Skip to Main Content

How to Use Special Collections

An introduction to using Special Collections holdings at HSLIC.

Special Collections

In addition to contacting archives staff, a good place to start is the Special Collections home page. This page includes links to New Mexico Archives Online (finding aids for processed collections), digitized materials, the oral history collection, and more.

When doing research, it is often helpful to begin with secondary sources for background information and context and then look at primary sources (oral histories, archival collections, etc.). It can also be useful to look at bibliographies in relevant works. 

New Mexico Archives Online

New Mexico Archives Online (NMAO) provides access to finding aids (guides) for archival collections from 19 repositories in New Mexico.

Researchers can search by keywords as well as browse individual or all repositories and collections. 

Use the link below to view HSLIC's finding aids. 

New Mexico Digital Collections

New Mexico Digital Collections contains digital collections about New Mexico.

Current HSLIC Special Collections materials include digitized materials from the Valmora Industrial Sanatorium records, HHC 239, and transcripts from the oral history collection.  

UNM/HSC Digital Repository

The institutional repository includes digitized and born-digital resources such as publications, annual reports, films, and more.  

HSLIC Catalog

Special Collections books, journals, oral histories, and some archival collections are also discoverable through the HSLIC catalog. It is often helpful to start with a simple keyword search and then refine your terms and click on relevant subject headings as needed. 

Archive-It

Contains archived webpages for HSC Newsroom, The Pulse, UNM Health Allies for Climate Action, and more. 

Archivist

Profile Photo
Abbie Weiser
she/her/hers
Contact:
505-925-4334

Newspapers and Other Publications

Photograph

 

 

 

Fig 3.