LibGuides: LGBTQIA+ Health Resources: Patient Support Resources

Overview Health Information

Stock photography from The Gender Spectrum Collection.

CDC: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health Resources from the CDC (Centers for Disease Control) that cover patient resources, reports, places to find care, and more. Resources are broken out by community and health topics.
Medline Plus: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Health A consumer health information database (in English and Spanish), it contains patient education handouts (many translated into a variety of foreign languages), interactive online tutorials on diseases and procedures, drug information, and much more.
Transgender Health From the Hormone Health Network. This page has information on sexual health, hormone therapy, and gender-affirming surgery. This website also has a database of Endocrinologists (doctors who specialize in hormone therapy) under "Find An Endocrinologist."

Health Care and Other Services by Region

Agora Crisis Center Mental health crisis hotline and chat service. Website also includes comprehensive list of resources in the Albuquerque area.
Albuquerque Area Resources by the UNM LGBTQ Resource Center List of resources for LGBTQIA+ people in Albuquerque.
First Nations Community HealthSource Offer comprehensive healthcare including LGBTQ-friendly care, with a focus on serving American Indian communities and SE Albuquerque. From website: "First Nations Community HealthSource (FNCH) is committed to providing a culturally competent, comprehensive health service delivery system integrating traditional values to enhance the physical, spiritual, emotional and mental well-being of American Indians and other underserved populations residing in Albuquerque and the surrounding tribes."
NM AIDS Services Nonprofit organization offering support services to people living with HIV and AIDS. Includes a food pantry, housing support, and community events.
PFLAG (Parents, Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays) New Mexico Offer support to LGBT people and their families and participate in legislative advocacy for LGBT rights. Albuquerque chapter of the national organization PFLAG.
Rapid HIV Testing List of Rapid HIV Testing sites at UNM and in Albuquerque.
SAGE Albuquerque: Advocacy & Services for LGBT Elders Organization that organizes social gatherings for older LGBT+ adults and cultural competency trainings for Senior Service providers.
Southwest Care Center Originally founded as an HIV/AIDS clinic for the LGBT+ community, and now offer comprehensive health services across the lifespan.
Trans-Friendly NM Provider List Best to search with zip code. Database of trans-friendly providers across NM including primary care, behavioral health, and other support services.
Transgender Resource Center of New Mexico Services include help with ID documents, Albuquerque Drop-In Center, statewide support groups (now online), and food access.
UNM Truman Health Services HIV/AIDS & Hep C services. Also offer comprehensive social and medical services for transgender and/or gender non-conforming people regardless of HIV status.

Agora Crisis Center Mental health crisis hotline and chat service. Website also includes comprehensive list of resources in the Albuquerque area.
Heal NM: Bright Spaces, Welcome Places Created by Health Equity Alliance for LGBTQ+ New Mexicans. "Bright Spaces, Welcome Places was born from a community need for queer- and trans-affirming mental health care in New Mexico. Bright Spaces is a directory of mental health agencies that have adopted 3 or more recommended policies to create a welcoming and affirming environment for LGBTQ+ people."
New Mexico Resource and Referral Guide for LGBTQ Students Though created with students in mind many of the resources listed on this guide can be utilized by all ages. "The New Mexico Resource and Referral Guide for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Questioning/Queer (LGBTQ) Students wasdevelopedin collaboration with New Mexico Youth Education on Sexual Health (YESH) Advisory Council. The guide is intended to be a resourcefor teachers and school staff to help refer middle and high school students to services in New Mexico. The contents of this guidewere developed under a grant from the Health and Human Services Department, Centers for Disease Control (CDC). However, the contents do not necessarily represent the policiesof the HHS/CDC, and are not anendorsement by the Federal Government or the New Mexico Public Education Department."
Trans-Friendly NM Provider List Best to search with zip code. Database of trans-friendly providers across NM including primary care, behavioral health, and other support services.
Transgender Resource Center of New Mexico Services include help with ID documents, Albuquerque Drop-In Center, statewide support groups (now online), and food access.

GLMA Provider Directory Free directory of LGBT-friendly providers. It is important to note that providers self-identify as LGBT-friendly and there is no formal screening process to be added to the directory. GLMA is the "world's largest and oldest association of LGBTQ healthcare professionals."
Planned Parenthood Information and services on sexual and reproductive health. Website includes resources on gender and sexual orientation.
WPATH Provider Directory World Professional Association for Transgender Health international trans-friendly provider directory.

Patient Resources by Topic

Advocacy Tools for LGBT Older Adults A list of advocacy tools by The National Resource Center on LGBT Aging.
A Guide for LGBT People Choosing Health Care Plans A comprehensive guide by Strong Families. Includes topics such as cost, coverage, questions to ask when deciding on a plan, and how to report discrimination.
Equality New Mexico New Mexico LGBTQ advocacy organization. Website includes recent legislative victories for LGBTQ rights.
Human Rights Campaign - LGBT Health The HRC is a national LGBTQIA+ advocacy organization. This part of their website offers information on a variety of health topics including articles on knowing your rights, mental health, and how COVID-19 has impacted the LGBTQIA community.
Lambda Legal - Health Care Rights National advocacy and policy organization. This website has updates on legal issues impacting LGBTQIA+ people. Also includes a resource library with publications on a variety of topics including guides for intersex-affirming and transgender-affirming care, how to deal with healthcare discrimination, and "Know Your Rights" guides.
The Q Card Project The Q Card is a simple and easy-to-use communication tool designed to empower LGBTQ youth to become actively engaged in their health, and to support the people who provide their care. With input from queer youth, healthcare providers, and youth advocates, we've created a tool that we believe can change the way that queer youth receive care, and how their providers deliver it.
SAGE: Advocacy & Services for LGBT Elders National advocacy organization addressing issues specific to older adults in LGBTQIA+ communities. Website includes information on housing, HIV/AIDS, coping with social isolation, caregiving, and more.
SAGE Albuquerque: Advocacy & Services for LGBT Elders Organization that organizes social gatherings for older LGBT+ adults and cultural competency trainings for Senior Service providers.
Transgender Law Center - Health Advocacy Includes practical health-related information for transgender people including topics such as insurance coverage, life planning documents, and links to outside resources.
The Trevor Project Organization devoted to supporting LGBTQIA+ young people. Includes resources on mental health, coming out, social media, and allyship.

