LibGuides: Pharmacy: Resources for Researching

Databases for Research/Articles

CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing, allied health, and consumer health journal literature. Brought to you by funds from Library Bond 2
- This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Collection of evidence-based medical literature. Also includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window Evidence-based reviews of dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. Includes interactions and adverse effects.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also, access Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to build your searches.
- This link opens in a new window
REPROTOX This link opens in a new window Contains summaries on the effects of medications, chemicals, infections, and physical agents on pregnancy, reproduction, and development. NOTE: For off campus access, click the "Sign in With IP" button.
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Knowledge / Web of Science This link opens in a new window Contains the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Zoological Record, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Use Web of Science to map citations to and from unique sources.
PubChem This link opens in a new window Open chemistry database at NIH. Includes information formerly in Toxnet's Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSSD), Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS) and Genetic Toxicology Data Bank (Gene-Tox), and Drug Information Portal Content .

Pharmaceutical Resources

Access Pharmacy This link opens in a new window A collection of e-books, multimedia, self-assessment tools, and other components.

CenterWatch clinical trials information and both free and fee-based tools and resources.

Clinical Pharmacology / ToxED This link opens in a new window Drug monographs, drug interactions, calculators, and patient education material. ToxED contains information about diagnosis and management of poison and overdose emergencies.
- This link opens in a new window

Drugs.com Drugs A-Z, Pill Identifier, Interactions Checker for consumers and health professionals.
more...less...
Data sources include Micromedex®, Cerner Multum™, PDR, Wolters Kluwer Health™

LexiComp This link opens in a new window Drug monographs, interactions, calculations, IV compatibility, toxicology, and patient education materials.
EBMCalc 3000 on Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window Medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools. 2 concurrent users, log out when finished.
MICROMEDEX This link opens in a new window Drug, toxicology, acute care, patient education, and alternative medicine database. Includes drug interactions, IV compatibility, drug ID, CareNotes, and NeoFax Pediatrics.
- This link opens in a new window

Rxlist.com RxList ,owned and operated by WebMD, contains detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs.

VisualDX This link opens in a new window VisualDx is a medical image database of dermatologic, infectious, and drug-induced diseases. Search for specific diseases or build differential diagnoses with the Differential Builder. The mobile app includes DermExpert - an AI tool to build a differential of a skin lesion.
- This link opens in a new window

Government Web Sites

CHEMICALS & BIOASSAYS National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) resource for chemical bioassays, compounds, substances, and structures.

Clinical Trials.gov This link opens in a new window A registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world.

DailyMed (National Library of Medicine) DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.
LiverTox (NIH) Information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window Consumer health resources compiled by the National Library of Medicine.

NIH Office of Dietary Supplements The Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) fact sheets give a current overview of individual vitamins, minerals and other dietary supplements. ODS has fact sheets in two versions—Health Professional and QuickFacts. Both versions provide the same types of information but vary in the level of detail. QuickFacts are now available in Spanish.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Accessing Full Text

Not sure how to gain access to the Full Text of an item? See our Finding Full Text Guide for more information (including step-by-step instructions for our catalog and databases like PubMed & CINAHL).

Finding Full Text

Pharmacy

Databases for Research/Articles

Pharmaceutical Resources

Government Web Sites

Accessing Full Text

Need Help? Contact Us!