LibGuides: Clinical Reasoning Resources: Resources to Confirm Diagnosis

Confirming

Students reported that in the second Confirmation Phase that they used more authoritative resources. These included textbooks that described mechanisms that explain patient symptoms.

Textbooks

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twentieth Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by Stephen L. Hauser; Dan L. Longo; Joseph Loscalzo; J. Larry Jameson; Anthony S. Fauci; Dennis L. Kasper
ISBN: 9781259644030
Publication Date: 2018-08-13
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease by Vinay Kumar; Abul K. Abbas; Jon C. Aster
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780323531139
Publication Date: 2020-06-15
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy by Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. Dalley II
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781975138707
Publication Date: 2020-04-15
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2021 by Maxine A. Papadakis; Stephen J. McPhee; Michael W. Rabow
ISBN: 9781260469868
Publication Date: 2020-09-10
Guide to Diagnostic Tests,Seventh Edition by Diana Nicoll; Michael Pignone; Stephen J. McPhee; Chuanyi Mark Lu
ISBN: 9781259640896
Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S. Bickley
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781496398178
Publication Date: 2020-08-26

Databases

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains e-books, journal articles, practice guidelines, drug information, and multimedia resources. Also includes First Consult clinical overviews within search results. NOTE: Access to PDF versions of e-book chapters requires users to set up a free My ClinicalKey account. HTML full text does not require an account.
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of medical e-books, such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. Also includes reference tools such as Diagnosaurus, medical calculators, drug information, guidelines, and exam/board prep tools.
LWW Health Library: Premium Basic Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes Lippincott's most commonly required textbooks and multimedia assets—for use in medical and other health sciences programs.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also, access Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to build your searches.