LibGuides: Nursing Resources: Scales & Tools

Search Tips

Quick Tip:

CINAHL: In limits, narrow your search to Questionnaire/Scale or Research Instrument. Use the Ctrl key to select both. Or use the Pull down menunext to a search box, and choose Instrumentation.

PsycINFO: offers a search option for searching Tests and Measures as a search filter. To the right of the search boxes, select “TM” from the Select a Field drop down menu box.

PubMed: MeSH terms such as health surveys, data collection, and questionnaires, and includes the option of searching by a specific test instrument.

Help with Finding Tests

UNM Psychological & Educational Tests & Measures Libguide
Guide from UNM University Library.

Databases

ETS Test Collection Focus is more on tests and instruments used in education, rather than healthcare, but some overlap. Tells you when an instrument first appeared in the literature and it's availability.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing, allied health, and consumer health journal literature. Brought to you by funds from Library Bond 2
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database of psychology and psychosocial disciplines. If prompted:
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also, access Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to build your searches.
- This link opens in a new window

Health Literacy Tool Shed The National Library of Medicine, in partnership with Boston University School of Medicine has announced the creation of the Health Literacy Tool Shed. The online database allows users to obtain information of more than 100 health literacy research instruments and compare them to others
National Cancer Institute's GEM (Grid-Enabled Measures Database) GEM is an interactive website containing behavioral, social science, and other scientific measures organized by theoretical constructs.
NIH Promis Measures Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS), funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), is a system of highly reliable, valid, flexible, precise, and responsive assessment tools that measure patient–reported health status.
Substance Use Screening & Assessment Instruments Database This resource is intended to help clinicians and researchers find instruments used for screening and assessment of substance use and substance use disorders. Some instruments are in the public domain and can be freely downloaded from the web; others can only be obtained from the copyright holder.

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Abstracts, citations, and extensive full-text access to publications related to all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, including educational specialties.
- This link opens in a new window

Websites

Rand Health Surveys and Tools
Over its 40-year history, RAND Health has produced many practical surveys and tools.

Nursing Resources

Search Tips

Help with Finding Tests

Databases

Websites

Books

Health Measurement Scales

Measurement in Nursing and Health Research, Fifth Edition

Need Help? Contact Us!