Healthcare Bill of Rights PDF Resource created by LGBT HealthLink. List of healthcare rights on topics such as "Right to Affirmation of Gender Identity" and "Right to Visitation by Anyone You Choose."

Birth Control Across the Gender Spectrum Created by the Reproductive Health Access Project. Includes birth control considerations for people taking hormones.
Gay and Bisexual Men's Health CDC page that includes information on HIV, Hepatitis, and other sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). Also includes information on mental health and substance use.
HIV and Transgender People Information from CDC. Includes data on HIV prevalence among transgender people and information on testing, prevention, and terminology.
HIVinfo "Resource providing the latest federally approved treatment guidelines for health care professionals, as well as information on treatment, prevention, and research."
Planned Parenthood Information and services on sexual and reproductive health. Website includes resources on gender and sexual orientation.
Sex and sexual health for trans men and trans masculine people Resources for trans men and trans masculine people on healthy sex, safer sex, and sexual health including HIV and STDs.
Sex and sexual health for trans women and trans feminine people Resources for trans women and trans feminine people on healthy sex, safer sex, and sexual health including HIV and STDs.
Sexual Health for Transgender Persons Information from the Hormone Health Network (The Endocrine Society). General information on sexual and reproductive health for transgender people.
New Mexico HIV Guide Includes information on HIV, Hepatitis, and STD services and providers.

Common Bond New Mexico "The mission of the Common Bond New Mexico Foundation is to strengthen the LGBTQ+ community of New Mexico through programs and partnerships that serve at risk sectors of the LGBTQ+ population."
Know Your Rights: A Guide for Trans and Gender Nonconforming Students From ACLU and GLSEN this is a guide for LGBTQIA+ youth to understand their rights in school.
New Mexico Resource and Referral Guide for LGBTQ Students Though created with students in mind many of the resources listed on this guide can be utilized by all ages. "The New Mexico Resource and Referral Guide for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Questioning/Queer (LGBTQ) Students wasdevelopedin collaboration with New Mexico Youth Education on Sexual Health (YESH) Advisory Council. The guide is intended to be a resourcefor teachers and school staff to help refer middle and high school students to services in New Mexico. The contents of this guidewere developed under a grant from the Health and Human Services Department, Centers for Disease Control (CDC). However, the contents do not necessarily represent the policiesof the HHS/CDC, and are not anendorsement by the Federal Government or the New Mexico Public Education Department."
NM Genders and Sexualities Alliance Network Network and resources for LGBTQIA+ youth in New Mexico.
Trans Student Educational Resources (TSER) "Trans Student Educational Resources is a youth-led organization dedicated to transforming the educational environment for trans and gender non-conforming students through advocacy and empowerment. Founded in 2011, it is the only national organization led by trans youth." They have resources and infographics to help with education.
TEEN'MPower "We are a group of LGBTQ+ youth and allies who come together and make memories. We support one another and recognize one another for who we are, not who the world wants us to be. We are truly safe to be ourselves, and the staff support us in what we want to do."

Health Concerns for Gay and Lesbian Teens From the American Academy of Pediatrics. Includes information on sexual health, substance use, and mental health.
New Mexico Resource and Referral Guide for LGBTQ Students Though created with students in mind many of the resources listed on this guide can be utilized by all ages. "The New Mexico Resource and Referral Guide for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Questioning/Queer (LGBTQ) Students wasdevelopedin collaboration with New Mexico Youth Education on Sexual Health (YESH) Advisory Council. The guide is intended to be a resourcefor teachers and school staff to help refer middle and high school students to services in New Mexico. The contents of this guidewere developed under a grant from the Health and Human Services Department, Centers for Disease Control (CDC). However, the contents do not necessarily represent the policiesof the HHS/CDC, and are not anendorsement by the Federal Government or the New Mexico Public Education Department."
Parents as Allies Resources from the Human Rights Campaign including information on how to support a young, gender non-conforming child, supporting young people with in-school transitions, and more.
PFLAG National website for the Parent, LGBT, and Ally support organization. Includes advocacy updates and resources on how to support a family member who shares with you that they are LGBTQIA+.
PFLAG (Parents, Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays) New Mexico Offer support to LGBT people and their families and participate in legislative advocacy for LGBT rights. Albuquerque chapter of the national organization PFLAG.
Tips for Parents of LGBTQ Youth From John Hopkins. Includes suggested language and quotes to show your child that you support them.
Transgender Children and Youth: Understanding the Basics Article from the Humans Rights Campaign. Distinguishes between development of gender identity and sexual orientation during childhood. Also suggests "Simple Ways to Start Supporting Your Transgender Child".

Schools in Transition A Guide for Supporting Transgender Students in K-12 Schools

LGBTQIA+ Health Resources

Overview Health Information

Health Care and Other Services by Region

Patient Resources by Topic

Need Help? Contact Us!