LibGuides: Systematic Reviews: Resources for Searching the Literature

Databases Used for Systematic Reviews

PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also, access Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to build your searches.
- This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Collection of evidence-based medical literature. Also includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Web of Knowledge / Web of Science This link opens in a new window Contains the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Zoological Record, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Use Web of Science to map citations to and from unique sources.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing, allied health, and consumer health journal literature. Brought to you by funds from Library Bond 2
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database of psychology and psychosocial disciplines. If prompted:
- This link opens in a new window
Embase This link opens in a new window Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical research and literature database. Embase allows you to build comprehensive systematic reviews so that you can thoroughly study all of the published literature on a particular topic and make the best-informed evidence-based medicine decisions. It covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree. Emtree provides a list of subject headings unique to Embase. Biomedical terms are organized by broader and narrower terms as Emtree subject headings will retrieve most associated synonyms for the entered term.
- This link opens in a new window

Other Databases

All HSLIC Databases
This is a list of all of the databases provided by the Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center.
All UNM Databases This is the A-Z list of databases provided through University Libraries. These mostly cover the Humanities and the non-Health sciences.

Grey Literature

Grey Literature includes resources published outside the usual mainstream published literature such as journals or books. Examples of grey literature include conference proceedings, technical papers, clinical trials, dissertations or theses, government reports, white papers, patents and many more.

For more information on grey literature, see:

Grey Literature Research Guide
Document Types in Grey Literature
Check here for a complete list of types of grey literature from GreyNet International.

Need Help? Contact Us!

Creative Commons

Feel free to make a copy or re-use this page as long as you credit UNM HSLIC.

This guide was created by a Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center staff member and is licensed by the Health Science Library and Informatics Center of the University of New Mexico under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-Share Alike 4.0 International License.