LibGuides: Nursing Resources: Practice

Drug Information Resources

Access Pharmacy This link opens in a new window A collection of pharmacy e-books, such as DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy and Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies. Also includes reference tools such drug calculators, vidoes, case studies, and exam/board prep tools.
Clinical Pharmacology / ToxED This link opens in a new window A drug reference tool including drug monographs, drug interactions, calculators, patient education, and more from Elsevier. ToxED contains information about diagnosis and management of poison and overdose emergencies. To access ToxED, click on the Resources link.
- This link opens in a new window

Davis' Drug Guide for Nurses
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed) The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate.

LexiComp This link opens in a new window Drug information, including drug monographs, interactions, calculations, IV compatibility, toxicology, patient education. Brought to you by HSLIC and UNMH. *HSLIC subscription includes limited seats to the app. HSLIC & College of Pharmacy purchase seats for 2nd, 3rd, and 4th year Pharmacy students. Contact Robyn Gleasner for more information.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window Evidence-based reviews of dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. Includes interactions and adverse effects.
REPROTOX This link opens in a new window Contains summaries on the effects of medications, chemicals, infections, and physical agents on pregnancy, reproduction, and development. NOTE: For off campus access, click the "Sign in With IP" button.
- This link opens in a new window

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Free resource from the National Library of Medicine that provides plain-language information and patient education materials on a variety of health topics. . Click here to read the NIH MedlinePlus Magazine.

Bilingual Patient Education Materials Created by the National Center for Farmworker Health, these are 1-2 page handouts with lots of pictures and minimal text.
EthnoMed Intergrataing Cultural Information into Clinical Practice. Includes patient education materials in selected languages other than English.
KidsHealth Health information designed for kids, teens and parents. Bright, fun site.
Lab Tests Online Information for the consumer about various lab tests that are performed, what they mean and how to prepare for them. Produced by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry.

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of medical e-books, such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. Also includes reference tools such as Diagnosaurus, medical calculators, drug information, guidelines, and exam/board prep tools.
ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window ECRI Guidelines Trust is a single aggregated point of access to evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. This repository was created by the same team that developed and maintained the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's National Guideline Clearinghouse. Also includes Cultural Competence Corner that highlights a different patient population each month to address diseases/conditions that disproportionately affect that group or community. *You must set up a personal account to access this resource.

Evidence Based Birth Our mission is to raise the quality of childbirth care globally, by putting accurate, evidence based research into the hands of families and communities, so they can make informed, empowered choices.

New England Journal of Medicine Clinical Videos This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed procedural technique videos.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window Topic reviews in internal medicine, OB/GYN, family practice, and pediatrics. The login needs to be conducted from on-campus every 90 days. Access paid by UNM Medical Group, Inc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VisualDX This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VisualDx is a medical image database of dermatologic, infectious, and drug-induced diseases. Search for specific diseases or build differential diagnoses with the Differential Builder.

Stanford Medicine 25 This link opens in a new window
Provides videos on 25 physical exams with detailed explanations.

NeuroLogic Exam Hundreds of videos showing normal exams and abnormal examples of various neurologic exams - each section also includes a quiz.

NOTE: Access Medicine also has physical exam videos under their MultiMedia tab.

Mobile Apps through UNM HSLIC Our guide on mobile apps lists different licenses that the UNM community has access to. These apps can be especially useful in the field. Go to the guide to see information on the different options and find instructions to download. Please note that Micromedex is an educational license only and therefore is not available for download for field work.

Defining Hope Excellent educational materials and video segments from the film Defining Hope about palliative care.