Skip to Main Content

How to Use Special Collections

An introduction to using Special Collections holdings at HSLIC.

Oral Histories

The Oral History Collection began in 1982. The collection consists of approximately 169 accessible oral history transcripts of doctors, nurses, and other health care professionals. The transcripts are available via New Mexico Digital Collections. This platform can be searched by name as well as subject. 

Tuberculosis Treatment in New Mexico

  • Carl H. Gellenthien collection of the Valmora Industrial Sanatorium records, HHC 239. 
  • New Mexico Tuberculosis Association collection, HHC 9.
  • New Mexico State Sanatorium records, HHC 243.
  • “New Mexico: Salubrious El Dorado,” by Karen D. Shane; FL 1092
  • “Report on the Indigent Migratory Consumptive in Certain Cities of the Southwest,” by Jessamine S. Whitney; FL 977.
  • “Rocky Mountain Region for Consumptives,” by Eugene M. Littlejohn; FL 1124.
  • Rocky Mountain Tuberculosis Conference; FL 1007.
  • Oral histories with Wilhelm Rosenblatt, Carl Gellenthien, Ulysses Steve Marshall, Bruce D. Tempest, and more.

Public Health

  • Bernalillo County, NM Health Department; FL 1073.
  • “Public Health Administration in New Mexico” by J.W. Kerr; FL 1153; Article from Public Health Reports (Nov. 15, 1918).
  • “Public Health Administration in New Mexico,” by Thomas C. Donnelley; FL 991; UNM Bulletin No. 325 (May 1, 1938) (67p).
  • New Mexico Public Health Association records, HHC 48.
  • UNM School of Medicine Department of Public Health records.
  • Oral histories with Stuart Adler, Anne Fox, Myrtle Greenfield, Albert C. Rood, and more. 

UNM Health Sciences Center History

  • UNM Health Sciences Center Digital Repository (digital collections)
  • UNM School of Medicine records (various departments)
  • HSLIC records 
  • UNM Health Sciences Center Public Affairs records
  • Joseph Scaletti papers, HHC 323
  • Oral histories with Fabian Chavez, Leonard Napolitano, Thomas McConnell, George E. Omer, Jr., and more. 

New Mexico Archives Online

New Mexico Archives Online (NMAO) provides access to finding aids (guides) for archival collections from 19 repositories in New Mexico.

Researchers can search by keywords as well as browse individual or all repositories and collections. 

Use the link below to view HSLIC's finding aids. 

New Mexico Digital Collections

New Mexico Digital Collections contains digital collections about New Mexico.

Current HSLIC Special Collections materials include digitized materials from the Valmora Industrial Sanatorium records, HHC 239, and transcripts from the oral history collection.  

Archivist

Profile Photo
Abbie Weiser
she/her/hers
Contact:
505-925-4334