Skip to Main Content

Course Reserves

Print Reserves Are Now Available!

Where are reserve items located?

  • Physical reserve items are located on the 2nd floor of HSLIC left of the elevators, near the Computing Stations.

How do I know if a reserve item is available?

  • To find reserved materials, choose the Course Reserves link in the WorldCat tab on the HSLIC homepage.
  • Search for reserves by course name, instructor name, or department in WorldCat
  • Browse the Reserves shelf for your course.  All items are shelved alphabetically by course name and have a sticker with the course name abbreviation.

Request Items be Placed on Reserve

Fill out our Course Reserves Release Form below. This form will ask you about your class and what items are needed and will put you in touch with our Course Reserves manager, who will place what resources HSLIC has available on reserve for your course. 

What Can Be Placed on Reserve?

The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center acknowledges and supports the appropriate use (i.e., reproduction, distribution, performance, and display) of copyrighted works and materials for teaching, scholarship, and research purposes consistent with the standards of fair use as enumerated in federal copyright law.

All faculty, instructors and other authorized personnel should be familiar with the fair use standard and are expected to adhere to federal copyright laws. It is essential that members of the University community make a diligent effort to stay within the bounds of copyright law.

The Library is unable to put course packs, photocopies of pages from workbooks, compilations of photocopied readings, complimentary copies of textbooks, or items requested from Interlibrary Loan on Reserve. Instructors may place compilations of their own lecture notes and examinations on Reserve, provided that they are the owners of the copyright for these materials. Materials will be placed on reserve only for the duration of the class. Materials will not be kept on Reserve for more than one semester without permission of the copyright holder.  Multiple copies can be placed on reserve if shelf space is available.

Electronic Reserves

We have the ability to place licensed electronic resources such as ebooks and articles on reserve for courses using WorldCat.  To find out if we have access to an electronic resource, please take a look in WorldCat or fill out the Release Form and we will do the research.  If we do have access, we will include the link on the list of resources for your course.

If we do not have access to the resource through WorldCat, we can't place the resource on reserve.

Request Electronic Access to Print Course Materials

Our Scanning & Permanent Link service is available to improve electronic access to materials for HSC courses. Eligible print materials on reserve will be scanned as PDF files and provided via email. If the item is available electronically, the permanent URL (permalink) for the item will be provided instead of scanned material. Please note scanning is limited to under 10% of any work, per Fair Use Copyright guidelines.

Other Useful Information

HSLIC Resources

Search WorldCat® — the world's largest network of library-based content and services.
Need help? Click here for help finding library materials

A-Z Databases at the Health Sciences Library

Need Help? Click here to see database help sheets

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All HSLIC Library Databases | All UNM Databases

Search PubMed for citations and abstracts from MEDLINE and other life science journals. Includes full-text links for UNM.

Off-campus users log in here to access full text.

Search UpToDate® for evidence based, peer reviewed medical information.  


Search the HSLIC website using Google
 


Course Reserves Manager

Profile Photo
Kaylee Nauer
Contact:
505-272-3588
Website

Creative Commons

Feel free to make a copy or re-use this page as long as you credit UNM HSLIC.

Creative Commons icon image.

This guide was created by a Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center staff member and is licensed by the Health Science Library and Informatics Center of the University of New Mexico under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-Share Alike 4.0 International License.