Skip to Main Content

Course Reserves

What are Course Reserves?

Reserves are materials and resources both print and electronic that instructors have identified to use for a class.  This includes books, DVD's, kits prepared by the instructor, ebooks, and even articles.

Finding Your Course Reserve Items

Search Course Reserves

Use this module in WorldCat to access materials for your course. Search by course name, instructor, or department.

You can also access Course Reserves from our homepage,










Or from any page in WorldCat:

 

Electronic Reserves

How do I access electronic resources on reserve?

  • Go to the Course Reserves module in WorldCat and search for your course by name, department, or instructor 
  • Click on the title of the item and then click the "View Now" button

How do I access other electronic reserves?

  • Log into your courses' Course Management System and follow instructions provided by your instructor

Print Reserves

Where are reserve items located?

  • Physical reserve items are located on the 2nd floor of HSLIC left of the elevators, near the Computing Stations.

How do I know if a reserve item is available?

  • To find reserved materials, choose the Course Reserves link in the WorldCat tab on the HSLIC homepage.
  • Search for reserves by course name, instructor name, or department in WorldCat
  • Browse the Reserves shelf for your course.  All items are shelved alphabetically by course name and have a sticker with the course name abbreviation.

Loan Periods and Item Limits

  • Reserve materials may be used inside the library 24/7* without check-out, and returned to the Return Cart near the Reserves shelf.
    *Please note HSC badge is required to enter the library after hours (after 5pm M-F, and weekends).
  • To take Reserve materials out of the library, please check out material at the front desk.
  • Most Reserve materials may be checked out for a maximum of 3 hours.
  • No more than 3 items may be checked out by 1 person at a time.

Renewals and Holds

  • Reserve materials may not be renewed or put on hold
  • Please use the HSLIC Online Catalog to determine whether an item is available

Returning Reserve Materials

  • Return Reserve Materials to the Return Cart near the Reserves shelves, or to the front desk. Do not place them in the book drop or return them to any other library; they must be returned to HSLIC
  • Fines will accrue for materials not returned within the 3 hour check-out period

HSLIC Resources

Search WorldCat® — the world's largest network of library-based content and services.
Need help? Click here for help finding library materials

A-Z Databases at the Health Sciences Library

Need Help? Click here to see database help sheets

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All HSLIC Library Databases | All UNM Databases

Search PubMed for citations and abstracts from MEDLINE and other life science journals. Includes full-text links for UNM.

Off-campus users log in here to access full text.

Search UpToDate® for evidence based, peer reviewed medical information.  


Search the HSLIC website using Google
 


Course Reserves Manager

Profile Photo
Kaylee Nauer
Contact:
505-272-3588
Website