HSLIC News

Please join us for our exhibit closing reception and talk on Tuesday, July 9, 5pm-7pm in HSLIC Room 428. 

Dr. Laura Nellums, UNM Professor of Global Health, will present A World on the Move: Global Health Equity in the Context of Migration.

According to Dr. Nellums, "This presentation will focus on migration and health. It will encompass drivers and patterns of migration, social determinants of health in the context of migration, the interrelationship between immigration policy, health policy, migrant and public health outcomes, and recommendations for how to advance health equity in migrant communities."

Dr. Nellums obtained her BA in Spanish and International Relations from Wellesley College, followed by her MSc in Medical Anthropology (University of Oxford), and PhD in Public Health (King’s College London). Her research is broadly focused on improving inequities in access to care and health outcomes in excluded populations. Dr. Nellums' particular expertise is in migrant, refugee, and ethnic minority health, and she has carried out mixed-methods research in infectious diseases, mental health, stressful life events, maternal and child health, and health policy and services. 

This event is in conjunction with the National Library of Medicine's traveling exhibit Making a World of Difference: Stories about Global Health. The exhibit will be on display on the Library's 4th floor from June 3 - July 13, 2024.

The reception and exhibit are free and open to the public. No registration is required.

Refreshments will be served.

It may seem like the temporary barrier walls covering most of HSLIC’s entry-level (2nd floor) have been up forever, but renovation work is progressing at a steady pace.

The construction crew demolished the old ceiling and vestibule doors. Work on framing the new lobby ceiling is currently underway. The updated lobby will include acoustical clouds with “Y” shaped LED lighting, covering the open ceiling. The updated vestibule will have updated ADA-controlled swing doors, similar to the library front entry.

In early June, crews removed the ceramic tile in the entryway, and plan to pull up the remaining carpet in the next couple of weeks. The updated lobby will include commercial grade, gray-scale laminate flooring, which will also reduce noise through the central stairwell to the upper floors of the lobby.

The construction crew also completed installing electrical and sheetrock in the new galley kitchen space and are currently framing a new emergency exit on the Southeast corner of the floor, which is located closer to the emergency stairwell and will open up the space in that corner. 

Plans for adding new network cabling for wired and wireless internet access have been finalized and put out to bid. The project team is also working with vendors to design and install the new visualization wall in the Southwest corner of the 2nd floor.

For more information about the renovation and to view conceptual drawings, visit our online information guide!

As an academic health sciences library, we are committed to providing our students, faculty, and researchers with the best resources available to support their educational and professional needs. In recognition of the critical role dental hygiene plays in maintaining overall health, we would like to highlight some of our resources on dentistry. Here are a few of the resources available at HSLIC:

Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist

ISBN: 1284256006

Publication Date: 2023

 

 

 

Foundations of periodontics for the dental hygienist

ISBN: 9781284261066

Publication Date: 2024

 

 

 

Anatomy of Orofacial Structures by Richard W. Brand; Donald E. Isselhard; Amy Smith

Call Number: WU 101 B817 2024

ISBN: 9780323796996

Publication Date: 2023-05-01

 

 

More new books on Dentistry and related subjects can be found on our New Materials Guide.

We also provide access to a number of journals such as Journal of Dental Hygiene, International Journal of Dental Hygiene, and Advances in Dental Research as well as databases like:

 

PubMed This link opens in a new window

• This link opens in a new window

PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also, access Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to build your searches.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window

• This link opens in a new window

Covers nursing, allied health, and consumer health journal literature.

Brought to you by funds from Library Bond 2

These highlighted resources are core resources listed as part of accreditation. If you have any questions about using or accessing these resources, please contact Ask A Librarian. If you would like request that the library purchase a resource, please fill out the Request a Library Purchase Form.

As part of a HSLIC seed funding grant awarded last fall, Special Collections was able to hire Gnanitha Garikipati as a temporary Digital Resources Assistant. Gnanitha worked with Abbie Olivas, Archivist, to create metadata and upload content into our two main online access platforms: New Mexico Digital Collections and the UNM Digital Repository. The goal of the project was to make materials that were already digitized, or born-digital, discoverable and more accessible to researchers.  

During the spring semester, Gnanitha and Abbie added 40 new collections (over 380 images) to New Mexico Digital Collections and 90 items to the Digital Repository. 

Examples of materials added include:

• UNM Health Sciences Center films
• New Mexico Medical Society early minutes and newsletters
• HSC Connects newsletters 
• New Mexico Insulin Pump photograph collection
• Lovelace Foundation records 
• UNM HSC institutional photograph collection
• Reginal School of Nursing photograph collection 

Please check out these great historical resources - now online! 

Image from the Regina School of Nursing, St. Joseph's Hospital photograph collection, PH 003. 

Visit your library as we celebrate Pride Month in style!

Explore our book display on the third floor of the library featuring LGBTQIA+ health and history topics. Get creative and make a button to show your pride or share your pronouns. We will also be collecting donations for Casa Q, the only LGBTQ+ specific youth homeless shelter in New Mexico. QR codes for monetary donations and their Amazon wish list will be next to the book display.

This year's Pride Month Research Guide collects information and resources about book bans, queer literature, and how to advocate for the freedom to read. There's also LGBTQIA+ book recommendations from our wonderful HSLIC librarians and most are available through the Albuquerque Public Library.   

Lastly, join us for a discussion about the Queer Liberation Library (QLL) on Wednesday, June 5th from 11-12. After launching on October 23rd, 2023, QLL’s membership has grown rapidly from about 3,000 members in the first few months, to over 40,000 now. Organizers from the library will share share how they brought this project into the world, how the QLL is an online extension of the queer history of creating our own spaces, and how as a queer library they are celebrating queer joy. Register here: https://libcal.health.unm.edu/event/12456185   

Additional Resources 

LGBTQIA+ Ebook List: a selection available through the library's catalog. Clinical resources and more. 

LGBTQIA+ Health Resources Guide: patient support resources, data and statistics sources, research resources, and more. 

UNM HSC Pride Month: a list of Pride Month events at UNM HSC.