LibGuides: LGBTQIA+ Health Resources: Resources for Researching

Keep in Mind

“In the case of most library databases in the United States, Eurocentrism will dominate the canons of knowledge. Knowledge management reflects the same social biases that exist within society, because human beings are at the epicenter of information curation.”

-Noble, S. U. (2018). Algorithms of oppression: How search engines reinforce racism (pp. xv, 229 pages). New York University Press.

Academic Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also, access Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to build your searches.
- This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Articles on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts database which focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1952-presen

GenderWatch Scholarly and popular publications on gender and the evolution of gender roles. Access through University Libraries.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing, allied health, and consumer health journal literature. Brought to you by funds from Library Bond 2
- This link opens in a new window
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides acccess to research on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1980-present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database to search for journal articles from a wide range of academic disciplines. Brought to you by funds from GO Bond 2
- This link opens in a new window

CDC: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health Resources from the CDC (Centers for Disease Control) that cover patient resources, reports, places to find care, and more. Resources are broken out by community and health topics.
HHS: Health & Well-being for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Americans "HHS (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services) works to ensure that LGBT Americans, families, and communities receive equal access to health services by providing enhanced resources for LGBT health issues; developing better information regarding LGBT health needs; and working to close the LGBT health disparities gap that currently exists." Here you can find their reports and trainings.
NIH: Sexual & Gender Minority Research Office This is the National Institutes of Health (NIH) page for the Sexual & Gender Minority Research Office. Here you can find their reports and other links to resources.
Movement Advancement Project Founded in 2006, the Movement Advancement Project is an independent think tank that provides rigorous research, insight and analysis that help speed equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people.
The Pride Study Research "The PRIDE Study is the first large-scale, long-term national health study of people who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer (LGBTQ+), or another sexual or gender minority." You can find releases on their research on this page.
Fenway Institute Current LGBTQ+ research at the Fenway Institue

Morality and Science: Global Origins of Modern Bioethics, 1957-1995 This link opens in a new window Translated journal reports and articles cover ethics and the life sciences during the second half of the 20th century. Subset of Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1995.

Historical Statistics of the United States Quantitative information with narrative, which places the statistics in historical context. The text is written by recognized expert in the field. Topics include social, economic, migration, health, crime, Confederate States of America, among others. Coverage: 1850-2000. Access through University Libraries.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender Primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, such as the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis. UNM's holdings include the collections on "LGBTQ History & Culture Since 1940." Access through University Libraries.

HHS: Health & Well-being for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Americans "HHS (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services) works to ensure that LGBT Americans, families, and communities receive equal access to health services by providing enhanced resources for LGBT health issues; developing better information regarding LGBT health needs; and working to close the LGBT health disparities gap that currently exists." Here you can find their reports and trainings.

Organizations

UNM Resources

LGBTQ Collaborative
UNM LGBTQ Resource Center
Albuquerque Area Resources by the UNM LGBTQ Resource Center List of resources for LGBTQIA+ people in Albuquerque.

New Mexico Resources

Transgender Resource Center of New Mexico Services include help with ID documents, Albuquerque Drop-In Center, statewide support groups (now online), and food access.
Equality New Mexico New Mexico LGBTQ advocacy organization. Website includes recent legislative victories for LGBTQ rights.

Need Help? Contact Us!

Suggest a Resource

Not seeing a resource you think would be useful on our Research Guide? Let us know!