an exhibit about the history program’s progress and goals at the New Mexico Medical Society’s annual meeting, and a presentation to UNM Medical Center administrative coordinators about the archive and the need to transfer important Medical Center records and publications to it. Janet also created a brochure about the archives. 

Happy anniversary Special Collections!

UNM School of Medicine's first class, 1964. Institutional photograph collection, HHC 321

      Did you know that February is National Wise Health Care Consumer Month?                   

What is National Wise Health Care Consumer Month?  National Wise Health Care Consumer Month is a month dedicated to raising awareness and educating the public about how to make wise choices regarding their health care and become a better-informed consumer.  The American Institute for Preventive Medicine established this national observance because they realized that the American public struggles to make informed decisions about their health care.

The American Institute for Preventive Medicine recommends that consumers know the following when making health care decisions https://healthylife.com/wise/Wise_Health_Care_Consumer.pdf

•  Know how to choose a health care plan
•  Choose their care providers carefully and thoughtfully 
• Communicate with their health care providers
• Are comfortable asking questions, sharing concerns and negotiating costs   
• Analyze and evaluate sources of health information
• Practice preventive care 
• Know when to treat themselves at home  
• Understand their prescriptions and take them as directed 

Health literacy is an aspect of wise health care.  The Health Sciences Library & Informatics Center offers Health Literacy workshops to interested faculty, students and HSC staff.  Our next workshop will take place on April 3, 2024.  If you are interested in attending this workshop, you can register at the link listed below.

 HSLIC Health Literacy Workshop, Health Literacy: Plain Language, Teach-Back and More, April 3, 2024, noon until 1:00 pm   https://goto.unm.edu/hslicevents

Your kindness might make the world of difference to somebody! This week, make an extra effort to show you care by: 

😊 donating books, food, clothes, or money to your favorite charity,

😊 volunteering at your local shelter,

😊 giving a compliment to your friends, family, or even strangers, and

😊 being kind to yourself – Remember, self-compassion is just as important and essential! 

Even the smallest gesture can go a long way. The sole purpose of this week is to focus on the positivity that surrounds us every day! BE KIND UNM!

National Condom Week highlights the significance of condoms in sexual health. In addition to providing protection, condoms contribute to responsible and consensual relationships, making this week an important reminder to prioritize our well-being through safe practices.

National Condom Week was first organized in 1978 by the students at the University of California in Berkeley and has become a favorite Valentine’s Day event on college campuses worldwide.

Condoms act as a barrier, preventing the transmission of sexually transmitted infections (STIs). So this week emphasizes the importance of consistent condom use for reducing the risk of common infections. They are also an effective contraception method, acting as a barrier to sperm and reducing the chances of unplanned pregnancies. They play a crucial role in managing reproductive health responsibly.

National Condom Week encourages open communication between partners about sexual health and the use of condoms. Discussing these matters fosters trust and ensures both individuals are on the same page regarding protection and contraception.

Condoms are widely accessible in various sizes, textures, and materials. This week underscores the importance of making reliable protection available to everyone, regardless of gender, sexual orientation, or relationship status. We also have condoms available in the wellness corner located on the third floor at HSLIC.

National Condom Week is an opportunity to empower individuals to make informed choices about their sexual health. By promoting the use of condoms, encouraging open communication, and dispelling stigmas, we contribute to a society that values responsible and consensual relationships. Embrace this week as a chance to prioritize well-being, promote awareness, and ensure everyone has access to the tools they need for a healthy and fulfilling intimate life.

National Condom Week. (2024) Retrieved from https://www.nationaldaycalendar.com/

AccessAPN is specifically designed for advanced practice nursing education. It includes textbooks, case studies, videos, and quizzes. Some titles included are:

INSPIREd Healthcare by Billie Lynn Allard

ISBN: 9781948057318

Publication Date: 2020-03-01

 

 

 

Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses by Cynthia Save

ISBN: 9781948057936

Publication Date: 2021

It also includes information that is relevant to anyone studying or practicing in the health sciences:

Crucial Conversations

ISBN: 9781260474190

Publication Date: 2022

New Features

One of the standout features of AccessAPN is its focus on the specialized fields within advanced practice nursing. One new feature is the APN Case of the Month. Check out the Psych/Mental Health Case of the Month on Mania.

There is also information specifically for instructors including PowerPoints from selected textbooks that can be integrated into lectures. Faculty will need to create a free account in AccessAPN or any of HSLIC’s other Access databases to access these resources.

