LibGuides: Nursing Resources: Resources for Researching

Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also, access Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to build your searches.
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing, allied health, and consumer health journal literature. Brought to you by funds from Library Bond 2
- This link opens in a new window
Embase This link opens in a new window Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical research and literature database. Embase allows you to build comprehensive systematic reviews so that you can thoroughly study all of the published literature on a particular topic and make the best-informed evidence-based medicine decisions. It covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree. Emtree provides a list of subject headings unique to Embase. Biomedical terms are organized by broader and narrower terms as Emtree subject headings will retrieve most associated synonyms for the entered term.
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database of psychology and psychosocial disciplines. If prompted:
- This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Abstracts, citations, and extensive full-text access to publications related to all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, including educational specialties.
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Knowledge / Web of Science This link opens in a new window Contains the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Zoological Record, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Use Web of Science to map citations to and from unique sources.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window More focused than a general Google search and includes links to UNM full text subscriptions. Retrieves journal articles, books, and gray literature from a variety of online sources.

All UNM Databases This is the A-Z list of databases provided through University Libraries. These mostly cover the Humanities and the non-Health sciences.

Access Advanced Practice Nursing This link opens in a new window
A collection of nursing ebooks such as Leininger's Transcultural Nursing and Crucial Conversations. Also includes multimedia on ECG, cases from AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing, and review questions.
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of medical e-books, such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. Also includes reference tools such as Diagnosaurus, medical calculators, drug information, guidelines, and exam/board prep tools.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains e-books, journal articles, practice guidelines, drug information, and multimedia resources. Also includes First Consult clinical overviews within search results. NOTE: Access to PDF versions of e-book chapters requires users to set up a free My ClinicalKey account. HTML full text does not require an account.
ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window ECRI Guidelines Trust is a single aggregated point of access to evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. This repository was created by the same team that developed and maintained the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's National Guideline Clearinghouse. Also includes Cultural Competence Corner that highlights a different patient population each month to address diseases/conditions that disproportionately affect that group or community. *You must set up a personal account to access this resource.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
A collection of books and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc. Includes the DSM-5.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Topic reviews in internal medicine, OB/GYN, family practice, and pediatrics. The login needs to be conducted from on-campus every 90 days. Access paid by UNM Medical Group, Inc.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based reviews of dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. Includes interactions and adverse effects.

Evidence-Based Nursing
Assesses clinical relevance of best studies from international medical journals, including key details of studies and expert commentary on their clinical application. 1998-present
Health Evidence Reviews on the effectiveness of public health interventions.
ACCESSSS Smart From McMaster University. Must sign up, but it is free. A service to help provide current best evidence for clinical decisions. It conducts searches simultaneously in several evidence-based information services (online evidence-based texts, evidence-based guidelines and pre-appraised journal publications)

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of evidence-based medical literature. Also includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

Campbell Collaboration Campbell Systematic Reviews is an open access journal that publishes systematic reviews, evidence and gap maps, and methods research papers. topic areas, including: Ageing; Business and Management; Climate Solutions; Crime and Justice; Disability; Education; International Development; Knowledge Translation and Implementation; Methods; Nutrition and Food Security; Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity; Social Welfare; and Training.

TRIP Medical Database This link opens in a new window Source for finding evidence-based medical information, such as systematic reviews, synopses, clinical guidelines, and regulatory guidance.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Searchable database of dissertations from all over the world. Full text for many recent UNM Dissertations. Some others may be available full text, but most only allow access to the first 24 pages. Dissertations back to 1861.

UNM Digital Repository This link opens in a new window Find publications from UNM faculty; student theses, dissertations, and research; UNM administrative records, and other local collections.

Tutorials

Using PubMed for Evidence Based Practice Tutorial This tutorial, from the National Library of Medicine, was created specifically to help nurses efficiently find literature using PubMed.

Special Topics

Health Equity and Social Justice The Health Equity and Social Justice program of NACCHO focuses on determining why inequalities exist and finding ways to tackle them at the local level. The site contains web courses and implementation publications and tools.
US National Library of Medicine Health Disparities Resources

Nursing Resources

Resources

Tutorials

Special Topics

Need Help? Contact Us!

Search DOI/PMID

Lookup a journal article by DOI or PMID

Search BrowZine