LibGuides: LGBTQIA+ Health Resources: Data &amp; Statistics

More than a Number

When conducting research and reviewing data and statistics it is important to again remember that the LGBTQIA+ umbrella encompasses many different communities and individuals with their own experiences and needs. Use these resources to assist in finding the numbers but also keep in mind the importance of where those numbers are coming from, understanding context, and continuing to analyze and evaluate.

Resources

LGBTData Website designed by a population health expert with tips on how to collect data as well as actual data for research purposes
All HSLIC Data & Statistics Databases Go here to find all of the databases the Health Sciences Library subscribe to for data and statistics.
Health Statistics and Demographics Guide Use this guide to find an overview of how to search for data and statistics and also more general resources to use.

Health Nutrition and Population Statistics This link opens in a new window Key health, nutrition, and population statistics from international sources. Data availablility differs by year for each variable. Coverage: 1960-present.
ICPSR (data sets) This link opens in a new window The Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research (ICPSR) provides research datasets covering a wide range of social science areas. Each study's dataset provides documentation (e.g. codebook), and a bibliography of published articles that used the data. Data offered in many formats. Must create an ICPSR account to download data. Coverage: 1700s-present.

GSS Data Explorer "Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society. GSS Data Explorer, from NORC at the University of Chicago, makes it easier than ever to use the data collected by the GSS." Search the variables for "gay" or "lesbian" to find information or go to "View Trends" to see questions by subject, including gender and sexuality.

Health Nutrition and Population Statistics This link opens in a new window Key health, nutrition, and population statistics from international sources. Data availablility differs by year for each variable. Coverage: 1960-present.
ICPSR (data sets) This link opens in a new window The Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research (ICPSR) provides research datasets covering a wide range of social science areas. Each study's dataset provides documentation (e.g. codebook), and a bibliography of published articles that used the data. Data offered in many formats. Must create an ICPSR account to download data. Coverage: 1700s-present.

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health (CDC) From the Center for Disease Control this page has resources for health disparities and reports specific to the LGBT community.
Methods and Measurement in Sexual & Gender Minority Health Research: Data Sources (NIH) "The data sources highlighted here may be useful for those interested in conducting secondary data analyses related to the health of SGM populations. The tables are adapted from work compiled by NORC@University of Chicago, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Office of Minority Health, the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality, and the National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine (NASEM) Consensus Study Report on Understanding the Well-Being of LGBTQI+ Populations."
Movement Advancement Project Founded in 2006, the Movement Advancement Project is an independent think tank that provides rigorous research, insight and analysis that help speed equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people.
U.S. Transgender Survey (USTS) "In 2016, NCTE released the report of the U.S. Transgender Survey (USTS), a second iteration of the National Transgender Discrimination Survey (NTDS), that measures how things are now and how they have changed over the past five years since the release of the NTDS. With almost 28,000 respondents, the USTS is the largest survey ever devoted to the lives and experiences of trans people."

NM Department of Health Office of Health Equity Here you can find reports and resources from the New Mexico Department of Health that outline many social determinants of health, including "sexual minorities."
Movement Advancement Project Founded in 2006, the Movement Advancement Project is an independent think tank that provides rigorous research, insight and analysis that help speed equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people.
NM YRSS (Youth Risk & Resiliency Survey) "The New Mexico Youth Risk and Resiliency Survey (YRRS) is a tool to assess the health risk behaviors and resiliency (protective) factors of New Mexico high school and middle school students." With sections for sexual minority status and more.

Historical Statistics of the United States Quantitative information with narrative, which places the statistics in historical context. The text is written by recognized expert in the field. Topics include social, economic, migration, health, crime, Confederate States of America, among others. Coverage: 1850-2000. Access through University Libraries.

Need Help? Contact Us!

The Pride Study

Are you a member of the LGBTQIA+ community? Do you want to help with long term research on the health of the LGBTQIA+ community? Then take a look at The Pride Study being run by Stanford Medical.

The Pride Study Research "The PRIDE Study is the first large-scale, long-term national health study of people who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer (LGBTQ+), or another sexual or gender minority." You can find releases on their research on this page.

Suggest a Resource

Not seeing a resource you think would be useful on our Research Guide? Let us know!