For Access

AccessAPN provides comprehensive, up-to-date resources tailored to the needs of advanced practice nursing. Click on any of the above links and login to access the resources and/or click below to access the full database:

If you have any questions, please contact Ask a Librarian.

Work has begun on HSLIC’s entry-level (2nd floor) renovation project!

The construction crew has set up a trash chute to a dumpster next to the building’s loading dock. They also have begun installing barrier walls around the portion of the 2nd floor they are working on first. The crew also began demolition in the computer classroom. 

The goal of this project is to provide a more useable space, including:

- A kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, and sink for student use

- Updated study spaces and student computer lab

- New library service desk with additional storage for large items students like to check out, such as sporting goods

- Additional technology space for virtual reality, 3D printing, virtual anatomy table, and more

- Flexible space for easy reconfiguration 

For more information about the renovation and to view conceptual drawings, visit our online information guide!

Tim Mey, Division Head for Public Services, is leaving HSLIC February 2nd. Tim will be the new Head of Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine Library. Tim joined HSLIC in 2014 as a User Support Analyst 2, supporting IT and library services. In his current role he oversees the library’s Public Services unit, which includes general reference/information assistance, circulation, Interlibrary Loan, study rooms, student computing, and emerging technologies. Tim’s knowledge of reference services and deep experience with IT has been an asset to HSLIC, as we established the library’s virtual reality, 3D printing, and other technology services.

Kristin Proctor, Resource Sharing Coordinator, will serve as the Interim Division Head.  

If you have questions you normally direct to Tim, please email Public Services at reflib@salud.unm.edu.

Good luck, Tim!

Black History Month is celebrated in February - a time dedicated to recognizing and honoring the contributions and achievements of African Americans throughout history. For health sciences students and faculty, this month presents an opportunity to delve into the rich legacy of Black professionals and trailblazers in the field of health and medicine.  

HSLIC’s collection of eVideos provides a gateway to understanding the contributions of Black professionals in health sciences. These resources range from documentaries on historical figures to lectures and interviews with contemporary leaders.

Power to Heal: Medicare and the Civil Rights Revolution – This film tells a poignant chapter in the historic struggle to secure equal and adequate access to healthcare for all Americans. Central to the story is the tale of how a new national program, Medicare, was used to mount a dramatic, coordinated effort that desegregated thousands of hospitals across the country in a matter of months. Click below and log in to view.

Other Selected Titles: 

I am Somebody - Live film coverage of a successful hospital workers' strike in Charleston, South Carolina, in 1969 shows the crucial help of Rev. Ralph Abernathy and Coretta Scott King in organizing demonstrations in support of the workers, mostly Black women. Includes interviews with city officials and strikers. 

Mind/Game: The Unquiet Journey of Chamique Holdsclaw - Mind/Game intimately chronicles Holdsclaw's athletic accomplishments and personal setbacks, and her decision--despite public stigma-- to become an outspoken mental health advocate. Still, she would face dramatic, unexpected challenges to her own recovery.  

Making Mothers - This film profiles the Family Health and Birth Center (FHBC) in Northeast D.C., which serves the area's primarily African American community and which is likewise staffed by African American health-care professionals. Lisa, a midwife, who offers expectant mothers the option of a peaceful and sensitive home-birth experience, and Joan, a breastfeeding peer counselor, who passes on to others her experience as a teenage mother, explain how and why they got involved in maternal health care and offer their views on the need for greater diversity in the field. 

Worlds Apart. Robert Phillips’ Story - Part 2 of a series on cross-cultural healthcare and how cultural barriers affect patient-provider communication and other aspects of care for patients of diverse backgrounds. Robert Phillips, a health policy analyst who is African-American, believes he's likely to wait twice as long as a white patient for the kidney transplant he needs. He's looking for a new nephrologist someone who will be more sensitive to his concerns. 

Beyond Black History Month 

While Black History Month is a focused time to celebrate and learn, it's important to integrate these learnings throughout the year. We encourage faculty and students to continue exploring these resources, engage in conversations, and participate in events that promote diversity and inclusivity in health sciences. 

Black History Month is a time for reflection, education, and inspiration. HSLIC’s collection of eVideos is just a starting point for exploring the rich contributions of African Americans to health sciences. Let's use this month to deepen our understanding and commit to an ongoing journey of learning and growth.

For more information about these eVideos, please contact us via Ask A Librarian.

* Descriptions of titles were taken from WorldCat.org