Skip to Main Content

HSLIC LibGuides Style Guide

This guide is intended for HSLIC employyes to assist in the creation of their guides.

Guidelines for Databases

Required

  • Map to databases using the "Add Database" feature of LibGuides--do not add databases as links
    • This ensures your links are mapped to LibGuides assets that can be easily updated by the administrator
    • This ensures the database is mapped through the proxy so guide users can access resources from off campus
  • Display a description of the database using "Hover over 'info' icon" (preferred) or "Display beneath item title"
    • Do not use other display types to maintain a consistent look and feel of our guides
    • Make sure all items in the same list have the same display setting

Suggested

  • Limit the number of databases linked on a guide--guide users want a curated list of the best resources for their purpose, not an exhaustive list of all the resources available
  • Keep in mind, you can use a custom database description to tell guide users how the resource will meet their information needs, but you will be responsible for updating this description if changes occur

How to Add a Database

  1. Use the "Add/Reorder" drop down menu found at the bottom of any box, and select "Database."

Screenshot of Add/Reorder drop down menu

  1. Start typing the name of the database you want to add, and LibGuides will suggest databases that match.

Screenshot of searching for a database

  1. Select the one you want and click "Save."

How to Edit a Database

  1. Edit or remove a database from your guide by using the edit drop down menu next to the database you want to change.

Edit database drop down menu

  1. In the edit menu you can customize your database description and change how the description is displayed.
  2. Select "remove" to delete the database link from your guide.

Database Display Examples

Student Success & Engagement Librarian