LibGuides: Health Statistics and Demographics: Home

Finding Statistics & Data

Health statistics can be difficult to locate and often the numbers you are looking for can be hidden in a longer report or publication. Use this page as a jumping off point to find necessary information, but always feel free to ask a librarian for help as well!

Quick Tip: Often following the citations and information in health sciences literature, for instance journal articles, can help you locate necessary resources.

All HSLIC Data & Statistics Databases Go here to find all of the databases the Health Sciences Library subscribe to for data and statistics.

Health Services Research Information Central

National Information Center on Health Services Research & Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
A list of research resources from the National Information Center on Health Services and Health Care Technology. This list includes links to tutorials, health care data standards, digital collections, and a variety of other research-related tools.

Health Data & Statistics by Geographic Region

Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data from WHO Data, reports, country statistics, and more that have been released from the World Health Organization.
Organizations by Topic from MedlinePlus MedlinePlus curates this list of organizations by health topic with links to the organizations' page. These pages can be a great place to find data and statistics on those topics.
U.S. Census Bureau: International Data Base "The International Data Base (IDB) provides demographic measures of over 200 countries and areas of the world. he IDB includes a comprehensive set of indicators such as total population, population by age and sex, and demographic characteristics such as fertility, mortality, and migration."
United Nations: National Statistical Offices "The United Nations Statistics Division, in its mission to promote the development of national statistical systems, has developed a central repository of country profiles of statistical systems. The country profiles include, among others, a brief history of the country's statistical system, legal basis, the statistical programme and much more."
United Nations: Population Division "The Population Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs conducts demographic research, supports intergovernmental processes at the United Nations in the area of population and development, and assists countries in developing their capacity to produce and analyse population data and information....he Division publishes datasets on the world’s population and analyzes global demographic trends."
The World Bank: Health, Nutrition and Population Data here cover health systems, disease prevention, reproductive health, nutrition, and population dynamics. Data are from the United Nations Population Division, World Health Organization, United Nation's Children's Fund, the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS, and various other sources.
All HSLIC Data & Statistics Databases Go here to find all of the databases the Health Sciences Library subscribe to for data and statistics.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ): Evidence Based Reports Evidence based tools and research that are compiled to keep healthcare providers better informed on various health topics from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. This page links directly to their data, reports, and even data infographics.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) From the CDC this resource composes health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventative services.
CDC: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Data & Statistics Access reports, data, and statistics from the CDC. Includes tools such as the National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHHSTP) Atlas, Health Data Interactive, Vital Signs, and more.
CDC: Data and Statistics on Disability and Health (DHDS) Data and Statistics on Disability and Health from the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) where you can find state profiles, disability data sets, healthcare costs, and more.
CDC Fast Stats A to Z quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance - including mental health, drug use, alcohol use, and more.
ChildStats.gov Summary information on many issues surrounding children and children's health in the United States. Choose "data source descriptions" for more information about and links to original data. Includes interactive tools, surveys, publications, statistics, and more.
Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health The mission of the Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (DRC) is to advance the effective use of public data on the status of children's health and health-related services for children, youth and families in the United States. this page provides access to their surveys and data.
HDPulse Data Portal "Health statistics, charts, and maps by data topic across the health disparities continuum" in the United States. You can specify state as well.
HealthData.gov this site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible with the ability to search across their datasets - with sections specifically for Hospitals and Medicare.
National Center for Health Statistics This is a good starting point for finding health statistics. Information is at a national level, but there are links to more specific information at the bottom of each topic page. FastStats are a good quick start.
Research Data Gov ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies
U.S. Census Bureau Portal to U.S. Census data, including people and households, business and industry, geography and maps. Includes links to special topics and economic indicators.
All HSLIC Data & Statistics Databases Go here to find all of the databases the Health Sciences Library subscribe to for data and statistics.

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps: New Mexico Resources "These data sources provide information for communities looking for more local data. These sources provide either unique, local data; more information on demographic breakdowns (e.g., age, sex, race/ethnicity); or data for sub-county geographic units (e.g., cities, zipcodes or school districts)." Some of the resources will already be listed on this guide, but not all of them.
HDPulse Data Portal "Health statistics, charts, and maps by data topic across the health disparities continuum" in the United States. You can specify state as well.
The New Mexico Community Data Collaborative "The NMCDC is a public data collective with contributions from of over 200 volunteers, organizations, and individual efforts to distill public health data that impacts people’s lives into understandable and relatable maps. "
New Mexico Department of Health: Health Data New Mexico health data documents consolidated that you can browse. With sections for latest and popular health data and a Health Data A-Z Index.
New Mexico Indicator-Based Information System (NM-IBIS) NM-IBIS is a source for data and information on New Mexico's priority public health issues, from the New Mexico Department of Health
Rural Health Information Hub (RHIhub): New Mexico A guide on New Mexico from the Rural Health Information Hub. It includes overview information, resources, organizations, and more that can help in collecting data, statistics, and demographics. "The Rural Health Information Hub is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)."
All HSLIC Data & Statistics Databases Go here to find all of the databases the Health Sciences Library subscribe to for data and statistics.

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Regulations, guidance, education, outreach tools, research, statistics, and data all from the Health and Human Services Department.
Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (CAHPS) Survey data from the Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (CAHPS) which ask consumers and patients to report on and evaluate their experiences with healthcare.
Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health The mission of the Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (DRC) is to advance the effective use of public data on the status of children's health and health-related services for children, youth and families in the United States. this page provides access to their surveys and data.
HealthData.gov this site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible with the ability to search across their datasets - with sections specifically for Hospitals and Medicare.
Health Insurance from the U.S. Census Bureau The Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys: the Current Populations Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC), the American Community Survey (ACS), and the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP). Find tables, figures, highlights, and more here.
Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) Data Warehouse The Health resources and Services Administration (HRSA), as agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary federal agency for improving health and achieving equity through access to quality services, a skilled health workforce, and innovative programs. You can see the data ans statistics they have collected on these issues here.

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) A family of health care databases and related software tools and products developed through a Federal-State-Industry partnership and sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
HealthData.gov this site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible with the ability to search across their datasets - with sections specifically for Hospitals and Medicare.
Medicare Hospital Compare Data Hospital Compare has information about the quality of care at over 4,000 Medicare-certified hospitals across the country.
National Hospital Discharge Survey The National Hospital Discharge Survey (NHDS), which was conducted annually from 1965-2010, was a national probability survey designed to meet the need for information on characteristics of inpatients discharged from non-federal short-stay hospitals in the United States.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Data from SAMHSA that helps them assess the impact of the changes to US healthcare systems and identify and address behavioral health disparities.

Division Head; Education, Consultation & Reference Services

Ingrid Hendrix

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center
Room 216e

505-272-0638

Subjects: Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Orthopaedics & Rehabilitation

Suggest a Resource

Not seeing a resource you think would be useful on our Research Guide? Let us know!

Creative Commons

Feel free to make a copy or re-use this page as long as you credit UNM HSLIC.

This guide was created by a Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center staff member and is licensed by the Health Science Library and Informatics Center of the University of New Mexico under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-Share Alike 4.0 International License.